Dairymoderate variability

Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%) calories: 156 per 1 cup (248 g)

This exact USDA record reports 156 calories for 1 cup (248 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 248 g

Calories
156 kcal
Protein
7.7 g
Carbohydrate
21.4 g
Total fat
4.4 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
117 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 248 g

156calories

Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)

Protein
7.7 g
Carbs
21.4 g
Fat
4.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705480

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 156 calories for 1 cup at 248 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 63 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 7.7 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 117 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin a and vitamin d, representing 87.5% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 20–156 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705480: “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705480, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 31 g 20 kcal 1 g 0 g 15 mg
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 186 g 117 kcal 5.8 g 0 g 87 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 248 g 156 kcal 7.7 g 0 g 117 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Dairy

The comparison set contains 137 exact records in Feast’s broader Dairy category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705480’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

63 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
101 kcal
Middle 50%
69–280 kcal

Based on 137 records reporting energy.

Protein

lower quarter

3.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
3.1–16.8 g

Based on 137 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0.1 g

Based on 137 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

47 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
60 mg
Middle 50%
41–604 mg

Based on 137 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705480’s 248 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Calcium278 mg

≈ 21% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A181 µg

≈ 20% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat2.4 g

≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium117 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705491 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 31 g and 248 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 20 kcal to 156 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705491

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 1.8 g less carbohydrate than “Hot chocolate / cocoa, reduced sugar, made with whole or reduced fat (2%) milk.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D supplies 87.5% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “reduced sugar; reduced fat (2%)” fits. Inspect FDC 2705491 when “reduced sugar; made with whole or reduced fat (2%) milk” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)

Exact source wording
“Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705480 · FNDDS 11513802
Named qualifiers
reduced sugar · reduced fat (2%)

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced sugar” and “reduced fat (2%)”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordChocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%) 248 g156 kcal 63 kcal 3.1 g 1.8 g 0 g 47 mg
Chocolate milk, reduced fat (2%) 248 g188 kcal 76 kcal 3 g 1.9 g 0.7 g 66 mg
Hot chocolate / cocoa, reduced sugar, made with whole or reduced fat (2%) milk 248 g171 kcal 69 kcal 3 g 1.7 g 0 g 50 mg
Strawberry milk, reduced fat (2%) 248 g176 kcal 71 kcal 3.2 g 1.8 g 0 g 39 mg
Hot chocolate / cocoa, made with whole or reduced fat (2%) milk 248 g226 kcal 91 kcal 2.7 g 1.5 g 0 g 60 mg

How to compare FDC 2705480: its source amount is 248 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705480, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

156 kcal

248 g

1 fl oz

20 kcal

31 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705480, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Calcium

277.8 mg≈ 21% Daily Value

Vitamin A

181 µg≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705480’s 248 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2705480 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 248 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 156 kcal Not established
Protein 7.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 21.4 g 8%
Total fat 4.4 g 6%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 19.5 g Not established
Sodium 116.6 mg 5%
Saturated fat 2.4 g 12%
Monounsaturated Fat 0.9 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 17.4 mg 6%
Potassium 404.2 mg 9%
Calcium 277.8 mg 21%
Iron 0 mg 0%
Magnesium 37.2 mg 9%
Vitamin C 0.5 mg 1%
Vitamin D 2.5 µg 12%
Vitamin A 181 µg 20%
Caffeine 2.5 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 212.5 g Not established

For FDC 2705480, approximate percentages divide the displayed 248 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705480 to 2 source inputs totaling 279 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D, Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite Syrup. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

279 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin DUSDA ingredient 1079 · encyclopedia page available 8 244 g 87.5%
2 Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite SyrupUSDA ingredient 19345 · encyclopedia page available 35 GM 35 g 12.5%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705480, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Flavored milk, reduced fat” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories63 kcal69 kcal−6 kcal
Protein3.1 g3 g+0.1 g
Carbohydrate8.6 g10.4 g−1.8 g
Total fat1.8 g1.7 g+0.1 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium47 mg50 mg−3 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Milk, reduced fat, fluid, 2% milkfat, with added vitamin A and vitamin D; Syrups, chocolate, HERSHEY'S Genuine Chocolate Flavored Lite Syrup.

The ingredient codes overlap, while at least one listed amount, weight, sequence, or formulation detail differs.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 248 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (248 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 248 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (248 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705480 with FDC 2705491 at equal mass; use their 248 g and 248 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705480 versus FDC 2705491 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, fat level, brand or formulation, added flavors or sweeteners.

For “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%),” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  3. 03

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  4. 04

    added flavors or sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705480 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 63 kcal per 100 g becomes 156 kcal at 248 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705480

FNDDS food code: 11513802

The scaling for FDC 2705480 can be exact while the match to “Chocolate milk, reduced sugar, reduced fat (2%)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 248 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.