Energy
middle half41 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 42 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 41–42 kcal
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 153 calories for 1 small drink (372 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 small drink · 372 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 can (12 fl oz) · 372 g
153calories
Soft drink, root beer
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 153 calories for 1 small drink at 372 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 41 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 48 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, carbonated, root beer, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small drink at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 9–419 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710557: “Soft drink, root beer.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710557, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz (with ice)” through “1 extra large drink” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl oz (with ice)USDA-listed household measure | 23 g | 9 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 3 mg |
| 1 can (12 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure | 372 g | 153 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 48 mg |
| 1 extra large drinkUSDA-listed household measure | 1,023 g | 419 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 133 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 12 exact records in the Soft drinks USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710557’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half41 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter13 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 12 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710557’s 372 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium48 mg
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Soft drink, root beer,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710541 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 23 g and 1,023 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 9 kcal to 419 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.3 g less total fat than “Soft drink, cola.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “root beer” fits. Inspect FDC 2710541 when “cola” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “root beer”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordSoft drink, root beer | 372 g153 kcal | 41 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 13 mg |
| Soft drink, cola | 372 g156 kcal | 42 kcal | 0 g | 0.3 g | 0 g | 3 mg |
| Soft drink, cola, decaffeinated | 372 g153 kcal | 41 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 4 mg |
| Soft drink, pepper type | 372 g156 kcal | 42 kcal | 0 g | 0.3 g | 0 g | 3 mg |
| Soft drink, chocolate flavored | 372 g156 kcal | 42 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 4 mg |
| Soft drink, ginger ale | 372 g126 kcal | 34 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 7 mg |
| Soft drink, cream soda | 372 g190 kcal | 51 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 0 g | 12 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710557: its source amount is 372 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710557, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
13 kcal
31 g
9 kcal
23 g
13 kcal
31 g
153 kcal
372 g
215 kcal
524 g
254 kcal
620 g
A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.
At a glance
For FDC 2710557, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
39.4 g≈ 14% Daily ValueSodium
48.4 mg≈ 2% Daily ValueCalcium
18.6 mg≈ 1% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710557’s 372 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 372 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 153 kcal 41 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0 g 0 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 39.4 g 10.6 g | 14% 4% |
| Total fat | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 39.4 g 10.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 48.4 mg 13 mg | 2% 1% |
| Saturated fat | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 3.7 mg 1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Calcium | 18.6 mg 5 mg | 1% 0% |
| Iron | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 1% 0% |
| Magnesium | 3.7 mg 1 mg | 1% 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 332.2 g 89.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710557, approximate percentages divide the displayed 372 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710557 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Soft drink, root beer” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Beverages, carbonated, root beer is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Beverages, carbonated, root beerUSDA ingredient 14157 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710557, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soft drinks” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 41 kcal | 42 kcal | −1 kcal |
| Protein | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 10.6 g | 10.4 g | +0.2 g |
| Total fat | 0 g | 0.3 g | −0.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 13 mg | 3 mg | +10 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Beverages, carbonated, root beer. Only the comparison record lists Beverages, carbonated, cola, regular. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Beverages, carbonated, root beer.
Listed only in the comparison: Beverages, carbonated, cola, regular.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 372 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small drink (372 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 372 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small drink (372 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710557 with FDC 2710541 at equal mass; use their 372 g and 372 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710557 versus FDC 2710541 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soft drinks source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Soft drink, root beer” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2710557 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.
For “Soft drink, root beer,” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710557 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 41 kcal per 100 g becomes 153 kcal at 372 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small drink has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710557
FNDDS food code: 92410710
The scaling for FDC 2710557 can be exact while the match to “Soft drink, root beer” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 372 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.