Breads & baked goodshigher variability

Bread, barley calories: 77 per 1 medium or regular slice (28 g)

This exact USDA record reports 77 calories for 1 medium or regular slice (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 medium or regular slice · 28 g

Calories
77 kcal
Protein
3 g
Carbohydrate
13.3 g
Total fat
1.3 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
126 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 medium or regular slice · 28 g

77calories

Bread, barley

Protein
3 g
Carbs
13.3 g
Fat
1.3 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707788

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 77 calories for 1 medium or regular slice at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 274 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 126 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is bread, wheat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium or regular slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 27–118 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707788: “Bread, barley.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707788, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 slice, snack-size” through “1 large or thick slice” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 slice, snack-sizeUSDA-listed household measure 10 g 27 kcal 1.1 g 0.4 g 45 mg
1 medium or regular sliceUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 77 kcal 3 g 1.1 g 126 mg
1 large or thick sliceUSDA-listed household measure 43 g 118 kcal 4.6 g 1.7 g 194 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Yeast breads

The comparison set contains 104 exact records in the Yeast breads USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707788’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

274 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
277 kcal
Middle 50%
262–299 kcal

Based on 104 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

10.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
9.8 g
Middle 50%
8.8–11.4 g

Based on 104 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
2.3–6.3 g

Based on 104 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

450 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
495 mg
Middle 50%
447–585 mg

Based on 104 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707788’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron1 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium126 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.2 g

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Bread, barley,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707789 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 slice, snack-size to 1 large or thick slice

    USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 43 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 27 kcal to 118 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707789

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 27 kcal less calories than “Bread, barley, toasted.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Bread, wheat

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “barley” fits. Inspect FDC 2707789 when “barley; toasted” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Bread, barley

Exact source wording
“Bread, barley”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707788 · FNDDS 51801010
Named qualifiers
barley
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, wheat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Bread, barley, toasted

Exact source wording
“Bread, barley, toasted”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707789 · FNDDS 51801020
Named qualifiers
barley · toasted
Source inputs unique in this pair
Bread, barley

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “barley”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordBread, barley 28 g77 kcal 274 kcal 10.7 g 4.5 g 4 g 450 mg
Bread, barley, toasted 25 g75 kcal 301 kcal 11.7 g 5 g 4.4 g 495 mg
Bread, pita 57 g157 kcal 275 kcal 9.1 g 1.2 g 2.2 g 536 mg
Bread, Cuban 20 g54 kcal 272 kcal 10.8 g 2.4 g 2.2 g 602 mg
Bread, raisin 28 g76 kcal 270 kcal 8.8 g 3.3 g 2.5 g 408 mg
Bread, oatmeal 28 g75 kcal 269 kcal 8.4 g 4.4 g 4 g 447 mg
Bread, white 28 g75 kcal 267 kcal 9.4 g 3.6 g 2.3 g 450 mg

How to compare FDC 2707788: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707788, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small or thin/very thin slice

66 kcal

24 g

1 medium or regular slice

77 kcal

28 g

1 large or thick slice

118 kcal

43 g

1 slice, crust not eaten

36 kcal

13 g

1 slice, snack-size

27 kcal

10 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707788, Iron is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Iron

1 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

Sodium

126 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707788’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707788 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 77 kcal Not established
Protein 3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 13.3 g 5%
Total fat 1.3 g 2%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 1.6 g Not established
Sodium 126 mg 5%
Saturated fat 0.2 g 1%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.5 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 39.5 mg 1%
Calcium 35 mg 3%
Iron 1 mg 6%
Magnesium 11.5 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0.1 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 9.9 g Not established

For FDC 2707788, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707788 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Bread, barley” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Bread, wheat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Bread, wheatUSDA ingredient 18064 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707788, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Yeast breads” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories274 kcal301 kcal−27 kcal
Protein10.7 g11.7 g−1 g
Carbohydrate47.5 g52.2 g−4.7 g
Total fat4.5 g5 g−0.5 g
Dietary fiber4 g4.4 g−0.4 g
Sodium450 mg495 mg−45 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 27 less calories than “Bread, barley, toasted.”

Only this record lists Bread, wheat. Only the comparison record lists Bread, barley. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Bread, wheat.

Listed only in the comparison: Bread, barley.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (28 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 25 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium or regular slice (25 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707788 with FDC 2707789 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 25 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707788 versus FDC 2707789 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full yeast breads source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with item size, recipe or brand, moisture and density, spreads or toppings.

For “Bread, barley,” resolve item size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    item size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    moisture and density

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    spreads or toppings

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707788 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 274 kcal per 100 g becomes 77 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium or regular slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707788

FNDDS food code: 51801010

The scaling for FDC 2707788 can be exact while the match to “Bread, barley” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.