Beveragesmoderate variability

Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP) calories: 228 per 1 can (496 g)

This exact USDA record reports 228 calories for 1 can (496 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 can · 496 g

Calories
228 kcal
Protein
1.2 g
Carbohydrate
60 g
Total fat
0.4 g
Fiber
0 g
Sodium
134 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 can (16 fl oz) · 496 g

228calories

Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)

Protein
1.2 g
Carbs
60 g
Fat
0.4 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2710748

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 228 calories for 1 can at 496 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 46 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.2 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 134 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is beverages, energy drink, amp, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 can at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 14–342 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2710748: “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP).” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2710748, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 can (24 fl oz)” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 31 g 14 kcal 0.1 g 0 g 8 mg
1 can (16 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 496 g 228 kcal 1.2 g 0 g 134 mg
1 can (24 fl oz)USDA-listed household measure 744 g 342 kcal 1.9 g 0 g 201 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Sport and energy drinks

The comparison set contains 17 exact records in the Sport and energy drinks USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2710748’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

46 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
44 kcal
Middle 50%
26–47 kcal

Based on 17 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

0.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.3 g
Middle 50%
0–0.4 g

Based on 17 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0 g
Middle 50%
0–0 g

Based on 17 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

27 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
39 mg
Middle 50%
21–48 mg

Based on 17 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2710748’s 496 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium134 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP),” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2710756 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 can (24 fl oz)

    USDA assigns those measures 31 g and 744 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 14 kcal to 342 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2710756

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.1 g more total fat than “Energy Drink.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Beverages, Energy drink, AMP

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when the exact wording “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)” fits. Inspect FDC 2710756 when the exact wording “Energy Drink” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)

Exact source wording
“Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710748 · FNDDS 95310500
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beverages, Energy drink, AMP

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Energy Drink

Exact source wording
“Energy Drink”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2710756 · FNDDS 95311000
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beverages, Energy drink, RED BULL

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordEnergy drink (Mountain Dew AMP) 496 g228 kcal 46 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 0 g 27 mg
Energy Drink 496 g213 kcal 43 kcal 0.5 g 0 g 0 g 39 mg
Energy drink (XS) 260 g13 kcal 5 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 0 g 83 mg
Energy drink (Monster) 496 g233 kcal 47 kcal 0.5 g 0 g 0 g 77 mg
Energy drink (NOS) 496 g218 kcal 44 kcal 0 g 0 g 0 g 85 mg
Energy drink (Vault) 372 g182 kcal 49 kcal 0 g 0 g 0 g 12 mg
Energy drink (Rockstar) 496 g288 kcal 58 kcal 0.3 g 0.2 g 0 g 16 mg

How to compare FDC 2710748: its source amount is 496 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2710748, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fl oz

14 kcal

31 g

1 cup

114 kcal

248 g

1 can (16 fl oz)

228 kcal

496 g

1 can (24 fl oz)

342 kcal

744 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2710748, Carbohydrate is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Carbohydrate

60 g≈ 22% Daily Value

Sodium

133.9 mg≈ 6% Daily Value

Calcium

64.5 mg≈ 5% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2710748’s 496 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 496 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 228 kcal Not established
Protein 1.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 60 g 22%
Total fat 0.4 g 1%
Dietary fiber 0 g 0%
Sugars 60 g Not established
Sodium 133.9 mg 6%
Saturated fat 0 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 14.9 mg 0%
Calcium 64.5 mg 5%
Iron 0.1 mg 1%
Magnesium 14.9 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 153.8 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 433 g Not established

For FDC 2710748, approximate percentages divide the displayed 496 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2710748 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Beverages, Energy drink, AMP is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Beverages, Energy drink, AMPUSDA ingredient 14625 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2710748, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Sport and energy drinks” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories46 kcal43 kcal+3 kcal
Protein0.3 g0.5 g−0.2 g
Carbohydrate12.1 g10.2 g+1.9 g
Total fat0.1 g0 g+0.1 g
Dietary fiber0 g0 gSame listed value
Sodium27 mg39 mg−12 mg

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Only this record lists Beverages, Energy drink, AMP. Only the comparison record lists Beverages, Energy drink, RED BULL. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Beverages, Energy drink, AMP.

Listed only in the comparison: Beverages, Energy drink, RED BULL.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 496 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 can (496 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 496 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 can or bottle (496 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2710748 with FDC 2710756 at equal mass; use their 496 g and 496 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2710748 versus FDC 2710756 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full sport and energy drinks source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with drink size, recipe or formulation, milk or cream, sweeteners and add-ins.

For “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP),” resolve drink size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    drink size

    Resolve drink size only when the meal or its source gives you evidence. If it is unknown, leave the uncertainty visible instead of choosing the most convenient variant.

  2. 02

    recipe or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    milk or cream

    Identify the liquid base and fat level when you can. Dairy, plant-based beverages, cream, and water are different record choices—not interchangeable volume adjustments.

  4. 04

    sweeteners and add-ins

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2710748 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 46 kcal per 100 g becomes 228 kcal at 496 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 can has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2710748

FNDDS food code: 95310500

The scaling for FDC 2710748 can be exact while the match to “Energy drink (Mountain Dew AMP)” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 496 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.