Energy
middle half298 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 334 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 290–374 kcal
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 63 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 slice · 21 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g
63calories
Queso Fresco
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 63 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 298 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 131 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, queso fresco, solid, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–402 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705745: “Queso Fresco.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705745, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 9 g | 27 kcal | 1.7 g | 0 g | 56 mg |
| 1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 21 g | 63 kcal | 4 g | 0 g | 131 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 402 kcal | 25.5 g | 0 g | 845 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705745’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half298 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter18.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half626 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 41 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705745’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium126 mg
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.9 g
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium131 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Queso Fresco,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705744 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 402 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 108 mg less sodium than “Queso Asadero.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Queso Fresco” fits. Inspect FDC 2705744 when the exact wording “Queso Asadero” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordQueso Fresco | 21 g63 kcal | 298 kcal | 18.9 g | 23.4 g | 0 g | 626 mg |
| Queso Asadero | 21 g62 kcal | 297 kcal | 22.1 g | 22.1 g | 0 g | 734 mg |
| Queso Anejo, aged Mexican cheese | 21 g78 kcal | 373 kcal | 21.4 g | 30 g | 0 g | 1,130 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705745: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705745, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
27 kcal
9 g
63 kcal
21 g
402 kcal
135 g
85 kcal
28 g
54 kcal
18 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705745, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
2.9 g≈ 15% Daily ValueCalcium
126.4 mg≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705745’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705745 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 63 kcal 298 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4 g 18.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0.6 g 3 g | 0% 1% |
| Total fat | 4.9 g 23.4 g | 6% 30% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0.5 g 2.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 131.5 mg 626 mg | 6% 27% |
| Saturated fat | 2.9 g 14 g | 15% 70% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.2 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 16 mg 76 mg | 5% 25% |
| Potassium | 26.5 mg 126 mg | 1% 3% |
| Calcium | 126.4 mg 602 mg | 10% 46% |
| Iron | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Magnesium | 5.9 mg 28 mg | 1% 7% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 31.9 µg 152 µg | 4% 17% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 10.8 g 51.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705745, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705745 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Queso Fresco” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Cheese, queso fresco, solid is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cheese, queso fresco, solidUSDA ingredient 100300 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705745, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 298 kcal | 297 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 18.9 g | 22.1 g | −3.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 3 g | 2.4 g | +0.6 g |
| Total fat | 23.4 g | 22.1 g | +1.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 626 mg | 734 mg | −108 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.2 g less protein and 108 mg less sodium than “Queso Asadero.”
Only this record lists Cheese, queso fresco, solid. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, oaxaca, solid. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Cheese, queso fresco, solid.
Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, oaxaca, solid.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705745 with FDC 2705744 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705745 versus FDC 2705744 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Queso Fresco,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705745 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 298 kcal per 100 g becomes 63 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705745
FNDDS food code: 14133000
The scaling for FDC 2705745 can be exact while the match to “Queso Fresco” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.