Energy
upper quarter371 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 167 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 137–189 kcal
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 33 calories for 1 papad (9 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 papad · 9 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 papad · 9 g
33calories
Papad, grilled or broiled
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 33 calories for 1 papad at 9 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 371 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.3 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 157 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is papad, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 papad at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707429: “Papad, grilled or broiled.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707429, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 6.8 g | 25 kcal | 1.7 g | 1.3 g | 117 mg |
| 1 papadUSDA-listed household measure | 9 g | 33 kcal | 2.3 g | 1.7 g | 157 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 11.3 g | 42 kcal | 2.9 g | 2.1 g | 196 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 60 exact records in the Beans, peas, legumes USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707429’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter371 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter25.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter18.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter1,740 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 60 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707429’s 9 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber1.7 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium24 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium157 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Papad, grilled or broiled,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the absence of a qualifying close alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 6.8–11.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 25 kcal and 42 kcal.
No second entry passed the close-record rule for this page. Keep the exact USDA description “Papad, grilled or broiled” attached to any value copied from this profile.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Use this profile only when “Papad, grilled or broiled” is the closest available description and the 9 g reference can be scaled to the amount you mean.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Verify the exact reference
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “grilled or broiled”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPapad, grilled or broiled | 9 g33 kcal | 371 kcal | 25.6 g | 3.3 g | 18.6 g | 1,740 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707429: its source amount is 9 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707429, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
33 kcal
9 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707429, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
156.6 mg≈ 7% Daily ValueDietary fiber
1.7 g≈ 6% Daily ValueMagnesium
24.4 mg≈ 6% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707429’s 9 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 9 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 33 kcal 371 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.3 g 25.6 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 5.4 g 59.9 g | 2% 22% |
| Total fat | 0.3 g 3.3 g | 0% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.7 g 18.6 g | 6% 66% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 156.6 mg 1,740 mg | 7% 76% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 1.1 g | 0% 5% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0.4 mg 4 mg | 0% 1% |
| Potassium | 90 mg 1,000 mg | 2% 21% |
| Calcium | 12.9 mg 143 mg | 1% 11% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 7.8 mg | 4% 43% |
| Magnesium | 24.4 mg 271 mg | 6% 65% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.2 µg 13 µg | 0% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0.3 g 3.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707429, approximate percentages divide the displayed 9 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707429 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Papad, grilled or broiled” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Papad is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | PapadUSDA ingredient 42200 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707429, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Beans, peas, legumes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
No forced match
No other published “Beans, peas, legumes” entry shares enough description or exact source-input evidence with FDC 2707429 to clear Feast’s close-record rule. A broad category neighbor would look relevant without establishing a defensible pair.
This profile remains traceable to FDC 2707429 and the exact USDA description “Papad, grilled or broiled.” Inspect the source record ↗
Browse the wider beans, peas, legumes topic → Browse beans, nuts & protein foods →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Papad, grilled or broiled,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707429 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 371 kcal per 100 g becomes 33 kcal at 9 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 papad has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707429
FNDDS food code: 41311000
The scaling for FDC 2707429 can be exact while the match to “Papad, grilled or broiled” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 9 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.