Breakfast foodsmoderate variability

Cereal, other, fruit flavored calories: 153 per 1 cup (40 g)

This exact USDA record reports 153 calories for 1 cup (40 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 40 g

Calories
153 kcal
Protein
1.9 g
Carbohydrate
33 g
Total fat
1.4 g
Fiber
1.2 g
Sodium
209 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 40 g

153calories

Cereal, other, fruit flavored

Protein
1.9 g
Carbs
33 g
Fat
1.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708483

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 153 calories for 1 cup at 40 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 383 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.9 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 209 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cereal, fruit rings, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 115–153 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708483: “Cereal, other, fruit flavored.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708483, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 prepackaged single serving” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 prepackaged single servingUSDA-listed household measure 30 g 115 kcal 1.4 g 0.9 g 157 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 40 g 153 kcal 1.9 g 1.2 g 209 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 50 g 192 kcal 2.4 g 1.5 g 262 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)

The comparison set contains 20 exact records in the Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708483’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

383 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
384 kcal
Middle 50%
379–388 kcal

Based on 20 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

4.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.6 g
Middle 50%
5.1–8 g

Based on 20 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

2.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5 g
Middle 50%
2.7–6.4 g

Based on 20 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

523 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
524 mg
Middle 50%
471–580 mg

Based on 20 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708483’s 40 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C9 mg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium209 mg

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.2 g

≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cereal, other, fruit flavored,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708459 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 prepackaged single serving to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 30 g and 40 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 115 kcal to 153 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708459

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.5 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, fruit rings.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cereal, fruit rings

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Cereal, fruit rings supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “other; fruit flavored” fits. Inspect FDC 2708459 when “fruit rings” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cereal, other, fruit flavored

Exact source wording
“Cereal, other, fruit flavored”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708483 · FNDDS 57420120
Named qualifiers
other · fruit flavored
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cereal, fruit rings · Cereal, fruit crispy

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cereal, fruit rings

Exact source wording
“Cereal, fruit rings”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708459 · FNDDS 57221700
Named qualifiers
fruit rings
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow · Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached · Sugars, granulated

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “other” and “fruit flavored”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCereal, other, fruit flavored 40 g153 kcal 383 kcal 4.7 g 3.6 g 2.9 g 523 mg
Cereal, O's, flavored 40 g154 kcal 385 kcal 8.6 g 5.4 g 7.6 g 580 mg
Cereal, K's, flavored 35 g127 kcal 363 kcal 7.3 g 1.2 g 8 g 617 mg
Cereal, fruit rings 30 g115 kcal 383 kcal 5.1 g 3.2 g 5.4 g 504 mg
Cereal, fruit crispy 35 g134 kcal 384 kcal 4.3 g 3.9 g 0.3 g 542 mg
Cereal, other, chocolate 40 g154 kcal 384 kcal 5.4 g 4.6 g 3.2 g 486 mg
Cereal, flavored puffs 30 g114 kcal 380 kcal 5.7 g 2.2 g 2.2 g 424 mg

How to compare FDC 2708483: its source amount is 40 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708483, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

153 kcal

40 g

1 prepackaged single serving

115 kcal

30 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708483, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

33 g≈ 12% Daily Value

Iron

2 mg≈ 11% Daily Value

Vitamin C

9.2 mg≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708483’s 40 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 40 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 153 kcal Not established
Protein 1.9 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 33 g 12%
Total fat 1.4 g 2%
Dietary fiber 1.2 g 4%
Sugars 13.1 g Not established
Sodium 209.2 mg 9%
Saturated fat 0.2 g 1%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.4 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 28.4 mg 1%
Calcium 2 mg 0%
Iron 2 mg 11%
Magnesium 7.2 mg 2%
Vitamin C 9.2 mg 10%
Vitamin D 2 µg 10%
Vitamin A 1.2 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 2.9 g Not established

For FDC 2708483, approximate percentages divide the displayed 40 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708483 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cereal, other, fruit flavored” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cereal, fruit rings, Cereal, fruit crispy. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cereal, fruit ringsUSDA ingredient 57221700 50 GM 50 g 50%
2 Cereal, fruit crispyUSDA ingredient 57223000 50 GM 50 g 50%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708483, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g)” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories383 kcal383 kcalSame listed value
Protein4.7 g5.1 g−0.4 g
Carbohydrate82.6 g82.2 g+0.4 g
Total fat3.6 g3.2 g+0.3 g
Dietary fiber2.9 g5.4 g−2.5 g
Sodium523 mg504 mg+19 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 2.5 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal, fruit rings.”

Only this record lists Cereal, fruit rings; Cereal, fruit crispy. Only the comparison record lists Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cereal, fruit rings; Cereal, fruit crispy.

Listed only in the comparison: Cornmeal, degermed, unenriched, yellow; Flour, wheat, all-purpose, unenriched, unbleached; Sugars, granulated; Salt, table; and 7 more.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (40 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 30 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (30 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708483 with FDC 2708459 at equal mass; use their 40 g and 30 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708483 versus FDC 2708459 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ready-to-eat cereal, higher sugar (>21.2g/100g) source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, recipe or brand, cooking fat, toppings and add-ins.

For “Cereal, other, fruit flavored,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    cooking fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    toppings and add-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708483 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 383 kcal per 100 g becomes 153 kcal at 40 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708483

FNDDS food code: 57420120

The scaling for FDC 2708483 can be exact while the match to “Cereal, other, fruit flavored” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 40 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.