Sauces, fats & condimentsmoderate variability

Butter, tub calories: 102 per 1 tablespoon (14 g)

This exact USDA record reports 102 calories for 1 tablespoon (14 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 tablespoon · 14 g

Calories
102 kcal
Protein
0.1 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
11 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
82 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 14 g

102calories

Butter, tub

Protein
0.1 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
11 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710156

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 102 calories for 1 tablespoon at 14 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 731 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0.1 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 82 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is butter, whipped, with salt, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 37–1,637 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710156: “Butter, tub.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710156, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 individual container” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 individual containerUSDA-listed household measure 5 g 37 kcal 0 g 0 g 29 mg
1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure 14 g 102 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 82 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 224 g 1,637 kcal 1.1 g 0 g 1,306 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Butter and animal fats

The comparison set contains 8 exact records in the Butter and animal fats USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710156’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

731 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
747 kcal
Middle 50%
673–850 kcal

Based on 8 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

0.5 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0.4–2.3 g

Based on 8 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 8 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

583 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
487 mg
Middle 50%
164–588 mg

Based on 8 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710156’s 14 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A95.6 µg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat6.4 g

≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium82 mg

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Butter, tub,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710155 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 individual container to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 5 g and 224 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 37 kcal to 1,637 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710155

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 59 mg more sodium than “Butter, stick.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Butter, whipped, with salt

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “tub” fits. Inspect FDC 2710155 when “stick” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Butter, tub

Exact source wording
“Butter, tub”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710156 · FNDDS 81101010
Named qualifiers
tub
Source inputs unique in this pair
Butter, whipped, with salt

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Butter, stick

Exact source wording
“Butter, stick”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710155 · FNDDS 81101000
Named qualifiers
stick
Source inputs unique in this pair
Butter, stick, salted

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “tub”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordButter, tub 14 g102 kcal 731 kcal 0.5 g 78.3 g 0 g 583 mg
Butter, stick 14 g104 kcal 743 kcal 0.9 g 82.2 g 0 g 524 mg
Butter, light 14 g70 kcal 499 kcal 3.3 g 55.1 g 0 g 450 mg
Honey butter 14 g68 kcal 485 kcal 0.5 g 33.8 g 0.1 g 218 mg
Ghee, clarified butter 14 g123 kcal 876 kcal 0.3 g 99.5 g 0 g 2 mg

How to compare FDC 2710156: its source amount is 14 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710156, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

1,637 kcal

224 g

1 tablespoon

102 kcal

14 g

1 pat

51 kcal

7 g

1 individual container

37 kcal

5 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710156, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

6.4 g≈ 32% Daily Value

Total fat

11 g≈ 14% Daily Value

Vitamin A

95.6 µg≈ 11% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710156’s 14 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 14 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 102 kcal Not established
Protein 0.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 11 g 14%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 81.6 mg 4%
Saturated fat 6.4 g 32%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 31.5 mg 11%
Potassium 5.7 mg 0%
Calcium 3.2 mg 0%
Iron 0 mg 0%
Magnesium 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 95.6 µg 11%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 2.3 g Not established

For FDC 2710156, approximate percentages divide the displayed 14 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710156 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Butter, tub” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Butter, whipped, with salt is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Butter, whipped, with saltUSDA ingredient 1002 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710156, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Butter and animal fats” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories731 kcal743 kcal−12 kcal
Protein0.5 g0.9 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate0 g0.1 g−0.1 g
Total fat78.3 g82.2 g−3.9 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium583 mg524 mg+59 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 59 mg more sodium than “Butter, stick.”

Only this record lists Butter, whipped, with salt. Only the comparison record lists Butter, stick, salted. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Butter, whipped, with salt.

Listed only in the comparison: Butter, stick, salted.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710156 with FDC 2710155 at equal mass; use their 14 g and 14 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710156 versus FDC 2710155 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full butter and animal fats source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.

For “Butter, tub,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount used

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    concentration

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  4. 04

    oil, sugar, and salt formulation

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710156 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 731 kcal per 100 g becomes 102 kcal at 14 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710156

FNDDS food code: 81101010

The scaling for FDC 2710156 can be exact while the match to “Butter, tub” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 14 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.