Energy
lower quarter160 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 218 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 178–246 kcal
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 280 calories for 1 cup (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 175 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 175 g
280calories
Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 280 calories for 1 cup at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 160 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.5 g protein, 1.2 g fiber, and 151 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frozen yogurts, vanilla, soft-serve, representing 98% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705455: “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705455, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 131.3 g | 210 kcal | 5.7 g | 0.9 g | 113 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 175 g | 280 kcal | 7.5 g | 1.2 g | 151 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 218.8 g | 350 kcal | 9.4 g | 1.5 g | 188 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2705455’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
lower quarter160 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half4.3 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half86 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705455’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium250 mg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A101.5 µg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat6.1 g
≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium151 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705454 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 131.3–218.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 210 kcal and 350 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.7 g more dietary fiber than “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, vanilla.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Frozen yogurts, vanilla, soft-serve supplies 98% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “soft serve; chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705454 when “soft serve; vanilla” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “soft serve” and “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordFrozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate | 175 g280 kcal | 160 kcal | 4.3 g | 5.8 g | 0.7 g | 86 mg |
| Frozen yogurt, soft serve, vanilla | 175 g278 kcal | 159 kcal | 4 g | 5.6 g | 0 g | 87 mg |
| Frozen yogurt, chocolate | 175 g229 kcal | 131 kcal | 3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 63 mg |
| Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate | 125 g178 kcal | 142 kcal | 3.2 g | 3.7 g | 2.3 g | 71 mg |
| Frozen yogurt bar, chocolate | 65 g85 kcal | 131 kcal | 3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 63 mg |
| Frozen yogurt cone, chocolate, waffle cone | 255 g375 kcal | 147 kcal | 3.3 g | 3.6 g | 2.3 g | 77 mg |
| Ice cream, soft serve, chocolate | 175 g327 kcal | 187 kcal | 5 g | 7.2 g | 0.8 g | 71 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705455: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705455, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
280 kcal
175 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705455, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
6.1 g≈ 31% Daily ValueCalcium
250.3 mg≈ 19% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
43.6 g≈ 16% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705455’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 280 kcal 160 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.5 g 4.3 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 43.6 g 24.9 g | 16% 9% |
| Total fat | 10.1 g 5.8 g | 13% 7% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.2 g 0.7 g | 4% 3% |
| Sugars | 41.3 g 23.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 150.5 mg 86 mg | 7% 4% |
| Saturated fat | 6.1 g 3.5 g | 31% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 2.9 g 1.7 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.4 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 3.5 mg 2 mg | 1% 1% |
| Potassium | 414.8 mg 237 mg | 9% 5% |
| Calcium | 250.3 mg 143 mg | 19% 11% |
| Iron | 1 mg 0.6 mg | 6% 3% |
| Magnesium | 42 mg 24 mg | 10% 6% |
| Vitamin C | 1.4 mg 0.8 mg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.2 µg 0.1 µg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 101.5 µg 58 µg | 11% 6% |
| Caffeine | 8.8 mg 5 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 112 g 64 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705455, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705455 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Frozen yogurts, vanilla, soft-serve, Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frozen yogurts, vanilla, soft-serveUSDA ingredient 19293 | 98 GM | 98 g | 98% |
| 2 | Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetenedUSDA ingredient 19165 · encyclopedia page available | 2 GM | 2 g | 2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705455, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 160 kcal | 159 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 4.3 g | 4 g | +0.3 g |
| Carbohydrate | 24.9 g | 24.2 g | +0.7 g |
| Total fat | 5.8 g | 5.6 g | +0.2 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g | 0 g | +0.7 g |
| Sodium | 86 mg | 87 mg | −1 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 0.7 g more dietary fiber than “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, vanilla.”
Only this record lists Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Frozen yogurts, vanilla, soft-serve.
Listed only in this record: Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705455 with FDC 2705454 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705455 versus FDC 2705454 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705455 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705455 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 160 kcal per 100 g becomes 280 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705455
FNDDS food code: 11460510
The scaling for FDC 2705455 can be exact while the match to “Frozen yogurt, soft serve, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.