Vegetablesmoderate variability

Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added calories: 81 per 83 g

This exact USDA record reports 81 calories for 83 g. That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

USDA reference amount · 83 g

Calories
81 kcal
Protein
1.2 g
Carbohydrate
12.5 g
Total fat
3 g
Fiber
1.7 g
Sodium
150 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 83 g

81calories

Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added

Protein
1.2 g
Carbs
12.5 g
Fat
3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710029

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 81 calories for USDA reference amount at 83 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 97 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.2 g protein, 1.7 g fiber, and 150 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, ns as to fat type, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The reference amount and 1 cup answer different portion questions. Their values are scaled independently from the same per-100-gram source record.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 81–160 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710029: “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710029, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 62.3 g 60 kcal 0.9 g 1.2 g 113 mg
USDA reference amountExact record reference weight 83 g 81 kcal 1.2 g 1.7 g 150 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 165 g 160 kcal 2.4 g 3.3 g 299 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Other vegetables and combinations

The comparison set contains 122 exact records in the Other vegetables and combinations USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2710029’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

97 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
45 kcal
Middle 50%
31–62 kcal

Based on 122 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.9 g
Middle 50%
1.2–2.8 g

Based on 122 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2.3 g
Middle 50%
1.7–3.1 g

Based on 122 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

181 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
135 mg
Middle 50%
102–165 mg

Based on 122 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710029’s 83 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A213.3 µg

≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C7 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium150 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.8 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710030 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 83 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 62.3–103.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 60 kcal and 101 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710030

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.5 g more total fat than “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, no added fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “stew type; cooked; fat added” fits. Inspect FDC 2710030 when “stew type; cooked; no added fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added

Exact source wording
“Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710029 · FNDDS 75317010
Named qualifiers
stew type · cooked · fat added
Source inputs unique in this pair
Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type · Carrots, fresh, cooked, fat added, NS as to fat type · Onions, cooked, fat added

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Vegetables, stew type, cooked, no added fat

Exact source wording
“Vegetables, stew type, cooked, no added fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710030 · FNDDS 75317020
Named qualifiers
stew type · cooked · no added fat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, no added fat · Carrots, fresh, cooked, no added fat · Onions, cooked, no added fat

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “stew type”, “cooked”, and “fat added”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordVegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added 83 g81 kcal 97 kcal 1.4 g 3.6 g 2 g 181 mg
Vegetables, stew type, cooked, no added fat 80 g55 kcal 69 kcal 1.5 g 0.2 g 2.1 g 169 mg
Asian stir fry vegetables, cooked, fat added 66 g47 kcal 71 kcal 2 g 2.8 g 2.8 g 146 mg
Classic mixed vegetables, frozen, cooked, no added fat 90 g59 kcal 65 kcal 2.9 g 0.2 g 4.4 g 151 mg
Asian stir fry vegetables, cooked, no added fat 64 g32 kcal 50 kcal 2.1 g 0.3 g 2.9 g 141 mg
Classic mixed vegetables, canned, cooked, no added fat 90 g41 kcal 46 kcal 2.1 g 0.7 g 2.6 g 250 mg
Seaweed, cooked, fat added 53 g33 kcal 63 kcal 3.4 g 3.1 g 0.7 g 382 mg

How to compare FDC 2710029: its source amount is 83 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710029, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

160 kcal

165 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710029, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin A

213.3 µg≈ 24% Daily Value

Vitamin C

7.3 mg≈ 8% Daily Value

Sodium

150.2 mg≈ 7% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710029’s 83 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 83 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 81 kcal Not established
Protein 1.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 12.5 g 5%
Total fat 3 g 4%
Dietary fiber 1.7 g 6%
Sugars 2.5 g Not established
Sodium 150.2 mg 7%
Saturated fat 0.8 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 2.5 mg 1%
Potassium 256.5 mg 5%
Calcium 14.9 mg 1%
Iron 0.2 mg 1%
Magnesium 14.9 mg 4%
Vitamin C 7.3 mg 8%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 213.3 µg 24%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 65.3 g Not established

For FDC 2710029, approximate percentages divide the displayed 83 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710029 to 4 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type, Carrots, fresh, cooked, fat added, NS as to fat type, Onions, cooked, fat added. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat typeUSDA ingredient 71103020 50 GM 50 g 50%
2 Carrots, fresh, cooked, fat added, NS as to fat typeUSDA ingredient 73102221 30 GM 30 g 30%
3 Onions, cooked, fat addedUSDA ingredient 75221021 15 GM 15 g 15%
4 Celery, cookedUSDA ingredient 75215020 5 GM 5 g 5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NS as to… means “not specified as to…” the detail that follows. It preserves an unknown distinction; it does not mean the ingredient or characteristic is absent.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710029, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Other vegetables and combinations” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories97 kcal69 kcal+28 kcal
Protein1.4 g1.5 g−0.1 g
Carbohydrate15.1 g15.7 g−0.6 g
Total fat3.6 g0.2 g+3.5 g
Dietary fiber2 g2.1 g−0.1 g
Sodium181 mg169 mg+12 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 28 more calories and 3.5 g more total fat than “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, no added fat.”

Only this record lists Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type; Carrots, fresh, cooked, fat added, NS as to fat type; Onions, cooked, fat added; Celery, cooked. Only the comparison record lists Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, no added fat; Carrots, fresh, cooked, no added fat; Onions, cooked, no added fat; Celery, raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, fat added, NS as to fat type; Carrots, fresh, cooked, fat added, NS as to fat type; Onions, cooked, fat added; Celery, cooked.

Listed only in the comparison: Potato, boiled, from fresh, peel not eaten, no added fat; Carrots, fresh, cooked, no added fat; Onions, cooked, no added fat; Celery, raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 83 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (165 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 80 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (160 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710029 with FDC 2710030 at equal mass; use their 83 g and 80 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710029 versus FDC 2710030 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full other vegetables and combinations source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, raw versus cooked weight, cooking method, added fat or sauce.

For “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    raw versus cooked weight

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    cooking method

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  4. 04

    added fat or sauce

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710029 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 97 kcal per 100 g becomes 81 kcal at 83 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” We display it as a USDA reference amount because it is a database comparison point—not a suggested portion or a claim about what most people should eat.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710029

FNDDS food code: 75317010

The scaling for FDC 2710029 can be exact while the match to “Vegetables, stew type, cooked, fat added” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 83 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.