Energy
lower quarter164 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 206 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 183–250 kcal
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 213 calories for 1 medium leg (130 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Exact USDA description: Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten
Quick facts
1 medium leg · 130 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 medium leg · 130 g
213calories
Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 213 calories for 1 medium leg at 130 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 164 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 31.3 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 519 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braised, representing 59.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 medium leg at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 47–279 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705989: “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705989, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 oz, cooked” through “1 large leg” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 oz, cookedUSDA-listed household measure | 28.4 g | 47 kcal | 6.8 g | 0 g | 113 mg |
| 1 medium legUSDA-listed household measure | 130 g | 213 kcal | 31.3 g | 0 g | 519 mg |
| 1 large legUSDA-listed household measure | 170 g | 279 kcal | 41 g | 0 g | 678 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 125 exact records in the Chicken, whole pieces USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705989’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter164 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half24.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half399 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 125 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705989’s 130 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron1 mg
≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Magnesium31 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium519 mg
≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.6 g
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705988 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 28.4 g and 170 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 47 kcal to 279 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 5.9 g less total fat than “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin eaten.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braised supplies 59.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “drumstick and thigh; stewed; skin not eaten” fits. Inspect FDC 2705988 when “drumstick and thigh; stewed; skin eaten” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “drumstick and thigh”, “stewed”, and “skin not eaten”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten | 130 g213 kcal | 164 kcal | 24.1 g | 7.5 g | 0 g | 399 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin eaten | 155 g327 kcal | 211 kcal | 22.4 g | 13.4 g | 0 g | 396 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, sauteed, skin not eaten | 120 g220 kcal | 183 kcal | 23.9 g | 9 g | 0 g | 419 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, rotisserie, skin not eaten | 120 g222 kcal | 185 kcal | 25.5 g | 9.2 g | 0 g | 362 mg |
| Chicken thigh, stewed, skin not eaten | 80 g140 kcal | 175 kcal | 24.4 g | 8.6 g | 0 g | 384 mg |
| Chicken drumstick, stewed, skin not eaten | 55 g81 kcal | 148 kcal | 23.7 g | 5.9 g | 0 g | 423 mg |
| Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, rotisserie, skin eaten | 140 g305 kcal | 218 kcal | 23.8 g | 13.6 g | 0 g | 358 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705989: its source amount is 130 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705989, the 6 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
221 kcal
135 g
180 kcal
110 g
213 kcal
130 g
279 kcal
170 g
213 kcal
130 g
47 kcal
28 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705989, Cholesterol is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Cholesterol
174.2 mg≈ 58% Daily ValueSodium
518.7 mg≈ 23% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705989’s 130 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705989 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 31.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705989 at 130 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 130 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 213 kcal 164 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 31.3 g 24.1 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Total fat | 9.8 g 7.5 g | 13% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 518.7 mg 399 mg | 23% 17% |
| Saturated fat | 2.6 g 2 g | 13% 10% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.9 g 3 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 174.2 mg 134 mg | 58% 45% |
| Potassium | 328.9 mg 253 mg | 7% 5% |
| Calcium | 15.6 mg 12 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 1.5 mg 1.1 mg | 8% 6% |
| Magnesium | 31.2 mg 24 mg | 7% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.2 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 10.4 µg 8 µg | 1% 1% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 87.8 g 67.5 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705989, approximate percentages divide the displayed 130 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705989 to 3 source inputs totaling 100.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braised, Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat only, cooked, braised, Salt, table. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat only, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 5671 | 40 GM | 40 g | 39.7% |
| 2 | Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braisedUSDA ingredient 5672 | 60 GM | 60 g | 59.5% |
| 3 | Salt, tableUSDA ingredient 2047 · encyclopedia page available | 0.8 GM | 0.8 g | 0.8% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705989, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Chicken, whole pieces” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 164 kcal | 211 kcal | −47 kcal |
| Protein | 24.1 g | 22.4 g | +1.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 7.5 g | 13.4 g | −5.9 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 399 mg | 396 mg | +3 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 47 less calories and 5.9 g less total fat than “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin eaten.”
Only this record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat only, cooked, braised; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braised. Only the comparison record lists Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, braised; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, braised. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Salt, table.
Listed only in this record: Chicken, broilers or fryers, drumstick, meat only, cooked, braised; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat only, cooked, braised.
Listed only in the comparison: Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, drumstick, meat and skin, cooked, braised; Chicken, broilers or fryers, dark meat, thigh, meat and skin, cooked, braised.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 130 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium leg (130 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 155 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 medium leg (155 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705989 with FDC 2705988 at equal mass; use their 130 g and 155 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705989 versus FDC 2705988 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full chicken, whole pieces source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705989 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705989 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 164 kcal per 100 g becomes 213 kcal at 130 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 medium leg has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705989
FNDDS food code: 24133220
The scaling for FDC 2705989 can be exact while the match to “Chicken leg, drumstick and thigh, stewed, skin not eaten” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 130 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.