Energy
upper quarter352 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 216 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 192–232 kcal
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 422 calories for 1 order (120 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 order · 120 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 fast food order · 120 g
422calories
Fried onion rings
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 422 calories for 1 order at 120 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 352 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 5 g protein, 3.1 g fiber, and 690 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fast foods, onion rings, breaded and fried, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 order at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 35–422 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710055: “Fried onion rings.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2710055, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 ring” through “1 fast food order” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 ringUSDA-listed household measure | 10 g | 35 kcal | 0.4 g | 0.3 g | 58 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 50 g | 176 kcal | 2.1 g | 1.3 g | 288 mg |
| 1 fast food orderUSDA-listed household measure | 120 g | 422 kcal | 5 g | 3.1 g | 690 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Fried vegetables USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710055’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter352 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter4.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half2.6 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter575 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 11 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2710055’s 120 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber3.1 g
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium86 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium690 mg
≈ 30% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.8 g
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Fried onion rings,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709725 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 120 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 35 kcal to 422 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.3 g more dietary fiber than “Fried green tomatoes.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Fast foods, onion rings, breaded and fried supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Fried onion rings” fits. Inspect FDC 2709725 when the exact wording “Fried green tomatoes” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFried onion rings | 120 g422 kcal | 352 kcal | 4.2 g | 19.8 g | 2.6 g | 575 mg |
| Fried green beans | 73 g163 kcal | 223 kcal | 4 g | 12.9 g | 2 g | 314 mg |
| Fried green tomatoes | 90 g194 kcal | 216 kcal | 3.7 g | 12.8 g | 1.3 g | 317 mg |
| Fried summer squash, yellow or green | 110 g238 kcal | 216 kcal | 3.8 g | 12.9 g | 1.2 g | 317 mg |
How to compare FDC 2710055: its source amount is 120 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2710055, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
35 kcal
10 g
176 kcal
50 g
422 kcal
120 g
At a glance
For FDC 2710055, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
23.8 g≈ 31% Daily ValueSodium
690 mg≈ 30% Daily ValueSaturated fat
3.8 g≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2710055’s 120 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2710055 at 120 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 120 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 422 kcal 352 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 5 g 4.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 47.9 g 39.9 g | 17% 15% |
| Total fat | 23.8 g 19.8 g | 30% 25% |
| Dietary fiber | 3.1 g 2.6 g | 11% 9% |
| Sugars | 6 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 690 mg 575 mg | 30% 25% |
| Saturated fat | 3.8 g 3.2 g | 19% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 5.9 g 4.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 11.8 g 9.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 181.2 mg 151 mg | 4% 3% |
| Calcium | 86.4 mg 72 mg | 7% 6% |
| Iron | 1.2 mg 1 mg | 6% 5% |
| Magnesium | 24 mg 20 mg | 6% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 1.8 mg 1.5 mg | 2% 2% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 40.8 g 34 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2710055, approximate percentages divide the displayed 120 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2710055 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Fried onion rings” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Fast foods, onion rings, breaded and fried, Onion rings, breaded, par fried, frozen, prepared, heated in oven. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fast foods, onion rings, breaded and friedUSDA ingredient 21130 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Onion rings, breaded, par fried, frozen, prepared, heated in ovenUSDA ingredient 11296 | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2710055, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried vegetables” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 352 kcal | 216 kcal | +136 kcal |
| Protein | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | +0.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 39.9 g | 21.8 g | +18.1 g |
| Total fat | 19.8 g | 12.8 g | +7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.6 g | 1.3 g | +1.3 g |
| Sodium | 575 mg | 317 mg | +258 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 136 more calories, 18.1 g more carbohydrate, and 7 g more total fat than “Fried green tomatoes.”
Only this record lists Fast foods, onion rings, breaded and fried; Onion rings, breaded, par fried, frozen, prepared, heated in oven. Only the comparison record lists Tomatoes, cooked, as ingredient; Breading or batter as ingredient in food; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Fast foods, onion rings, breaded and fried; Onion rings, breaded, par fried, frozen, prepared, heated in oven.
Listed only in the comparison: Tomatoes, cooked, as ingredient; Breading or batter as ingredient in food; Vegetable oil, NFS; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 120 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 order (120 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 90 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (180 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710055 with FDC 2709725 at equal mass; use their 120 g and 90 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2710055 versus FDC 2709725 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fried vegetables source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method.
For “Fried onion rings,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
How we estimated this
FDC 2710055 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 352 kcal per 100 g becomes 422 kcal at 120 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 order has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2710055
FNDDS food code: 75415022
The scaling for FDC 2710055 can be exact while the match to “Fried onion rings” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 120 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.