Energy
lower quarter126 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 229 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 164–285 kcal
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 176 calories for 1 cup (140 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 140 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 140 g
176calories
Vermicelli, made from soybeans
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 176 calories for 1 cup at 140 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 126 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0.1 g protein, 2.1 g fiber, and 4 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, water, tap, drinking, representing 61.8% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707450: “Vermicelli, made from soybeans.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707450, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 105 g | 132 kcal | 0 g | 1.6 g | 3 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 176 kcal | 0.1 g | 2.1 g | 4 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 175 g | 221 kcal | 0.1 g | 2.6 g | 5 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Soy and meat-alternative products USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2707450’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter126 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter3 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707450’s 140 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber2.1 g
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium4 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Vermicelli, made from soybeans,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the absence of a qualifying close alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 105–175 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 132 kcal and 221 kcal.
No second entry passed the close-record rule for this page. Keep the exact USDA description “Vermicelli, made from soybeans” attached to any value copied from this profile.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Beverages, water, tap, drinking supplies 61.8% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Use this profile only when “Vermicelli, made from soybeans” is the closest available description and the 140 g reference can be scaled to the amount you mean.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Verify the exact reference
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “made from soybeans”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordVermicelli, made from soybeans | 140 g176 kcal | 126 kcal | 0 g | 0 g | 1.5 g | 3 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707450: its source amount is 140 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707450, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
176 kcal
140 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707450, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Carbohydrate
44 g≈ 16% Daily ValueDietary fiber
2.1 g≈ 8% Daily ValueIron
0.7 mg≈ 4% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707450’s 140 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 140 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 176 kcal 126 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0.1 g 0 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 44 g 31.4 g | 16% 11% |
| Total fat | 0.1 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.1 g 1.5 g | 8% 5% |
| Sugars | 9.3 g 6.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 4.2 mg 3 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Calcium | 30.8 mg 22 mg | 2% 2% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 0.5 mg | 4% 3% |
| Magnesium | 1.4 mg 1 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.4 µg 1 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 92.8 g 66.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707450, approximate percentages divide the displayed 140 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707450 to 2 source inputs totaling 262 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Vermicelli, made from soybeans” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Beverages, water, tap, drinking, Vermicelli, made from soy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
262 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vermicelli, made from soyUSDA ingredient 43114 | 100 GM | 100 g | 38.2% |
| 2 | Beverages, water, tap, drinkingUSDA ingredient 14411 · encyclopedia page available | 162 GM | 162 g | 61.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707450, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soy and meat-alternative products” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
No forced match
No other published “Soy and meat-alternative products” entry shares enough description or exact source-input evidence with FDC 2707450 to clear Feast’s close-record rule. A broad category neighbor would look relevant without establishing a defensible pair.
This profile remains traceable to FDC 2707450 and the exact USDA description “Vermicelli, made from soybeans.” Inspect the source record ↗
Browse the wider soy and meat-alternative products topic → Browse beans, nuts & protein foods →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Vermicelli, made from soybeans,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707450 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 126 kcal per 100 g becomes 176 kcal at 140 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707450
FNDDS food code: 41425010
The scaling for FDC 2707450 can be exact while the match to “Vermicelli, made from soybeans” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 140 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.