Sauces, fats & condimentsmoderate variability

Garlic, raw calories: 7 per 1 teaspoon (5 g)

This exact USDA record reports 7 calories for 1 teaspoon (5 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 teaspoon · 5 g

Calories
7 kcal
Protein
0.3 g
Carbohydrate
1.4 g
Total fat
0 g
Fiber
0.1 g
Sodium
1 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 teaspoon · 5 g

7calories

Garlic, raw

Protein
0.3 g
Carbs
1.4 g
Fat
0 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709786

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 7 calories for 1 teaspoon at 5 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 143 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 0.3 g protein, 0.1 g fiber, and 1 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is garlic, raw, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 teaspoon at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 4–193 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709786: “Garlic, raw.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709786, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 clove” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 cloveUSDA-listed household measure 3 g 4 kcal 0.2 g 0.1 g 1 mg
1 teaspoonUSDA-listed household measure 5 g 7 kcal 0.3 g 0.1 g 1 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 135 g 193 kcal 8.9 g 3.6 g 23 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Mustard and other condiments

The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Mustard and other condiments USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2709786’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

143 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
34 kcal
Middle 50%
24–135 kcal

Based on 11 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

6.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.4 g
Middle 50%
0.4–2.7 g

Based on 11 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

2.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.6 g
Middle 50%
0.6–2.3 g

Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

17 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
17 mg
Middle 50%
5–78 mg

Based on 11 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709786’s 5 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium1 mg

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Garlic, raw,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709932 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 clove to 1 cup

    USDA assigns those measures 3 g and 135 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 4 kcal to 193 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709932

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 231 mg less sodium than “Garlic, cooked.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Garlic, raw

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 3 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “raw” fits. Inspect FDC 2709932 when “cooked” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Garlic, raw

Exact source wording
“Garlic, raw”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709786 · FNDDS 75111500
Named qualifiers
raw

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Garlic, cooked

Exact source wording
“Garlic, cooked”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709932 · FNDDS 75217400
Named qualifiers
cooked
Source inputs unique in this pair
Salt, table

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “raw”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGarlic, raw 5 g7 kcal 143 kcal 6.6 g 0.4 g 2.7 g 17 mg
Garlic, cooked 5 g7 kcal 142 kcal 6.6 g 0.4 g 2.7 g 248 mg
Peppers, hot, raw 15 g5 kcal 34 kcal 1.4 g 0.4 g 2.2 g 6 mg
Puerto Rican seasoning without ham and tomato sauce 5 g6 kcal 127 kcal 1 g 10.8 g 1.5 g 4 mg

How to compare FDC 2709786: its source amount is 5 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709786, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 clove

4 kcal

3 g

1 teaspoon

7 kcal

5 g

1 cup

193 kcal

135 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709786, Calcium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Calcium

9.1 mg≈ 1% Daily Value

Vitamin C

0.5 mg≈ 1% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709786’s 5 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2709786 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 0.3 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 5 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 7 kcal Not established
Protein 0.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 1.4 g 1%
Total fat 0 g 0%
Dietary fiber 0.1 g 0%
Sugars 0.1 g Not established
Sodium 0.9 mg 0%
Saturated fat 0 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 20.1 mg 0%
Calcium 9.1 mg 1%
Iron 0.1 mg 0%
Magnesium 1.3 mg 0%
Vitamin C 0.5 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 3.2 g Not established

For FDC 2709786, approximate percentages divide the displayed 5 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709786 to one source input totaling 3 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Garlic, raw” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Garlic, raw is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

3 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Garlic, rawUSDA ingredient 11215 · encyclopedia page available 1 3 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709786, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Mustard and other condiments” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories143 kcal142 kcal+1 kcal
Protein6.6 g6.6 g+0 g
Carbohydrate28.2 g28 g+0.2 g
Total fat0.4 g0.4 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber2.7 g2.7 gSame listed value
Sodium17 mg248 mg−231 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 231 mg less sodium than “Garlic, cooked.”

Only the comparison record lists Salt, table. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Garlic, raw.

Listed only in the comparison: Salt, table.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 5 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 teaspoon (5 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 5 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 teaspoon (5 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709786 with FDC 2709932 at equal mass; use their 5 g and 5 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709786 versus FDC 2709932 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full mustard and other condiments source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709786 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount used, recipe or brand, concentration, oil, sugar, and salt formulation.

For “Garlic, raw,” resolve amount used first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount used

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    concentration

    Estimate what was actually consumed, including liquid left behind. The same bowl volume can contain a different mass and solid-to-liquid balance.

  4. 04

    oil, sugar, and salt formulation

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709786 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 143 kcal per 100 g becomes 7 kcal at 5 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 teaspoon has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709786

FNDDS food code: 75111500

The scaling for FDC 2709786 can be exact while the match to “Garlic, raw” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 5 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.