Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Pita chips calories: 274 per 1 cup (60 g)

This exact USDA record reports 274 calories for 1 cup (60 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 60 g

Calories
274 kcal
Protein
7.1 g
Carbohydrate
41 g
Total fat
9.1 g
Fiber
2.3 g
Sodium
512 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 60 g

274calories

Pita chips

Protein
7.1 g
Carbs
41 g
Fat
9.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708215

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 274 calories for 1 cup at 60 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 457 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.1 g protein, 2.3 g fiber, and 512 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, pita chips, salted, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–388 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708215: “Pita chips.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708215, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 chip” through “1 large single serving bag” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 chipUSDA-listed household measure 3 g 14 kcal 0.4 g 0.1 g 26 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 60 g 274 kcal 7.1 g 2.3 g 512 mg
1 large single serving bagUSDA-listed household measure 85 g 388 kcal 10 g 3.2 g 726 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Crackers, excludes saltines

The comparison set contains 36 exact records in the Crackers, excludes saltines USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708215’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

457 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
443 kcal
Middle 50%
433–484 kcal

Based on 36 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

11.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.3 g
Middle 50%
8.8–10.9 g

Based on 36 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

3.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.3–8.6 g

Based on 36 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

854 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
726 mg
Middle 50%
453–776 mg

Based on 36 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708215’s 60 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2.3 g

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium512 mg

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.8 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pita chips,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the absence of a qualifying close alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 chip to 1 large single serving bag

    USDA assigns those measures 3 g and 85 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 388 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record identity: FDC 2708215

    No second entry passed the close-record rule for this page. Keep the exact USDA description “Pita chips” attached to any value copied from this profile.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Snacks, pita chips, salted

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Use this profile only when “Pita chips” is the closest available description and the 60 g reference can be scaled to the amount you mean.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pita chips

Exact source wording
“Pita chips”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708215 · FNDDS 54402700

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Verify the exact reference

What does this USDA record represent?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPita chips 60 g274 kcal 457 kcal 11.8 g 15.2 g 3.8 g 854 mg

How to compare FDC 2708215: its source amount is 60 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708215, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 chip

14 kcal

3 g

1 small single serving bag

128 kcal

28 g

1 medium single serving bag

260 kcal

57 g

1 large single serving bag

388 kcal

85 g

1 100 calorie package

91 kcal

20 g

1 cup

274 kcal

60 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708215, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

512.4 mg≈ 22% Daily Value

Iron

2.8 mg≈ 15% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

41 g≈ 15% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708215’s 60 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708215 at 60 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 512 mg sodium, about 22% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 60 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 274 kcal Not established
Protein 7.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 41 g 15%
Total fat 9.1 g 12%
Dietary fiber 2.3 g 8%
Sugars 2.9 g Not established
Sodium 512.4 mg 22%
Saturated fat 0.8 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 6.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 77.4 mg 2%
Calcium 10.2 mg 1%
Iron 2.8 mg 15%
Magnesium 22.2 mg 5%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 1.2 g Not established

For FDC 2708215, approximate percentages divide the displayed 60 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708215 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pita chips” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Snacks, pita chips, salted is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Snacks, pita chips, saltedUSDA ingredient 25037 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708215, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Crackers, excludes saltines” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

No forced match

This record does not have a sufficiently close direct comparator in the published corpus.

No other published “Crackers, excludes saltines” entry shares enough description or exact source-input evidence with FDC 2708215 to clear Feast’s close-record rule. A broad category neighbor would look relevant without establishing a defensible pair.

This profile remains traceable to FDC 2708215 and the exact USDA description “Pita chips.” Inspect the source record ↗

Browse the wider crackers, excludes saltines topic → Browse snacks & desserts →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Pita chips,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708215 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 457 kcal per 100 g becomes 274 kcal at 60 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708215

FNDDS food code: 54402700

The scaling for FDC 2708215 can be exact while the match to “Pita chips” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 60 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.