Energy
upper quarter179 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 113–146 kcal
Based on 14 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 251 calories for 1 cup, cooked (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup, cooked · 140 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup, cooked · 140 g
251calories
Pasta, gluten free
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 251 calories for 1 cup, cooked at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 179 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.5 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 6 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, gluten-free, corn and rice flour, cooked, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup, cooked at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 143–251 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708359: “Pasta, gluten free.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708359, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, dry, yields” through “1 cup, cooked” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, dry, yieldsUSDA-listed household measure | 80 g | 143 kcal | 2.6 g | 1.1 g | 3 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 105 g | 188 kcal | 3.4 g | 1.5 g | 4 mg |
| 1 cup, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 251 kcal | 4.5 g | 2 g | 6 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 14 exact records in the Pasta, noodles, cooked grains USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708359’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter179 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter4 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 14 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708359’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber2 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.2 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium6 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Pasta, gluten free,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708357 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 80 g and 140 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 143 kcal to 251 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 228 mg less sodium than “Pasta, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “gluten free” fits. Inspect FDC 2708357 when “cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “gluten free”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordPasta, gluten free | 140 g251 kcal | 179 kcal | 3.2 g | 1 g | 1.4 g | 4 mg |
| Pasta, cooked | 140 g220 kcal | 157 kcal | 5.8 g | 0.9 g | 1.8 g | 232 mg |
| Pasta, vegetable, cooked | 140 g179 kcal | 128 kcal | 4.5 g | 0.1 g | 4.3 g | 99 mg |
| Pasta, whole grain, cooked | 140 g207 kcal | 148 kcal | 6 g | 1.7 g | 3.9 g | 235 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708359: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708359, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
251 kcal
140 g
143 kcal
80 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708359, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
53.2 g≈ 19% Daily ValueDietary fiber
2 g≈ 7% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708359’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708359 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 251 kcal 179 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.5 g 3.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 53.2 g 38 g | 19% 14% |
| Total fat | 1.4 g 1 g | 2% 1% |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g 1.4 g | 7% 5% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 5.6 mg 4 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 0.2 g 0.2 g | 1% 1% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 33.6 mg 24 mg | 1% 1% |
| Calcium | 2.8 mg 2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Iron | 0.3 mg 0.2 mg | 2% 1% |
| Magnesium | 15.4 mg 11 mg | 4% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5.6 µg 4 µg | 1% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 80.8 g 57.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708359, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708359 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta, gluten free” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Pasta, gluten-free, corn and rice flour, cooked is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pasta, gluten-free, corn and rice flour, cookedUSDA ingredient 20657 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708359, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta, noodles, cooked grains” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 179 kcal | 157 kcal | +22 kcal |
| Protein | 3.2 g | 5.8 g | −2.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 38 g | 30.7 g | +7.3 g |
| Total fat | 1 g | 0.9 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.4 g | 1.8 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 4 mg | 232 mg | −228 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 22 more calories, 2.6 g less protein, and 7.3 g more carbohydrate than “Pasta, cooked.”
Only this record lists Pasta, gluten-free, corn and rice flour, cooked. Only the comparison record lists Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Pasta, gluten-free, corn and rice flour, cooked.
Listed only in the comparison: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt; Salt, table.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (140 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 140 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup, cooked (140 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708359 with FDC 2708357 at equal mass; use their 140 g and 140 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708359 versus FDC 2708357 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full pasta, noodles, cooked grains source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708359 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Pasta, gluten free” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708359 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.
For “Pasta, gluten free,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708359 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 179 kcal per 100 g becomes 251 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup, cooked has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708359
FNDDS food code: 56140100
The scaling for FDC 2708359 can be exact while the match to “Pasta, gluten free” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.