Energy
middle half417 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 416 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 389–473 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 117 calories for 1 bar (28 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 bar · 28 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 bar · 28 g
117calories
Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 117 calories for 1 bar at 28 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 417 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 1 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 98 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is snacks, kellogg, kellogg's rice krispies treats squares, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708113: “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708113, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 21 g | 88 kcal | 0.7 g | 0 g | 74 mg |
| 1 barUSDA-listed household measure | 28 g | 117 kcal | 1 g | 0 g | 98 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 35 g | 146 kcal | 1.2 g | 0 g | 123 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Cereal bars USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708113’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half417 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter351 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708113’s 28 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A75.6 µg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium98 mg
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.4 g
≈ 2% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708103 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 21–35 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 88 kcal and 146 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 7.4 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal or granola bar, nonfat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “with rice cereal” fits. Inspect FDC 2708103 when “nonfat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with rice cereal”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordCereal or granola bar, with rice cereal | 28 g117 kcal | 417 kcal | 3.4 g | 9 g | 0 g | 351 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, nonfat | 43 g147 kcal | 342 kcal | 5.9 g | 0.9 g | 7.4 g | 16 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy Granola Bar) | 24 g100 kcal | 418 kcal | 5.7 g | 16.6 g | 3.8 g | 291 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Kellogg's Special K bar) | 23 g94 kcal | 409 kcal | 9.1 g | 9.1 g | 1.8 g | 428 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Granola Bites) | 20 g90 kcal | 451 kcal | 7.2 g | 17.5 g | 5.7 g | 167 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy 90 Calorie Granola Bar) | 24 g98 kcal | 408 kcal | 4.2 g | 8.3 g | 4.2 g | 313 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, fruit and nut | 40 g201 kcal | 502 kcal | 13.9 g | 32.3 g | 5.8 g | 45 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708113: its source amount is 28 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708113, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
117 kcal
28 g
117 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708113, Vitamin A is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin A
75.6 µg≈ 8% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
22.5 g≈ 8% Daily ValueSodium
98.3 mg≈ 4% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708113’s 28 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 28 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 117 kcal 417 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 1 g 3.4 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 22.5 g 80.5 g | 8% 29% |
| Total fat | 2.5 g 9 g | 3% 12% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 5.4 g 19.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 98.3 mg 351 mg | 4% 15% |
| Saturated fat | 0.4 g 1.4 g | 2% 7% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 2.5 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 5.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 10.9 mg 39 mg | 0% 1% |
| Calcium | 0.8 mg 3 mg | 0% 0% |
| Iron | 0.6 mg 2.2 mg | 3% 12% |
| Magnesium | 3.6 mg 13 mg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 75.6 µg 270 µg | 8% 30% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 1.7 g 5.9 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708113, approximate percentages divide the displayed 28 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708113 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Snacks, KELLOGG, KELLOGG'S RICE KRISPIES TREATS Squares is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Snacks, KELLOGG, KELLOGG'S RICE KRISPIES TREATS SquaresUSDA ingredient 19438 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708113, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cereal bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 417 kcal | 342 kcal | +75 kcal |
| Protein | 3.4 g | 5.9 g | −2.5 g |
| Carbohydrate | 80.5 g | 77.6 g | +2.9 g |
| Total fat | 9 g | 0.9 g | +8.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 7.4 g | −7.4 g |
| Sodium | 351 mg | 16 mg | +335 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 75 more calories, 2.5 g less protein, and 8.1 g more total fat than “Cereal or granola bar, nonfat.”
Only this record lists Snacks, KELLOGG, KELLOGG'S RICE KRISPIES TREATS Squares. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, granola bar, fruit-filled, nonfat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Snacks, KELLOGG, KELLOGG'S RICE KRISPIES TREATS Squares.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, granola bar, fruit-filled, nonfat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 28 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (28 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 43 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (43 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708113 with FDC 2708103 at equal mass; use their 28 g and 43 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708113 versus FDC 2708103 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cereal bars source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2708113 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708113 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708113 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 417 kcal per 100 g becomes 117 kcal at 28 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708113
FNDDS food code: 53714400
The scaling for FDC 2708113 can be exact while the match to “Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 28 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.