Beveragesmoderate variability

Coffee, espresso, decaf calories: 5 per 1 espresso cup (60 g)

This exact USDA record reports 5 calories for 1 espresso cup (60 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated

Quick facts

1 espresso cup · 60 g

Calories
5 kcal
Protein
0.1 g
Carbohydrate
1 g
Total fat
0.1 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
8 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 espresso cup (2 fl oz) · 60 g

5calories

Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated

Protein
0.1 g
Carbs
1 g
Fat
0.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710379

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 5 calories for 1 espresso cup at 60 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 9 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0.1 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 8 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, decaffeinated, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 espresso cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 3–5 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710379: “Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710379, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 3 kcal 0 g 0 g 4 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 45 g 4 kcal 0 g 0 g 6 mg
1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 60 g 5 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 8 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Coffee

The comparison set contains 106 exact records in the Coffee USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2710379’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

9 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
32 kcal
Middle 50%
16–57 kcal

Based on 106 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

0.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.2–1.7 g

Based on 106 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 106 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

14 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
24 mg
Middle 50%
7–35 mg

Based on 106 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710379’s 60 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Magnesium48 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium8 mg

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.1 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710392 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)

    USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 60 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 3 kcal to 5 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710392

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.7 g less protein than “Coffee, Latte, decaffeinated.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, decaffeinated

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “espresso; decaffeinated” fits. Inspect FDC 2710392 when “Latte; decaffeinated” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated

Exact source wording
“Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710379 · FNDDS 92101630
Named qualifiers
espresso · decaffeinated

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Coffee, Latte, decaffeinated

Exact source wording
“Coffee, Latte, decaffeinated”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710392 · FNDDS 92101910
Named qualifiers
Latte · decaffeinated
Source inputs unique in this pair
Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “espresso” and “decaffeinated”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCoffee, espresso, decaffeinated 60 g5 kcal 9 kcal 0.1 g 0.2 g 0 g 14 mg
Coffee, espresso 60 g5 kcal 9 kcal 0.1 g 0.2 g 0 g 14 mg
Coffee, brewed, decaffeinated 360 g0 kcal 0 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 0 g 2 mg
Coffee, Cappuccino, decaffeinated 360 g97 kcal 27 kcal 1.7 g 1 g 0 g 23 mg
Coffee, Latte, decaffeinated 360 g155 kcal 43 kcal 2.8 g 1.6 g 0 g 35 mg
Coffee, decaffeinated, pre-lightened 360 g50 kcal 14 kcal 0.2 g 0.7 g 0 g 7 mg
Coffee, instant, decaffeinated, reconstituted 360 g11 kcal 3 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 0 g 4 mg

How to compare FDC 2710379: its source amount is 60 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710379, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fl oz

3 kcal

30 g

1 espresso cup (2 fl oz)

5 kcal

60 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710379, Magnesium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Magnesium

48 mg≈ 11% Daily Value

Potassium

69 mg≈ 2% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

1 g≈ 0% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710379’s 60 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 60 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 5 kcal Not established
Protein 0.1 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 1 g 0%
Total fat 0.1 g 0%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 8.4 mg 0%
Saturated fat 0.1 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 69 mg 1%
Calcium 1.2 mg 0%
Iron 0.1 mg 0%
Magnesium 48 mg 11%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0.6 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 58.7 g Not established

For FDC 2710379, approximate percentages divide the displayed 60 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710379 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, decaffeinated is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, decaffeinatedUSDA ingredient 14202 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710379, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Coffee” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories9 kcal43 kcal−34 kcal
Protein0.1 g2.8 g−2.7 g
Carbohydrate1.7 g4.4 g−2.7 g
Total fat0.2 g1.6 g−1.4 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium14 mg35 mg−21 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 34 less calories, 2.7 g less protein, and 2.7 g less carbohydrate than “Coffee, Latte, decaffeinated.”

Only the comparison record lists Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beverages, coffee, brewed, espresso, restaurant-prepared, decaffeinated.

Listed only in the comparison: Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 espresso cup (60 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 360 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small (360 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710379 with FDC 2710392 at equal mass; use their 60 g and 360 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710379 versus FDC 2710392 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full coffee source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.

For “Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated,” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    drink size

    Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    recipe or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    milk or cream

    Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.

  4. 04

    sweeteners and add-ins

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710379 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 9 kcal per 100 g becomes 5 kcal at 60 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 espresso cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710379

FNDDS food code: 92101630

The scaling for FDC 2710379 can be exact while the match to “Coffee, espresso, decaffeinated” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 60 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.