Sauces, fats & condimentsmoderate variability

Molasses calories: 58 per 1 tablespoon (20 g)

This exact USDA record reports 58 calories for 1 tablespoon (20 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 tablespoon · 20 g

Calories
58 kcal
Protein
0 g
Carbohydrate
14.9 g
Total fat
0 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
7 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 20 g

58calories

Molasses

Protein
0 g
Carbs
14.9 g
Fat
0 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710283

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 58 calories for 1 tablespoon at 20 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 290 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 7 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is molasses, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 58–928 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710283: “Molasses.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710283, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 15 g 44 kcal 0 g 0 g 6 mg
1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure 20 g 58 kcal 0 g 0 g 7 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 320 g 928 kcal 0 g 0 g 118 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Sauces, fats & condiments

The comparison set contains 136 exact records in Feast’s broader Sauces, fats & condiments category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710283’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

290 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
229 kcal
Middle 50%
126–418 kcal

Based on 136 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.3–1.9 g

Based on 136 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.2 g
Middle 50%
0–0.8 g

Based on 136 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

37 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
502 mg
Middle 50%
23–829 mg

Based on 136 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710283’s 20 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium48 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Potassium292 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium7 mg

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Molasses,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the absence of a qualifying close alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 tablespoon to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 20 g and 320 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 58 kcal to 928 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record identity: FDC 2710283

    No second entry passed the close-record rule for this page. Keep the exact USDA description “Molasses” attached to any value copied from this profile.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Molasses

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Use this profile only when “Molasses” is the closest available description and the 20 g reference can be scaled to the amount you mean.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Molasses

Exact source wording
“Molasses”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710283 · FNDDS 91303000

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Verify the exact reference

What does this USDA record represent?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMolasses 20 g58 kcal 290 kcal 0 g 0.1 g 0 g 37 mg

How to compare FDC 2710283: its source amount is 20 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710283, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

928 kcal

320 g

1 tablespoon

58 kcal

20 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710283, Magnesium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Magnesium

48.4 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

Potassium

292 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

14.9 g≈ 5% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710283’s 20 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 20 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 58 kcal Not established
Protein 0 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 14.9 g 5%
Total fat 0 g 0%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 14.9 g Not established
Sodium 7.4 mg 0%
Saturated fat 0 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 292 mg 6%
Calcium 41 mg 3%
Iron 0.9 mg 5%
Magnesium 48.4 mg 12%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 4.4 g Not established

For FDC 2710283, approximate percentages divide the displayed 20 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710283 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Molasses” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Molasses is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 MolassesUSDA ingredient 19304 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710283, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Sugars and honey” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

No forced match

This record does not have a sufficiently close direct comparator in the published corpus.

No other published “Sugars and honey” entry shares enough description or exact source-input evidence with FDC 2710283 to clear Feast’s close-record rule. A broad category neighbor would look relevant without establishing a defensible pair.

This profile remains traceable to FDC 2710283 and the exact USDA description “Molasses.” Inspect the source record ↗

Browse sauces, fats & condiments →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.

For “Molasses,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount used

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    concentration

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  4. 04

    oil, sugar, and salt formulation

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710283 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 290 kcal per 100 g becomes 58 kcal at 20 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710283

FNDDS food code: 91303000

The scaling for FDC 2710283 can be exact while the match to “Molasses” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 20 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.