Energy
middle half884 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 379 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 165–884 kcal
Based on 47 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 124 calories for 1 tablespoon (14 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 tablespoon · 14 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 14 g
124calories
Sesame oil
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 124 calories for 1 tablespoon at 14 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 884 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 0 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is oil, sesame, salad or cooking, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 124–1,980 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710190: “Sesame oil.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710190, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 10.5 g | 93 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| 1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure | 14 g | 124 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 224 g | 1,980 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Salad dressings and vegetable oils USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710190’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half884 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 47 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 47 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half0 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 47 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710190’s 14 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat2 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Sesame oil,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710181 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 224 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 124 kcal to 1,980 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Almond oil.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Sesame oil” fits. Inspect FDC 2710181 when the exact wording “Almond oil” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSesame oil | 14 g124 kcal | 884 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Almond oil | 14 g124 kcal | 884 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Cottonseed oil | 14 g124 kcal | 884 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Flaxseed oil | 14 g124 kcal | 884 kcal | 0.1 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Walnut oil | 14 g124 kcal | 884 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Coconut oil | 14 g125 kcal | 895 kcal | 0 g | 99.1 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
| Corn oil | 14 g126 kcal | 900 kcal | 0 g | 100 g | 0 g | 0 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710190: its source amount is 14 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710190, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
1,980 kcal
224 g
124 kcal
14 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710190, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
14 g≈ 18% Daily ValueSaturated fat
2 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710190’s 14 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 14 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 124 kcal 884 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0 g 0 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 14 g 100 g | 18% 128% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 2 g 14.2 g | 10% 71% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.6 g 39.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5.8 g 41.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Calcium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Iron | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Magnesium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710190, approximate percentages divide the displayed 14 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710190 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Sesame oil” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Oil, sesame, salad or cooking is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Oil, sesame, salad or cookingUSDA ingredient 4058 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710190, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Salad dressings and vegetable oils” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 884 kcal | 884 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 100 g | 100 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 0 mg | 0 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Oil, sesame, salad or cooking. Only the comparison record lists Oil, almond. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Oil, sesame, salad or cooking.
Listed only in the comparison: Oil, almond.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710190 with FDC 2710181 at equal mass; use their 14 g and 14 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710190 versus FDC 2710181 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full salad dressings and vegetable oils source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.
For “Sesame oil,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710190 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 884 kcal per 100 g becomes 124 kcal at 14 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710190
FNDDS food code: 82107000
The scaling for FDC 2710190 can be exact while the match to “Sesame oil” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 14 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.