Dairymoderate variability

Cheese, Monterey calories: 82 per 1 slice (21 g)

This exact USDA record reports 82 calories for 1 slice (21 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 slice · 21 g

Calories
82 kcal
Protein
4.7 g
Carbohydrate
0.4 g
Total fat
6.8 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
139 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 slice · 21 g

82calories

Cheese, Monterey

Protein
4.7 g
Carbs
0.4 g
Fat
6.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705720

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 82 calories for 1 slice at 21 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 392 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 4.7 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 139 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is cheese, monterey jack, solid, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 slice at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 35–956 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705720: “Cheese, Monterey.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705720, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cracker-size slice” through “1 cup, melted” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cracker-size sliceUSDA-listed household measure 9 g 35 kcal 2 g 0 g 60 mg
1 sliceUSDA-listed household measure 21 g 82 kcal 4.7 g 0 g 139 mg
1 cup, meltedUSDA-listed household measure 244 g 956 kcal 55.1 g 0 g 1,615 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Cheese

The comparison set contains 41 exact records in the Cheese USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705720’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

392 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
334 kcal
Middle 50%
290–374 kcal

Based on 41 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

22.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
23.3 g
Middle 50%
20–27 g

Based on 41 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 41 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

662 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
743 mg
Middle 50%
626–1,100 mg

Based on 41 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705720’s 21 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium150 mg

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4 g

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium139 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Cheese, Monterey,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705721 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 cracker-size slice to 1 cup, melted

    USDA assigns those measures 9 g and 244 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 35 kcal to 956 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705721

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 11 g more total fat than “Cheese, Monterey, reduced fat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Cheese, monterey jack, solid

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “Monterey” fits. Inspect FDC 2705721 when “Monterey; reduced fat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Cheese, Monterey

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Monterey”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705720 · FNDDS 14106200
Named qualifiers
Monterey
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, monterey jack, solid

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Cheese, Monterey, reduced fat

Exact source wording
“Cheese, Monterey, reduced fat”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705721 · FNDDS 14106500
Named qualifiers
Monterey · reduced fat
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cheese, monterey, low fat

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “Monterey”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordCheese, Monterey 21 g82 kcal 392 kcal 22.6 g 32.6 g 0 g 662 mg
Cheese, Monterey, reduced fat 21 g66 kcal 313 kcal 28.2 g 21.6 g 0 g 781 mg
Cheese, Swiss 21 g83 kcal 393 kcal 27 g 31 g 0 g 185 mg
Cheese, Colby 21 g83 kcal 394 kcal 23.8 g 32.1 g 0 g 604 mg
Cheese, Fontina 21 g82 kcal 389 kcal 25.6 g 31.1 g 0 g 800 mg
Cheese, Cheddar 21 g86 kcal 409 kcal 23.3 g 34 g 0 g 654 mg
Cheese, Brick 21 g78 kcal 371 kcal 23.2 g 29.7 g 0 g 560 mg

How to compare FDC 2705720: its source amount is 21 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705720, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cracker-size slice

35 kcal

9 g

1 slice

82 kcal

21 g

1 cup, shredded

443 kcal

113 g

1 cup, diced

517 kcal

132 g

1 cup, NFS

443 kcal

113 g

1 cup, melted

956 kcal

244 g

A source measure below uses USDA shorthand; the full glossary appears with the source formulation.

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705720, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

4 g≈ 20% Daily Value

Calcium

150.2 mg≈ 12% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705720’s 21 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705720 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 4.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 21 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 82 kcal Not established
Protein 4.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 0.4 g 0%
Total fat 6.8 g 9%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 139 mg 6%
Saturated fat 4 g 20%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 21 mg 7%
Potassium 17.4 mg 0%
Calcium 150.2 mg 12%
Iron 0 mg 0%
Magnesium 6.3 mg 2%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 40.3 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 8.2 g Not established

For FDC 2705720, approximate percentages divide the displayed 21 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705720 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Cheese, Monterey” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Cheese, monterey jack, solid is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Cheese, monterey jack, solidUSDA ingredient 100296 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

USDA shorthand in this evidence
  • NFS means “not further specified.” The record intentionally leaves the exact subtype, size, or preparation unresolved.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705720, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories392 kcal313 kcal+79 kcal
Protein22.6 g28.2 g−5.6 g
Carbohydrate1.9 g0.7 g+1.2 g
Total fat32.6 g21.6 g+11 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium662 mg781 mg−119 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 79 more calories, 5.6 g less protein, and 11 g more total fat than “Cheese, Monterey, reduced fat.”

Only this record lists Cheese, monterey jack, solid. Only the comparison record lists Cheese, monterey, low fat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Cheese, monterey jack, solid.

Listed only in the comparison: Cheese, monterey, low fat.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 21 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 slice (21 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705720 with FDC 2705721 at equal mass; use their 21 g and 21 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705720 versus FDC 2705721 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705720 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Cheese, Monterey,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705720 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 392 kcal per 100 g becomes 82 kcal at 21 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 slice has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705720

FNDDS food code: 14106200

The scaling for FDC 2705720 can be exact while the match to “Cheese, Monterey” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 21 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.