Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix calories: 524 per 1 large cake slice (150 g)

This exact USDA record reports 524 calories for 1 large cake slice (150 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 large cake slice · 150 g

Calories
524 kcal
Protein
4.6 g
Carbohydrate
79.7 g
Total fat
21.6 g
Fiber
2.1 g
Sodium
459 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 regular or small piece/slice, 2+ layer cake · 150 g

524calories

Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix

Protein
4.6 g
Carbs
79.7 g
Fat
21.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707865

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 524 calories for 1 large cake slice at 150 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 349 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.6 g protein, 2.1 g fiber, and 459 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 large cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 24–785 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707865: “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707865, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cubic inch” through “1 large piece/slice, 2+ layer cake” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cubic inchUSDA-listed household measure 6.8 g 24 kcal 0.2 g 0.1 g 21 mg
1 regular or small piece/slice, 2+ layer cakeUSDA-listed household measure 150 g 524 kcal 4.6 g 2.1 g 459 mg
1 large piece/slice, 2+ layer cakeUSDA-listed household measure 225 g 785 kcal 6.9 g 3.2 g 689 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cakes and pies

The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707865’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

349 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
322 kcal
Middle 50%
285–368 kcal

Based on 65 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.1 g
Middle 50%
2.6–4.8 g

Based on 65 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.7–1.9 g

Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

306 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
280 mg
Middle 50%
214–313 mg

Based on 65 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707865’s 150 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium110 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4.5 g

≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium459 mg

≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707864 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cubic inch to 1 large piece/slice, 2+ layer cake

    USDA assigns those measures 6.8 g and 225 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 24 kcal to 785 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707864

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.2 g more dietary fiber than “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate with white icing; from mix” fits. Inspect FDC 2707864 when “chocolate with white icing; bakery” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix

Exact source wording
“Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707865 · FNDDS 53105264
Named qualifiers
chocolate with white icing · from mix

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery

Exact source wording
“Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707864 · FNDDS 53105262
Named qualifiers
chocolate with white icing · bakery

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate with white icing” and “from mix”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix 150 g524 kcal 349 kcal 3.1 g 14.4 g 1.4 g 306 mg
Cake or cupcake, white with chocolate icing, from mix 150 g518 kcal 345 kcal 3.1 g 14.7 g 0.7 g 324 mg
Cake or cupcake, white with white icing, from mix 150 g530 kcal 353 kcal 2.6 g 14.2 g 0.4 g 325 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with chocolate icing, from mix 150 g512 kcal 341 kcal 3.5 g 15 g 1.7 g 305 mg
Cake or cupcake, white with chocolate icing, bakery 175 g611 kcal 349 kcal 2.9 g 15 g 0.8 g 313 mg
Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, bakery 175 g621 kcal 355 kcal 2.8 g 14.6 g 1.2 g 296 mg
Cake or cupcake, white, no icing 65 g202 kcal 310 kcal 4.4 g 12.8 g 0.6 g 419 mg

How to compare FDC 2707865: its source amount is 150 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707865, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 miniature/bite size

87 kcal

25 g

1 regular cupcake

262 kcal

75 g

1 regular or small piece/slice, 1 layer cake

349 kcal

100 g

1 regular or small piece/slice, 2+ layer cake

524 kcal

150 g

1 large piece/slice, 1 layer cake

524 kcal

150 g

1 large piece/slice, 2+ layer cake

785 kcal

225 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707865, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

79.7 g≈ 29% Daily Value

Total fat

21.6 g≈ 28% Daily Value

Cholesterol

70.5 mg≈ 24% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707865’s 150 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707865 at 150 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 459 mg sodium, about 20% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 150 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 524 kcal Not established
Protein 4.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 79.7 g 29%
Total fat 21.6 g 28%
Dietary fiber 2.1 g 8%
Sugars 57.3 g Not established
Sodium 459 mg 20%
Saturated fat 4.5 g 22%
Monounsaturated Fat 7.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 8.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 70.5 mg 24%
Potassium 126 mg 3%
Calcium 109.5 mg 8%
Iron 1.9 mg 10%
Magnesium 27 mg 6%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 2%
Vitamin A 31.5 µg 4%
Caffeine 9 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 41.6 g Not established

For FDC 2707865, approximate percentages divide the displayed 150 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707865 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing, Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icingUSDA ingredient 53105275 · encyclopedia page available 60 GM 60 g 60%
2 Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eatUSDA ingredient 19230 · encyclopedia page available 40 GM 40 g 40%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707865, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories349 kcal355 kcal−6 kcal
Protein3.1 g2.8 g+0.3 g
Carbohydrate53.1 g54.4 g−1.3 g
Total fat14.4 g14.6 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber1.4 g1.2 g+0.2 g
Sodium306 mg296 mg+10 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing; Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 150 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 large cake slice (150 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (175 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707865 with FDC 2707864 at equal mass; use their 150 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707865 versus FDC 2707864 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707865 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 349 kcal per 100 g becomes 524 kcal at 150 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 large cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707865

FNDDS food code: 53105264

The scaling for FDC 2707865 can be exact while the match to “Cake or cupcake, chocolate with white icing, from mix” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 150 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.