Energy
lower quarter142 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 218 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 178–246 kcal
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 178 calories for 1 cone (125 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cone · 125 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cone · 125 g
178calories
Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 178 calories for 1 cone at 125 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 142 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4 g protein, 2.9 g fiber, and 89 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frozen yogurts, chocolate, representing 96% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cone at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705459: “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705459, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 93.8 g | 133 kcal | 3 g | 2.2 g | 67 mg |
| 1 coneUSDA-listed household measure | 125 g | 178 kcal | 4 g | 2.9 g | 89 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 156.3 g | 222 kcal | 5 g | 3.6 g | 111 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705459’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter142 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter3.2 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter2.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half71 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705459’s 125 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber2.9 g
≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium121 mg
≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.8 g
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium89 mg
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705453 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 93.8–156.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 133 kcal and 222 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 11 kcal more calories than “Frozen yogurt, chocolate.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Frozen yogurts, chocolate supplies 96% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705453 when “chocolate” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFrozen yogurt cone, chocolate | 125 g178 kcal | 142 kcal | 3.2 g | 3.7 g | 2.3 g | 71 mg |
| Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate, waffle cone | 255 g375 kcal | 147 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 77 mg |
| Frozen yogurt, chocolate | 175 g229 kcal | 131 kcal | 3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 63 mg |
| Frozen yogurt cone, vanilla | 125 g174 kcal | 139 kcal | 3.2 g | 3.7 g | 0.1 g | 71 mg |
| Frozen yogurt bar, chocolate | 65 g85 kcal | 131 kcal | 3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 63 mg |
| Frozen yogurt cone, vanilla, waffle cone | 255 g365 kcal | 143 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.6 g | 0.1 g | 77 mg |
| Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate | 175 g280 kcal | 160 kcal | 4.3 g | 5.8 g | 0.7 g | 86 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705459: its source amount is 125 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705459, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
178 kcal
125 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705459, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
2.8 g≈ 14% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
29.9 g≈ 11% Daily ValueDietary fiber
2.9 g≈ 10% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705459’s 125 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2705459 at 125 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 125 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 178 kcal 142 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4 g 3.2 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 29.9 g 23.9 g | 11% 9% |
| Total fat | 4.7 g 3.7 g | 6% 5% |
| Dietary fiber | 2.9 g 2.3 g | 10% 8% |
| Sugars | 23.4 g 18.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 88.8 mg 71 mg | 4% 3% |
| Saturated fat | 2.8 g 2.2 g | 14% 11% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.2 g 1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.3 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 15 mg 12 mg | 5% 4% |
| Potassium | 286.3 mg 229 mg | 6% 5% |
| Calcium | 121.3 mg 97 mg | 9% 7% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 0.6 mg | 4% 3% |
| Magnesium | 31.3 mg 25 mg | 7% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 46.3 µg 37 µg | 5% 4% |
| Caffeine | 3.8 mg 3 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 85.8 g 68.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705459, approximate percentages divide the displayed 125 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705459 to 2 source inputs totaling 125 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Frozen yogurts, chocolate, Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
125 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frozen yogurts, chocolateUSDA ingredient 42186 · encyclopedia page available | 120 GM | 120 g | 96% |
| 2 | Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-typeUSDA ingredient 18271 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 4% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705459, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 142 kcal | 131 kcal | +11 kcal |
| Protein | 3.2 g | 3 g | +0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 23.9 g | 21.6 g | +2.3 g |
| Total fat | 3.7 g | 3.6 g | +0.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 2.3 g | 2.3 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 71 mg | 63 mg | +8 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 11 more calories than “Frozen yogurt, chocolate.”
Only this record lists Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Frozen yogurts, chocolate.
Listed only in this record: Ice cream cones, cake or wafer-type.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 125 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cone (125 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705459 with FDC 2705453 at equal mass; use their 125 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705459 versus FDC 2705453 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705459 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705459 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 142 kcal per 100 g becomes 178 kcal at 125 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cone has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705459
FNDDS food code: 11461250
The scaling for FDC 2705459 can be exact while the match to “Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 125 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.