Energy
middle half347 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 322 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 285–368 kcal
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 607 calories for 1 cake slice (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cake slice · 175 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 piece/slice, any size · 175 g
607calories
Cake or cupcake, marble
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 607 calories for 1 cake slice at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 347 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5.4 g protein, 2.1 g fiber, and 534 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat, representing 45% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cake slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 312–607 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707880: “Cake or cupcake, marble.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707880, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cupcake, any size” through “1 piece/slice, any size” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cupcake, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 90 g | 312 kcal | 2.8 g | 1.1 g | 275 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 100 g | 347 kcal | 3.1 g | 1.2 g | 305 mg |
| 1 piece/slice, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 607 kcal | 5.4 g | 2.1 g | 534 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 65 exact records in the Cakes and pies USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707880’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half347 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half305 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 65 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707880’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron3 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium124 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat7.1 g
≈ 35% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium534 mg
≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cake or cupcake, marble,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707860 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 90 g and 175 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 312 kcal to 607 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 21 kcal less calories than “Cake or cupcake, coconut.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat supplies 45% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “marble” fits. Inspect FDC 2707860 when “coconut” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “marble”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCake or cupcake, marble | 175 g607 kcal | 347 kcal | 3.1 g | 15.1 g | 1.2 g | 305 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, lemon | 175 g593 kcal | 339 kcal | 2.4 g | 13.5 g | 0.4 g | 304 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, coconut | 200 g736 kcal | 368 kcal | 2.5 g | 15.7 g | 1.3 g | 311 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, strawberry | 175 g571 kcal | 326 kcal | 2.2 g | 12.9 g | 0.5 g | 283 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, zucchini | 200 g742 kcal | 371 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 0.9 g | 280 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, pumpkin | 200 g746 kcal | 373 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 1.1 g | 280 mg |
| Cake or cupcake, carrot | 200 g748 kcal | 374 kcal | 2.5 g | 17.5 g | 1.1 g | 288 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707880: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707880, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
312 kcal
90 g
607 kcal
175 g
347 kcal
100 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707880, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
7.1 g≈ 35% Daily ValueTotal fat
26.4 g≈ 34% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
92.1 g≈ 34% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707880’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707880 at 175 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 607 kcal 347 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5.4 g 3.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 92.1 g 52.6 g | 33% 19% |
| Total fat | 26.4 g 15.1 g | 34% 19% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.1 g 1.2 g | 8% 4% |
| Sugars | 67.2 g 38.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 533.8 mg 305 mg | 23% 13% |
| Saturated fat | 7.1 g 4 g | 35% 20% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 11.9 g 6.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 5.5 g 3.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 75.3 mg 43 mg | 25% 14% |
| Potassium | 232.8 mg 133 mg | 5% 3% |
| Calcium | 124.3 mg 71 mg | 10% 5% |
| Iron | 2.7 mg 1.6 mg | 15% 9% |
| Magnesium | 33.3 mg 19 mg | 8% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.5 µg 0.3 µg | 3% 2% |
| Vitamin A | 33.3 µg 19 µg | 4% 2% |
| Caffeine | 5.3 mg 3 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 48.3 g 27.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707880, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707880 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cake or cupcake, marble” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat, Cake or cupcake, white, no icing, Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cake or cupcake, white, no icingUSDA ingredient 53121275 · encyclopedia page available | 30 GM | 30 g | 30% |
| 2 | Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icingUSDA ingredient 53105275 · encyclopedia page available | 25 GM | 25 g | 25% |
| 3 | Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eatUSDA ingredient 19226 · encyclopedia page available | 45 GM | 45 g | 45% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707880, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cakes and pies” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 347 kcal | 368 kcal | −21 kcal |
| Protein | 3.1 g | 2.5 g | +0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 52.6 g | 54.5 g | −1.9 g |
| Total fat | 15.1 g | 15.7 g | −0.6 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g | 1.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Sodium | 305 mg | 311 mg | −6 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 less calories than “Cake or cupcake, coconut.”
Only this record lists Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing; Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat. Only the comparison record lists Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat; Nuts, coconut meat, dried (desiccated), sweetened, flaked, packaged. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cake or cupcake, white, no icing.
Listed only in this record: Cake or cupcake, chocolate, no icing; Frostings, chocolate, creamy, ready-to-eat.
Listed only in the comparison: Frostings, vanilla, creamy, ready-to-eat; Nuts, coconut meat, dried (desiccated), sweetened, flaked, packaged.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (175 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cake slice (200 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707880 with FDC 2707860 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 200 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707880 versus FDC 2707860 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cakes and pies source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cake or cupcake, marble” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2707880 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cake or cupcake, marble,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707880 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 347 kcal per 100 g becomes 607 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cake slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707880
FNDDS food code: 53115200
The scaling for FDC 2707880 can be exact while the match to “Cake or cupcake, marble” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.