Sandwiches, burgers & wrapshigher variability

Big Mac (McDonalds) calories: 535 per 1 McDonald's Big Mac (205 g)

This exact USDA record reports 535 calories for 1 McDonald's Big Mac (205 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 McDonald's Big Mac · 205 g

Calories
535 kcal
Protein
24.4 g
Carbohydrate
44.1 g
Total fat
28.9 g
Fiber
2.9 g
Sodium
994 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 McDonald's Big Mac · 205 g

535calories

Big Mac (McDonalds)

Protein
24.4 g
Carbs
44.1 g
Fat
28.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2706916

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 535 calories for 1 McDonald's Big Mac at 205 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 261 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 24.4 g protein, 2.9 g fiber, and 994 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 McDonald's Big Mac at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 352–822 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706916: “Big Mac (McDonalds).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2706916, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 MCDonald's Mac Jr” through “1 McDonald's Grand Mac” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 MCDonald's Mac JrUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 352 kcal 16.1 g 1.9 g 655 mg
1 McDonald's Big MacUSDA-listed household measure 205 g 535 kcal 24.4 g 2.9 g 994 mg
1 McDonald's Grand MacUSDA-listed household measure 315 g 822 kcal 37.5 g 4.4 g 1,528 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Burgers

The comparison set contains 47 exact records in the Burgers USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706916’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

261 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
288 kcal
Middle 50%
269–297 kcal

Based on 47 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

11.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
17.9 g
Middle 50%
16.2–19.2 g

Based on 47 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1 g
Middle 50%
0.6–1.4 g

Based on 47 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

485 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
409 mg
Middle 50%
353–444 mg

Based on 47 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2706916’s 205 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium260 mg

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron3 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat10.3 g

≈ 52% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium994 mg

≈ 43% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Big Mac (McDonalds),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706898 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 MCDonald's Mac Jr to 1 McDonald's Grand Mac

    USDA assigns those measures 135 g and 315 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 352 kcal to 822 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706898

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.8 g less protein than “Quarter Pounder (McDonalds).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Big Mac (McDonalds)” fits. Inspect FDC 2706898 when the exact wording “Quarter Pounder (McDonalds)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Big Mac (McDonalds)

Exact source wording
“Big Mac (McDonalds)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706916 · FNDDS 27510389
Source inputs unique in this pair
Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Quarter Pounder (McDonalds)

Exact source wording
“Quarter Pounder (McDonalds)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706898 · FNDDS 27510229
Source inputs unique in this pair
Fast foods, hamburger, large, single patty, with condiments

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBig Mac (McDonalds) 205 g535 kcal 261 kcal 11.9 g 14.1 g 1.4 g 485 mg
Quarter Pounder (McDonalds) 170 g435 kcal 256 kcal 15.7 g 11.6 g 1.1 g 374 mg
Double cheeseburger (McDonalds) 165 g465 kcal 282 kcal 16.2 g 16.2 g 0.9 g 617 mg
Quarter Pounder with cheese (McDonalds) 200 g538 kcal 269 kcal 15.2 g 14.4 g 1.2 g 591 mg

How to compare FDC 2706916: its source amount is 205 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2706916, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 MCDonald's Mac Jr

352 kcal

135 g

1 McDonald's Big Mac

535 kcal

205 g

1 McDonald's Grand Mac

822 kcal

315 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2706916, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

10.3 g≈ 52% Daily Value

Sodium

994.3 mg≈ 43% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2706916’s 205 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2706916 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 24.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2706916 at 205 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 2.9 g dietary fiber, about 10% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 994 mg sodium, about 43% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 205 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 535 kcal Not established
Protein 24.4 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 44.1 g 16%
Total fat 28.9 g 37%
Dietary fiber 2.9 g 10%
Sugars 6.7 g Not established
Sodium 994.3 mg 43%
Saturated fat 10.3 g 52%
Monounsaturated Fat 10.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 7.9 g Not established
Cholesterol 73.8 mg 25%
Potassium 373.1 mg 8%
Calcium 260.4 mg 20%
Iron 2.9 mg 16%
Magnesium 51.3 mg 12%
Vitamin C 0.6 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 55.4 µg 6%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 103.5 g Not established

For FDC 2706916, approximate percentages divide the displayed 205 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2706916 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Big Mac (McDonalds)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauceUSDA ingredient 21400 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2706916, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Burgers” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories261 kcal256 kcal+5 kcal
Protein11.9 g15.7 g−3.8 g
Carbohydrate21.5 g22.1 g−0.6 g
Total fat14.1 g11.6 g+2.5 g
Dietary fiber1.4 g1.1 g+0.3 g
Sodium485 mg374 mg+111 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.8 g less protein, 2.5 g more total fat, and 111 mg more sodium than “Quarter Pounder (McDonalds).”

Only this record lists Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce. Only the comparison record lists Fast foods, hamburger, large, single patty, with condiments. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Fast foods, cheeseburger; double, regular patty; double decker bun with condiments and special sauce.

Listed only in the comparison: Fast foods, hamburger, large, single patty, with condiments.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 205 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 McDonald's Big Mac (205 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 170 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cheeseburger (170 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706916 with FDC 2706898 at equal mass; use their 205 g and 170 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2706916 versus FDC 2706898 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full burgers source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, bread or wrapper size, fillings, sauces and cheese.

For “Big Mac (McDonalds),” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    bread or wrapper size

    Resolve bread or wrapper size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  3. 03

    fillings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    sauces and cheese

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2706916 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 261 kcal per 100 g becomes 535 kcal at 205 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 McDonald's Big Mac has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2706916

FNDDS food code: 27510389

The scaling for FDC 2706916 can be exact while the match to “Big Mac (McDonalds)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 205 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.