Energy
lower quarter49 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 101 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 69–280 kcal
Based on 137 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 122 calories for 1 cup (248 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 248 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 248 g
122calories
Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim)
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 122 calories for 1 cup at 248 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 49 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.9 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 119 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, nonfat, fluid, with added vitamin a and vitamin d (fat free or skim), representing 87.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 15–122 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705482: “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705482, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure | 31 g | 15 kcal | 1 g | 0 g | 15 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 186 g | 91 kcal | 5.9 g | 0 g | 89 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 248 g | 122 kcal | 7.9 g | 0 g | 119 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 137 exact records in Feast’s broader Dairy category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705482’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter49 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 137 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 137 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 137 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half48 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 137 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705482’s 248 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium290 mg
≈ 22% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A138.9 µg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium119 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.1 g
≈ 1% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705493 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 31 g and 248 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 15 kcal to 122 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.1 g less total fat than “Hot chocolate / cocoa, reduced sugar, made with lowfat (1%) or fat free (skim) milk.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Milk, nonfat, fluid, with added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim) supplies 87.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “reduced sugar; fat free (skim)” fits. Inspect FDC 2705493 when “reduced sugar; made with lowfat (1%) or fat free (skim) milk” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced sugar” and “fat free (skim)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordChocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim) | 248 g122 kcal | 49 kcal | 3.2 g | 0.2 g | 0 g | 48 mg |
| Chocolate milk, fat free (skim) | 248 g166 kcal | 67 kcal | 3.4 g | 0 g | 0 g | 79 mg |
| Hot chocolate / cocoa, reduced sugar, made with lowfat (1%) or fat free (skim) milk | 248 g139 kcal | 56 kcal | 3.1 g | 0.3 g | 0 g | 52 mg |
| Strawberry milk, fat free (skim) | 248 g151 kcal | 61 kcal | 3.2 g | 0.1 g | 0 g | 41 mg |
| Hot chocolate / cocoa, made with lowfat (1%) or fat free (skim) milk | 248 g193 kcal | 78 kcal | 2.8 g | 0.1 g | 0 g | 61 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705482: its source amount is 248 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705482, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
122 kcal
248 g
15 kcal
31 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705482, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Calcium
290.2 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueVitamin A
138.9 µg≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705482’s 248 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2705482 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 248 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 122 kcal 49 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.9 g 3.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 21.4 g 8.6 g | 8% 3% |
| Total fat | 0.5 g 0.2 g | 1% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 19.8 g 8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 119 mg 48 mg | 5% 2% |
| Saturated fat | 0.1 g 0 g | 1% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 7.4 mg 3 mg | 2% 1% |
| Potassium | 421.6 mg 170 mg | 9% 4% |
| Calcium | 290.2 mg 117 mg | 22% 9% |
| Iron | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Magnesium | 37.2 mg 15 mg | 9% 4% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 2.5 µg 1 µg | 12% 5% |
| Vitamin A | 138.9 µg 56 µg | 15% 6% |
| Caffeine | 2.5 mg 1 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 216.3 g 87.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705482, approximate percentages divide the displayed 248 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705482 to 2 source inputs totaling 279 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim)” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, nonfat, fluid, with added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim), Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite Syrup. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
279 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Milk, nonfat, fluid, with added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim)USDA ingredient 1085 · encyclopedia page available | 8 | 244 g | 87.5% |
| 2 | Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite SyrupUSDA ingredient 19345 · encyclopedia page available | 35 GM | 35 g | 12.5% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705482, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Flavored milk, nonfat” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 49 kcal | 56 kcal | −7 kcal |
| Protein | 3.2 g | 3.1 g | +0.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 8.6 g | 10.4 g | −1.8 g |
| Total fat | 0.2 g | 0.3 g | −0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 48 mg | 52 mg | −4 mg |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Milk, nonfat, fluid, with added vitamin A and vitamin D (fat free or skim); Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite Syrup.
The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 248 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (248 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 248 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (248 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705482 with FDC 2705493 at equal mass; use their 248 g and 248 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705482 versus FDC 2705493 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim)” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705482 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.
For “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim),” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705482 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 49 kcal per 100 g becomes 122 kcal at 248 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705482
FNDDS food code: 11513804
The scaling for FDC 2705482 can be exact while the match to “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, fat free (skim)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 248 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.