Energy
lower quarter172 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 86 calories for 1 medium drumstick (50 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked
Quick facts
1 medium drumstick · 50 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium drumstick · 50 g
86calories
Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 86 calories for 1 medium drumstick at 50 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 172 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 13.9 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 202 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broiler, rotisserie, bbq, drumstick, meat only, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium drumstick at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 49–232 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706005: “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706005, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 cup, cooked, diced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 49 kcal | 7.9 g | 0 g | 114 mg |
| 1 medium drumstickUSDA-listed household measure | 50 g | 86 kcal | 13.9 g | 0 g | 202 mg |
| 1 cup, cooked, dicedUSDA-listed household measure | 135 g | 232 kcal | 37.4 g | 0 g | 544 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2706005’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter172 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter27.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half403 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706005’s 50 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Sodium202 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706004 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 49 kcal to 232 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 4.7 g less total fat than “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from pre-cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “baked or broiled; skin not eaten; from pre-cooked” fits. Inspect FDC 2706004 when “baked or broiled; skin eaten; from pre-cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “baked or broiled”, “skin not eaten”, and “from pre-cooked”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked | 50 g86 kcal | 172 kcal | 27.7 g | 6.8 g | 0 g | 403 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from pre-cooked | 60 g124 kcal | 206 kcal | 25.6 g | 11.5 g | 0 g | 392 mg |
| Chicken breast, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from pre-cooked | 130 g228 kcal | 175 kcal | 26.4 g | 7.7 g | 0 g | 329 mg |
| Chicken thigh, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked | 70 g135 kcal | 193 kcal | 24.1 g | 10.7 g | 0 g | 335 mg |
| Chicken breast, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked | 120 g173 kcal | 144 kcal | 28 g | 3.6 g | 0 g | 328 mg |
| Chicken thigh, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from pre-cooked | 80 g181 kcal | 226 kcal | 22.5 g | 15.1 g | 0 g | 335 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, baked or broiled, skin not eaten | 120 g202 kcal | 168 kcal | 24.4 g | 7.1 g | 0 g | 345 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706005: its source amount is 50 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706005, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
232 kcal
135 g
69 kcal
40 g
86 kcal
50 g
112 kcal
65 g
49 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706005, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
77.5 mg≈ 26% Daily ValueSodium
201.5 mg≈ 9% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706005’s 50 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706005 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 50 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 86 kcal 172 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 13.9 g 27.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 3.4 g 6.8 g | 4% 9% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 201.5 mg 403 mg | 9% 18% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 1.6 g | 4% 8% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.4 g 2.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 77.5 mg 155 mg | 26% 52% |
| Potassium | 145.5 mg 291 mg | 3% 6% |
| Calcium | 10 mg 20 mg | 1% 2% |
| Iron | 0.5 mg 1.1 mg | 3% 6% |
| Magnesium | 11.5 mg 23 mg | 3% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 5 µg 10 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 32.1 g 64.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706005, approximate percentages divide the displayed 50 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706005 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat only is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat onlyUSDA ingredient 5319 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706005, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 172 kcal | 206 kcal | −34 kcal |
| Protein | 27.7 g | 25.6 g | +2.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0.1 g | −0.1 g |
| Total fat | 6.8 g | 11.5 g | −4.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 403 mg | 392 mg | +11 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 34 less calories and 4.7 g less total fat than “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin eaten, from pre-cooked.”
Only this record lists Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat only. Only the comparison record lists Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat and skin. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat only.
Listed only in the comparison: Chicken, broiler, rotisserie, BBQ, drumstick, meat and skin.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 50 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium drumstick (50 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 60 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium drumstick (60 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706005 with FDC 2706004 at equal mass; use their 50 g and 60 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706005 versus FDC 2706004 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2706005 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706005 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706005 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 172 kcal per 100 g becomes 86 kcal at 50 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium drumstick has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706005
FNDDS food code: 24142311
The scaling for FDC 2706005 can be exact while the match to “Chicken drumstick, baked or broiled, skin not eaten, from pre-cooked” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 50 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.