Energy
upper quarter902 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 747 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 673–850 kcal
Based on 8 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 108 calories for 1 tablespoon (12 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 tablespoon · 12 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 12 g
108calories
Lard
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 108 calories for 1 tablespoon at 12 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 902 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 0 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is lard, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 108–1,732 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710166: “Lard.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710166, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 9 g | 81 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| 1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure | 12 g | 108 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 192 g | 1,732 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 8 exact records in the Butter and animal fats USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710166’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter902 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 8 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 8 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 8 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter0 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 8 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710166’s 12 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat4.7 g
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Lard,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705892 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 12 g and 192 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 108 kcal to 1,732 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.7 g less protein than “Fat back, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Lard” fits. Inspect FDC 2705892 when “cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordLard | 12 g108 kcal | 902 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Animal fat or drippings | 12 g101 kcal | 841 kcal | 2.2 g | 92.2 g | 0 g | 604 mg |
| Fat back, cooked | 16 g120 kcal | 750 kcal | 2.7 g | 81.9 g | 0 g | 2,040 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710166: its source amount is 12 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710166, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
1,732 kcal
192 g
108 kcal
12 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710166, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
4.7 g≈ 24% Daily ValueTotal fat
12 g≈ 15% Daily ValueCholesterol
11.4 mg≈ 4% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710166’s 12 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 12 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 108 kcal 902 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0 g 0 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 12 g 100 g | 15% 128% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 4.7 g 39.2 g | 24% 196% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.4 g 45.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.3 g 11.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 11.4 mg 95 mg | 4% 32% |
| Potassium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Calcium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Iron | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Magnesium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 2.5 µg | 2% 13% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710166, approximate percentages divide the displayed 12 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710166 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Lard” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Lard is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | LardUSDA ingredient 4002 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710166, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Butter and animal fats” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 902 kcal | 750 kcal | +152 kcal |
| Protein | 0 g | 2.7 g | −2.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 100 g | 81.9 g | +18.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 2,040 mg | −2,040 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 152 more calories, 2.7 g less protein, and 18.1 g more total fat than “Fat back, cooked.”
Only the comparison record lists Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Lard.
Listed only in the comparison: Pork, fresh, separable fat, cooked; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 12 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (12 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 16 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (26 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710166 with FDC 2705892 at equal mass; use their 12 g and 16 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710166 versus FDC 2705892 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full butter and animal fats source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.
For “Lard,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710166 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 902 kcal per 100 g becomes 108 kcal at 12 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710166
FNDDS food code: 81202000
The scaling for FDC 2710166 can be exact while the match to “Lard” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 12 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.