Energy
middle half390 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 413 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 339–474 kcal
Based on 445 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 304 calories for 1 bar (78 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 bar · 78 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 bar · 78 g
304calories
Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy)
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 304 calories for 1 bar at 78 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 390 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13 g protein, 6 g fiber, and 250 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, granola bar, kashi golean, chewy, mixed flavors, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708088: “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708088, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 58.5 g | 228 kcal | 9.8 g | 4.5 g | 188 mg |
| 1 barUSDA-listed household measure | 78 g | 304 kcal | 13 g | 6 g | 250 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 97.5 g | 380 kcal | 16.3 g | 7.5 g | 313 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 445 exact records in Feast’s broader Snacks & desserts category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708088’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half390 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 445 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter16.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 445 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter7.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 445 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half321 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 445 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708088’s 78 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Magnesium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Magnesium250 mg
≈ 60% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber6 g
≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.5 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium250 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708089 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 58.5–97.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 228 kcal and 380 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 8 g less total fat than “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Crunchy).” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy)” fits. Inspect FDC 2708089 when the exact wording “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Crunchy)” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy) | 78 g304 kcal | 390 kcal | 16.7 g | 7.7 g | 7.7 g | 321 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Crunchy) | 35 g150 kcal | 429 kcal | 18.6 g | 15.7 g | 11.4 g | 293 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708088: its source amount is 78 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708088, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
304 kcal
78 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708088, Magnesium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Magnesium
250.4 mg≈ 60% Daily ValueDietary fiber
6 g≈ 22% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708088’s 78 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708088 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708088 at 78 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 78 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 304 kcal 390 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13 g 16.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 49.5 g 63.4 g | 18% 23% |
| Total fat | 6 g 7.7 g | 8% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 6 g 7.7 g | 21% 28% |
| Sugars | 33 g 42.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 250.4 mg 321 mg | 11% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 2.5 g 3.2 g | 13% 16% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2 g 2.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 4.7 mg 6 mg | 2% 2% |
| Potassium | 334.6 mg 429 mg | 7% 9% |
| Calcium | 80.3 mg 103 mg | 6% 8% |
| Iron | 1.3 mg 1.6 mg | 7% 9% |
| Magnesium | 250.4 mg 321 mg | 60% 76% |
| Vitamin C | 0.3 mg 0.4 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.2 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 13.3 µg 17 µg | 1% 2% |
| Caffeine | 2.3 mg 3 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 7.2 g 9.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708088, approximate percentages divide the displayed 78 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708088 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy)” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, granola bar, KASHI GOLEAN, chewy, mixed flavors is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, granola bar, KASHI GOLEAN, chewy, mixed flavorsUSDA ingredient 25032 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708088, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Nutrition bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 390 kcal | 429 kcal | −39 kcal |
| Protein | 16.7 g | 18.6 g | −1.9 g |
| Carbohydrate | 63.4 g | 53.3 g | +10.1 g |
| Total fat | 7.7 g | 15.7 g | −8 g |
| Dietary fiber | 7.7 g | 11.4 g | −3.7 g |
| Sodium | 321 mg | 293 mg | +28 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 39 less calories, 1.9 g less protein, and 10.1 g more carbohydrate than “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Crunchy).”
Only this record lists Snacks, granola bar, KASHI GOLEAN, chewy, mixed flavors. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, granola bar, KASHI TLC Bar, chewy, mixed flavors. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Snacks, granola bar, KASHI GOLEAN, chewy, mixed flavors.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, granola bar, KASHI TLC Bar, chewy, mixed flavors.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 78 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (78 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 35 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (35 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708088 with FDC 2708089 at equal mass; use their 78 g and 35 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708088 versus FDC 2708089 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy),” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708088 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 390 kcal per 100 g becomes 304 kcal at 78 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708088
FNDDS food code: 53710800
The scaling for FDC 2708088 can be exact while the match to “Cereal or granola bar (Kashi Chewy)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 78 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.