Energy
middle half162 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 164 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 157–181 kcal
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 275 calories for 1 cup (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 170 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 170 g
275calories
Beans and rice, with meat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 275 calories for 1 cup at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 162 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 12.7 g protein, 7.5 g fiber, and 447 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pinto beans with meat, representing 45% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708992: “Beans and rice, with meat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708992, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 127.5 g | 207 kcal | 9.6 g | 5.6 g | 335 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 275 kcal | 12.7 g | 7.5 g | 447 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 212.5 g | 344 kcal | 15.9 g | 9.4 g | 559 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Bean, pea, legume dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708992’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half162 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter7.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half4.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half263 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708992’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber7.5 g
≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Iron3 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium447 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1.2 g
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beans and rice, with meat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708990 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 127.5–212.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 207 kcal and 344 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.7 g more dietary fiber than “Beans and white rice.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Pinto beans with meat supplies 45% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with meat” fits. Inspect FDC 2708990 when the exact wording “Beans and white rice” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with meat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeans and rice, with meat | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 7.5 g | 4.2 g | 4.4 g | 263 mg |
| Beans and brown rice | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 6.4 g | 4.5 g | 3.9 g | 213 mg |
| Beans and white rice | 170 g279 kcal | 164 kcal | 6.5 g | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | 231 mg |
| Beans and rice, with tomatoes | 170 g233 kcal | 137 kcal | 4.7 g | 3.5 g | 3.8 g | 309 mg |
| Black beans and white rice | 170 g272 kcal | 160 kcal | 6 g | 4.3 g | 5 g | 228 mg |
| Pinto beans and brown rice | 170 g279 kcal | 164 kcal | 6 g | 4.7 g | 5.4 g | 211 mg |
| Kidney beans and white rice | 170 g269 kcal | 158 kcal | 5.9 g | 4.3 g | 4.3 g | 229 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708992: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708992, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
275 kcal
170 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708992, Dietary fiber is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Dietary fiber
7.5 g≈ 27% Daily ValueSodium
447.1 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708992’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708992 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 12.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708992 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 275 kcal 162 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 12.7 g 7.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 40 g 23.5 g | 15% 9% |
| Total fat | 7.2 g 4.2 g | 9% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 7.5 g 4.4 g | 27% 16% |
| Sugars | 0.4 g 0.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 447.1 mg 263 mg | 19% 11% |
| Saturated fat | 1.2 g 0.7 g | 6% 4% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.5 g 1.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 10.2 mg 6 mg | 3% 2% |
| Potassium | 408 mg 240 mg | 9% 5% |
| Calcium | 42.5 mg 25 mg | 3% 2% |
| Iron | 2.8 mg 1.6 mg | 15% 9% |
| Magnesium | 56.1 mg 33 mg | 13% 8% |
| Vitamin C | 0.5 mg 0.3 mg | 1% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 1.7 µg 1 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 107.6 g 63.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708992, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708992 to 3 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beans and rice, with meat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pinto beans with meat, Rice, white, cooked, no added fat, Black beans with meat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pinto beans with meatUSDA ingredient 41104250 | 45 GM | 45 g | 45% |
| 2 | Black beans with meatUSDA ingredient 41102170 | 15 GM | 15 g | 15% |
| 3 | Rice, white, cooked, no added fatUSDA ingredient 56205008 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 40% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708992, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Bean, pea, legume dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 162 kcal | 164 kcal | −2 kcal |
| Protein | 7.5 g | 6.5 g | +1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23.5 g | 25.2 g | −1.7 g |
| Total fat | 4.2 g | 4.2 g | +0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 4.4 g | 3.7 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 263 mg | 231 mg | +32 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists Pinto beans with meat; Black beans with meat. Only the comparison record lists White beans, from dried, fat added. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rice, white, cooked, no added fat.
Listed only in this record: Pinto beans with meat; Black beans with meat.
Listed only in the comparison: White beans, from dried, fat added.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708992 with FDC 2708990 at equal mass; use their 170 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708992 versus FDC 2708990 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full bean, pea, legume dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Beans and rice, with meat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708992 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Beans and rice, with meat,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708992 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 162 kcal per 100 g becomes 275 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708992
FNDDS food code: 58160132
The scaling for FDC 2708992 can be exact while the match to “Beans and rice, with meat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.