Energy
middle half164 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 164 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 157–181 kcal
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 279 calories for 1 cup (170 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 170 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 170 g
279calories
Beans and white rice
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 279 calories for 1 cup at 170 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 164 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 11.1 g protein, 6.3 g fiber, and 393 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is white beans, from dried, fat added, representing 60% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708990: “Beans and white rice.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708990, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 127.5 g | 209 kcal | 8.3 g | 4.7 g | 295 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 279 kcal | 11.1 g | 6.3 g | 393 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 212.5 g | 349 kcal | 13.8 g | 7.9 g | 491 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 23 exact records in the Bean, pea, legume dishes USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708990’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half164 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter6.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half3.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half231 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 23 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708990’s 170 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron4 mg
≈ 24% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber6.3 g
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium393 mg
≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat1 g
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Beans and white rice,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708993 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 127.5–212.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 209 kcal and 349 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.6 g less dietary fiber than “Kidney beans and white rice.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; White beans, from dried, fat added supplies 60% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Beans and white rice” fits. Inspect FDC 2708993 when the exact wording “Kidney beans and white rice” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordBeans and white rice | 170 g279 kcal | 164 kcal | 6.5 g | 4.2 g | 3.7 g | 231 mg |
| Pinto beans and white rice | 170 g284 kcal | 167 kcal | 6.1 g | 4.4 g | 5.2 g | 228 mg |
| Black beans and white rice | 170 g272 kcal | 160 kcal | 6 g | 4.3 g | 5 g | 228 mg |
| Kidney beans and white rice | 170 g269 kcal | 158 kcal | 5.9 g | 4.3 g | 4.3 g | 229 mg |
| Beans and rice, with meat | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 7.5 g | 4.2 g | 4.4 g | 263 mg |
| Beans and brown rice | 170 g275 kcal | 162 kcal | 6.4 g | 4.5 g | 3.9 g | 213 mg |
| Beans and rice, with tomatoes | 170 g233 kcal | 137 kcal | 4.7 g | 3.5 g | 3.8 g | 309 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708990: its source amount is 170 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708990, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
279 kcal
170 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708990, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Iron
4.3 mg≈ 24% Daily ValueDietary fiber
6.3 g≈ 23% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708990’s 170 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708990 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 11.1 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708990 at 170 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 170 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 279 kcal 164 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 11.1 g 6.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 42.8 g 25.2 g | 16% 9% |
| Total fat | 7.2 g 4.2 g | 9% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 6.3 g 3.7 g | 22% 13% |
| Sugars | 0.4 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 392.7 mg 231 mg | 17% 10% |
| Saturated fat | 1 g 0.6 g | 5% 3% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.9 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 2.7 g 1.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 555.9 mg 327 mg | 12% 7% |
| Calcium | 91.8 mg 54 mg | 7% 4% |
| Iron | 4.3 mg 2.6 mg | 24% 14% |
| Magnesium | 68 mg 40 mg | 16% 10% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 106.1 g 62.4 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708990, approximate percentages divide the displayed 170 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708990 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Beans and white rice” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are White beans, from dried, fat added, Rice, white, cooked, no added fat. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | White beans, from dried, fat addedUSDA ingredient 41101110 | 60 GM | 60 g | 60% |
| 2 | Rice, white, cooked, no added fatUSDA ingredient 56205008 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 40% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708990, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Bean, pea, legume dishes” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 164 kcal | 158 kcal | +6 kcal |
| Protein | 6.5 g | 5.9 g | +0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 25.2 g | 23.9 g | +1.3 g |
| Total fat | 4.2 g | 4.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 3.7 g | 4.3 g | −0.6 g |
| Sodium | 231 mg | 229 mg | +2 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Only this record lists White beans, from dried, fat added. Only the comparison record lists Kidney beans, from dried, fat added. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Rice, white, cooked, no added fat.
Listed only in this record: White beans, from dried, fat added.
Listed only in the comparison: Kidney beans, from dried, fat added.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (170 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708990 with FDC 2708993 at equal mass; use their 170 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708990 versus FDC 2708993 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full bean, pea, legume dishes source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Beans and white rice,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708990 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 164 kcal per 100 g becomes 279 kcal at 170 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708990
FNDDS food code: 58160110
The scaling for FDC 2708990 can be exact while the match to “Beans and white rice” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 170 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.