Sauces, fats & condimentsmoderate variability

Wheat germ oil calories: 124 per 1 tablespoon (14 g)

This exact USDA record reports 124 calories for 1 tablespoon (14 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 tablespoon · 14 g

Calories
124 kcal
Protein
0 g
Carbohydrate
0 g
Total fat
14 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
0 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 tablespoon · 14 g

124calories

Wheat germ oil

Protein
0 g
Carbs
0 g
Fat
14 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710194

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 124 calories for 1 tablespoon at 14 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 884 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 0 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is oil, wheat germ, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 tablespoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 124–1,980 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710194: “Wheat germ oil.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710194, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 10.5 g 93 kcal 0 g 0 g 0 mg
1 tablespoonUSDA-listed household measure 14 g 124 kcal 0 g 0 g 0 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 224 g 1,980 kcal 0 g 0 g 0 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Salad dressings and vegetable oils

The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Salad dressings and vegetable oils USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710194’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

884 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
379 kcal
Middle 50%
165–884 kcal

Based on 47 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.7 g
Middle 50%
0–1.3 g

Based on 47 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.1 g
Middle 50%
0–0.7 g

Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

0 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
833 mg
Middle 50%
0–959 mg

Based on 47 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710194’s 14 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat2.6 g

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Wheat germ oil,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710181 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 tablespoon to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 14 g and 224 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 124 kcal to 1,980 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710181

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Almond oil.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Oil, wheat germ

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Wheat germ oil” fits. Inspect FDC 2710181 when the exact wording “Almond oil” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Wheat germ oil

Exact source wording
“Wheat germ oil”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710194 · FNDDS 82109000
Source inputs unique in this pair
Oil, wheat germ

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Almond oil

Exact source wording
“Almond oil”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710181 · FNDDS 82101300
Source inputs unique in this pair
Oil, almond

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordWheat germ oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Almond oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Cottonseed oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Flaxseed oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0.1 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Sesame oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Walnut oil 14 g124 kcal 884 kcal 0 g 100 g 0 g 0 mg
Coconut oil 14 g125 kcal 895 kcal 0 g 99.1 g 0 g 0 mg

How to compare FDC 2710194: its source amount is 14 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710194, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

1,980 kcal

224 g

1 tablespoon

124 kcal

14 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710194, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Total fat

14 g≈ 18% Daily Value

Saturated fat

2.6 g≈ 13% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710194’s 14 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 14 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 124 kcal Not established
Protein 0 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0 g 0%
Total fat 14 g 18%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 0 mg 0%
Saturated fat 2.6 g 13%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 8.6 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 0 mg 0%
Calcium 0 mg 0%
Iron 0 mg 0%
Magnesium 0 mg 0%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 0 g Not established

For FDC 2710194, approximate percentages divide the displayed 14 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710194 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Wheat germ oil” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Oil, wheat germ is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Oil, wheat germUSDA ingredient 4038 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710194, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Salad dressings and vegetable oils” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories884 kcal884 kcalSame listed value
Protein0 g0 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate0 g0 gSame listed value
Total fat100 g100 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium0 mg0 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Oil, wheat germ. Only the comparison record lists Oil, almond. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Oil, wheat germ.

Listed only in the comparison: Oil, almond.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 14 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 tablespoon (14 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710194 with FDC 2710181 at equal mass; use their 14 g and 14 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710194 versus FDC 2710181 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full salad dressings and vegetable oils source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.

For “Wheat germ oil,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount used

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    concentration

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  4. 04

    oil, sugar, and salt formulation

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710194 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 884 kcal per 100 g becomes 124 kcal at 14 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 tablespoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710194

FNDDS food code: 82109000

The scaling for FDC 2710194 can be exact while the match to “Wheat germ oil” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 14 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.