Dairymoderate variability

Milk shake, homemade, flavors other than chocolate calories: 316 per 1 milkshake (280 g)

This exact USDA record reports 316 calories for 1 milkshake (280 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate

Quick facts

1 milkshake · 280 g

Calories
316 kcal
Protein
9.4 g
Carbohydrate
31.9 g
Total fat
16.7 g
Fiber
0.6 g
Sodium
148 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 milkshake (10 fl oz) · 280 g

316calories

Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate

Protein
9.4 g
Carbs
31.9 g
Fat
16.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705504

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 316 calories for 1 milkshake at 280 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 113 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 9.4 g protein, 0.6 g fiber, and 148 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin d, representing 64.4% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 milkshake at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 32–316 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705504: “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705504, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 milkshake (10 fl oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 32 kcal 0.9 g 0.1 g 15 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 224 g 253 kcal 7.5 g 0.4 g 119 mg
1 milkshake (10 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 280 g 316 kcal 9.4 g 0.6 g 148 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Milk shakes and other dairy drinks

The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Milk shakes and other dairy drinks USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705504’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

113 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
113 kcal
Middle 50%
90–148 kcal

Based on 11 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.4 g
Middle 50%
2.2–3.7 g

Based on 11 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

lower quarter

0.2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.5 g
Middle 50%
0.3–0.9 g

Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

53 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
53 mg
Middle 50%
51–81 mg

Based on 11 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705504’s 280 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium350 mg

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A176.4 µg

≈ 20% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat10.1 g

≈ 51% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium148 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705506 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 milkshake (10 fl oz)

    USDA assigns those measures 28 g and 280 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 32 kcal to 316 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705506

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.7 g more total fat than “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate, light.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D supplies 64.4% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “home recipe; flavors other than chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705506 when “home recipe; flavors other than chocolate; light” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate

Exact source wording
“Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705504 · FNDDS 11541120
Named qualifiers
home recipe · flavors other than chocolate
Source inputs unique in this pair
Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D · Ice creams, vanilla

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate, light

Exact source wording
“Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate, light”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705506 · FNDDS 11541135
Named qualifiers
home recipe · flavors other than chocolate · light
Source inputs unique in this pair
Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D · Ice creams, vanilla, light

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “home recipe” and “flavors other than chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMilk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate 280 g316 kcal 113 kcal 3.4 g 6 g 0.2 g 53 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate, light 280 g258 kcal 92 kcal 3.9 g 2.3 g 0.1 g 51 mg
Milk shake, bottled, flavors other than chocolate 372 g551 kcal 148 kcal 3.4 g 6.5 g 0.9 g 81 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, chocolate 280 g336 kcal 120 kcal 3.5 g 6.1 g 0.5 g 52 mg
Milk shake, fast food, flavors other than chocolate 405 g599 kcal 148 kcal 3.4 g 6.5 g 0.9 g 81 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, chocolate, light 280 g272 kcal 97 kcal 4 g 3.3 g 0.3 g 51 mg
Ice cream soda, flavors other than chocolate 240 g204 kcal 85 kcal 0.9 g 2.9 g 0.2 g 31 mg

How to compare FDC 2705504: its source amount is 280 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705504, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fl oz

32 kcal

28 g

1 milkshake (10 fl oz)

316 kcal

280 g

1 cup

253 kcal

224 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705504, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

10.1 g≈ 51% Daily Value

Calcium

350 mg≈ 27% Daily Value

Cholesterol

64.4 mg≈ 22% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705504’s 280 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 280 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 316 kcal Not established
Protein 9.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 31.9 g 12%
Total fat 16.7 g 21%
Dietary fiber 0.6 g 2%
Sugars 30 g Not established
Sodium 148.4 mg 6%
Saturated fat 10.1 g 51%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 64.4 mg 21%
Potassium 467.6 mg 10%
Calcium 350 mg 27%
Iron 0.1 mg 0%
Magnesium 36.4 mg 9%
Vitamin C 0.6 mg 1%
Vitamin D 2.2 µg 11%
Vitamin A 176.4 µg 20%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 219.5 g Not established

For FDC 2705504, approximate percentages divide the displayed 280 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705504 to 2 source inputs totaling 758 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D, Ice creams, vanilla. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

758 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin DUSDA ingredient 1077 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 488 g 64.4%
2 Ice creams, vanillaUSDA ingredient 19095 · encyclopedia page available 2 C 270 g 35.6%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705504, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Milk shakes and other dairy drinks” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate

USDA category
Milk shakes and other dairy drinks
FDC ID
2705504
FNDDS code
11541120
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories113 kcal92 kcal+21 kcal
Protein3.4 g3.9 g−0.5 g
Carbohydrate11.4 g13.8 g−2.4 g
Total fat6 g2.3 g+3.7 g
Dietary fiber0.2 g0.1 g+0.1 g
Sodium53 mg51 mg+2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 21 more calories, 2.4 g less carbohydrate, and 3.7 g more total fat than “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate, light.”

Only this record lists Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D; Ice creams, vanilla. Only the comparison record lists Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D; Ice creams, vanilla, light. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Milk, whole, 3.25% milkfat, with added vitamin D; Ice creams, vanilla.

Listed only in the comparison: Milk, lowfat, fluid, 1% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D; Ice creams, vanilla, light.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 280 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 milkshake (280 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 280 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (224 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705504 with FDC 2705506 at equal mass; use their 280 g and 280 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705504 versus FDC 2705506 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full milk shakes and other dairy drinks source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705504 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705504 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 113 kcal per 100 g becomes 316 kcal at 280 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 milkshake has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705504

FNDDS food code: 11541120

The scaling for FDC 2705504 can be exact while the match to “Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 280 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.