Mixed disheshigher variability

Tamale, pork calories: 244 per 1 item, any size (140 g)

This exact USDA record reports 244 calories for 1 item, any size (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 item, any size · 140 g

Calories
244 kcal
Protein
10.3 g
Carbohydrate
22.1 g
Total fat
12.7 g
Fiber
3.4 g
Sodium
662 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 item, any size · 140 g

244calories

Tamale, pork

Protein
10.3 g
Carbs
22.1 g
Fat
12.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708572

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 244 calories for 1 item, any size at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 174 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 10.3 g protein, 3.4 g fiber, and 662 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, latino, tamale, pork, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 item, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 244–296 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708572: “Tamale, pork.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708572, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 105 g 183 kcal 7.7 g 2.5 g 497 mg
1 item, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 140 g 244 kcal 10.3 g 3.4 g 662 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 170 g 296 kcal 12.5 g 4.1 g 804 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Other Mexican mixed dishes

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Other Mexican mixed dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708572’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

174 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
228 kcal
Middle 50%
174–269 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

7.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
11.2 g
Middle 50%
8.1–12.5 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.1 g
Middle 50%
1.5–2.9 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

473 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
451 mg
Middle 50%
345–490 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708572’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C23 mg

≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber3.4 g

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium662 mg

≈ 29% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat3.8 g

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Tamale, pork,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708571 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 item, any size to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 140 g and 170 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 244 kcal to 296 kcal.

  2. 02

    Source identity: FDC 2708572 versus 2708571

    The closest published neighbor currently carries the same nutrient, portion, and source-input evidence. The FDC IDs still identify separate source records, so the exact citation remains the deciding field.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Restaurant, Latino, tamale, pork

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

The published nutrient, portion, and formulation evidence is identical for this pair. Preserve FDC 2708572 when this is the cited source; do not manufacture a nutritional distinction that the records do not show.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Tamale, pork

Exact source wording
“Tamale, pork”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708572 · FNDDS 58103125
Named qualifiers
pork

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Tamale, beef

Exact source wording
“Tamale, beef”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708571 · FNDDS 58103120
Named qualifiers
beef

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “pork”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordTamale, pork 140 g244 kcal 174 kcal 7.4 g 9 g 2.4 g 473 mg
Tamale, beef 140 g244 kcal 174 kcal 7.4 g 9 g 2.4 g 473 mg
Tamale, chicken 140 g244 kcal 174 kcal 7.4 g 9 g 2.4 g 473 mg
Tamale, no meat 140 g260 kcal 186 kcal 3.5 g 7.2 g 3.2 g 277 mg
Enchilada, pork 150 g288 kcal 192 kcal 9.5 g 10.7 g 2.3 g 456 mg
Fajita, beef or pork 95 g219 kcal 231 kcal 12.1 g 12.2 g 1.5 g 459 mg
Burrito bowl, beef or pork, with rice 270 g489 kcal 181 kcal 11.9 g 8.1 g 0.2 g 276 mg

How to compare FDC 2708572: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708572, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 item, any size

244 kcal

140 g

1 cup

296 kcal

170 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708572, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

662.2 mg≈ 29% Daily Value

Vitamin C

23 mg≈ 26% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708572’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708572 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 10.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708572 at 140 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 3.4 g dietary fiber, about 12% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 662 mg sodium, about 29% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 244 kcal Not established
Protein 10.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 22.1 g 8%
Total fat 12.7 g 16%
Dietary fiber 3.4 g 12%
Sugars 0.6 g Not established
Sodium 662.2 mg 29%
Saturated fat 3.8 g 19%
Monounsaturated Fat 4.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 28 mg 9%
Potassium 212.8 mg 5%
Calcium 105 mg 8%
Iron 1.2 mg 7%
Magnesium 36.4 mg 9%
Vitamin C 23 mg 26%
Vitamin D 0.4 µg 2%
Vitamin A 16.8 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 92.4 g Not established

For FDC 2708572, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708572 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tamale, pork” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Restaurant, Latino, tamale, pork is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Restaurant, Latino, tamale, porkUSDA ingredient 36412 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708572, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Other Mexican mixed dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Source-equivalent fields

Different source identities, matching published reference fields

Across the nutrient, portion, and formulation fields published here, FDC 2708572 and FDC 2708571 match exactly. Their descriptions and source identities remain distinct provenance; matching database fields do not make every real-world version interchangeable.

Practical reading: do not infer a nutrient difference from the names alone. Choose the description that more closely matches what was reported, while treating the shared values as a standardized reference rather than a measurement of your plate.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708572 versus FDC 2708571 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full other mexican mixed dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, recipe and ingredient ratios, added cooking fat, sauces and toppings.

For “Tamale, pork,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe and ingredient ratios

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    added cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    sauces and toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708572 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 174 kcal per 100 g becomes 244 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 item, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708572

FNDDS food code: 58103125

The scaling for FDC 2708572 can be exact while the match to “Tamale, pork” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.