Dairymoderate variability

Cheese, American calories: 71 per 1 slice (21 g)

This exact USDA record reports 71 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 slice · 21 g

Calories
71 kcal
Protein
3.5 g
Carbohydrate
1.5 g
Total fat
5.7 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
300 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g

71calories

Cheese, American

Protein
3.5 g
Carbs
1.5 g
Fat
5.7 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705764

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 71 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 340 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.5 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 300 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, american, singles, representing 25% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 4 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 31–830 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705764: “Cheese, American.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705764, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 cup, melted” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure 9 g 31 kcal 1.5 g 0 g 129 mg
1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure 21 g 71 kcal 3.5 g 0 g 300 mg
1 cup, meltedUSDA-listed household measure 244 g 830 kcal 41 g 0 g 3,489 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cheese

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705764’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

340 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
334 kcal
Middle 50%
290–374 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

16.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.3 g
Middle 50%
20–27 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

1,430 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
743 mg
Middle 50%
626–1,100 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705764’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium223 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin D1.4 µg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat3.3 g

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium300 mg

≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cheese, American,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705763 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cracker-size slice to 1 cup, melted

    USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 244 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 31 kcal to 830 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705763

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Cheese, American and Swiss blends.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles

    The source formulation has 4 input rows; Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles supplies 25% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “American” fits. Inspect FDC 2705763 when “American and Swiss blends” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cheese, American

Exact source wording
“Cheese, American”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705764 · FNDDS 14410110
Named qualifiers
American
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles · Cheese, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified · Cheese, American, restaurant

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cheese, American and Swiss blends

Exact source wording
“Cheese, American and Swiss blends”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705763 · FNDDS 14410100
Named qualifiers
American and Swiss blends
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, American

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “American”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCheese, American 21 g71 kcal 340 kcal 16.8 g 27.2 g 0 g 1,430 mg
Cheese, American and Swiss blends 21 g71 kcal 340 kcal 16.8 g 27.2 g 0 g 1,430 mg
Cheese, American, reduced sodium 21 g79 kcal 376 kcal 22.2 g 31.2 g 0 g 7 mg
Cheese, American, reduced fat 21 g50 kcal 240 kcal 17.6 g 14.1 g 0 g 1,200 mg
Cheese spread, American or Cheddar cheese base 21 g61 kcal 290 kcal 16.4 g 21.2 g 0 g 1,620 mg
Cheese, Brie 21 g70 kcal 334 kcal 20.8 g 27.7 g 0 g 629 mg
Cheese, Limburger 21 g69 kcal 327 kcal 20 g 27.2 g 0 g 800 mg

How to compare FDC 2705764: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705764, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cracker-size slice

31 kcal

9 g

1 slice

71 kcal

21 g

1 stick

97 kcal

28 g

1 cup, shredded

384 kcal

113 g

1 cup, diced

476 kcal

140 g

1 cup, melted

830 kcal

244 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705764, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Calcium

222.6 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

Saturated fat

3.3 g≈ 16% Daily Value

Sodium

300.3 mg≈ 13% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705764’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705764 at 21 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 300 mg sodium, about 13% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 71 kcal Not established
Protein 3.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 1.5 g 1%
Total fat 5.7 g 7%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 1 g Not established
Sodium 300.3 mg 13%
Saturated fat 3.3 g 16%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 18.3 mg 6%
Potassium 43.5 mg 1%
Calcium 222.6 mg 17%
Iron 0.2 mg 1%
Magnesium 6.3 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 1.4 µg 7%
Vitamin A 55 µg 6%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 8.9 g Not established

For FDC 2705764, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705764 to 4 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, American” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

4 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles, Cheese, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified, Cheese, American, restaurant. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singlesUSDA ingredient 100297 25 GM 25 g 25%
2 Cheese, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortifiedUSDA ingredient 1042 25 GM 25 g 25%
3 Cheese, American, restaurantUSDA ingredient 1062 25 GM 25 g 25%
4 Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortifiedUSDA ingredient 1252 25 GM 25 g 25%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705764, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories340 kcal340 kcalSame listed value
Protein16.8 g16.8 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate7.2 g7.2 gSame listed value
Total fat27.2 g27.2 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium1,430 mg1,430 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles; Cheese, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified; Cheese, American, restaurant; Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, American. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cheese, pasteurized process cheese food or product, American, singles; Cheese, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified; Cheese, American, restaurant; Cheese product, pasteurized process, American, vitamin D fortified.

Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, American.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705764 with FDC 2705763 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705764 versus FDC 2705763 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705764 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Cheese, American,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705764 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 340 kcal per 100 g becomes 71 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705764

FNDDS food code: 14410110

The scaling for FDC 2705764 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, American” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 4-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.