Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Gelato, chocolate calories: 439 per 1 cup (175 g)

This exact USDA record reports 439 calories for 1 cup (175 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 175 g

Calories
439 kcal
Protein
8.3 g
Carbohydrate
34.7 g
Total fat
29.8 g
Fiber
1.6 g
Sodium
100 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 175 g

439calories

Gelato, chocolate

Protein
8.3 g
Carbs
34.7 g
Fat
29.8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705637

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 439 calories for 1 cup at 175 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 251 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 8.3 g protein, 1.6 g fiber, and 100 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice creams, chocolate, rich, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 402–1,205 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705637: “Gelato, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705637, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 scoop” through “1 large ice cream cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 scoopUSDA-listed household measure 160 g 402 kcal 7.6 g 1.4 g 91 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 175 g 439 kcal 8.3 g 1.6 g 100 mg
1 large ice cream cupUSDA-listed household measure 480 g 1,205 kcal 22.7 g 4.3 g 274 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts

The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705637’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

251 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
218 kcal
Middle 50%
178–246 kcal

Based on 51 records reporting energy.

Protein

upper quarter

4.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
3.3–4.7 g

Based on 51 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.3 g

Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

57 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
83 mg
Middle 50%
68–98 mg

Based on 51 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705637’s 175 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A351.8 µg

≈ 39% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium249 mg

≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat18.2 g

≈ 91% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium100 mg

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Gelato, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705636 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 scoop to 1 large ice cream cup

    USDA assigns those measures 160 g and 480 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 402 kcal to 1,205 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705636

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 0.9 g more dietary fiber than “Gelato, vanilla.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Ice creams, chocolate, rich

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705636 when “vanilla” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Gelato, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Gelato, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705637 · FNDDS 13110470
Named qualifiers
chocolate
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice creams, chocolate, rich

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Gelato, vanilla

Exact source wording
“Gelato, vanilla”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705636 · FNDDS 13110460
Named qualifiers
vanilla
Source inputs unique in this pair
Ice creams, vanilla, rich

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGelato, chocolate 175 g439 kcal 251 kcal 4.7 g 17 g 0.9 g 57 mg
Gelato, vanilla 175 g436 kcal 249 kcal 3.5 g 16.2 g 0 g 61 mg
Ice cream, chocolate 135 g292 kcal 216 kcal 3.8 g 11 g 1.2 g 76 mg
Ice cream sandwich, chocolate 75 g203 kcal 270 kcal 4.5 g 11.8 g 1.8 g 202 mg
Ice cream, chocolate, with additional ingredients 140 g349 kcal 249 kcal 3.9 g 11.8 g 1.5 g 102 mg
Light ice cream sandwich, chocolate 75 g182 kcal 243 kcal 4.9 g 8.4 g 1.5 g 200 mg
Light ice cream bar, chocolate 85 g204 kcal 240 kcal 3.3 g 16.9 g 1 g 55 mg

How to compare FDC 2705637: its source amount is 175 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705637, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

439 kcal

175 g

1 scoop

402 kcal

160 g

1 small ice cream cup

402 kcal

160 g

1 medium ice cream cup

803 kcal

320 g

1 large ice cream cup

1,205 kcal

480 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705637, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

18.2 g≈ 91% Daily Value

Vitamin A

351.8 µg≈ 39% Daily Value

Total fat

29.8 g≈ 38% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705637’s 175 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 175 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 439 kcal Not established
Protein 8.3 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 34.7 g 13%
Total fat 29.8 g 38%
Dietary fiber 1.6 g 6%
Sugars 30.5 g Not established
Sodium 99.8 mg 4%
Saturated fat 18.2 g 91%
Monounsaturated Fat 8.4 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 105 mg 35%
Potassium 416.5 mg 9%
Calcium 248.5 mg 19%
Iron 1.8 mg 10%
Magnesium 56 mg 13%
Vitamin C 0.9 mg 1%
Vitamin D 0.5 µg 3%
Vitamin A 351.8 µg 39%
Caffeine 7 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 100.6 g Not established

For FDC 2705637, approximate percentages divide the displayed 175 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705637 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Gelato, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Ice creams, chocolate, rich is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Ice creams, chocolate, richUSDA ingredient 43541 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705637, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories251 kcal249 kcal+2 kcal
Protein4.7 g3.5 g+1.2 g
Carbohydrate19.8 g22.3 g−2.5 g
Total fat17 g16.2 g+0.8 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g0 g+0.9 g
Sodium57 mg61 mg−4 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 1.2 g more protein, 2.5 g less carbohydrate, and 0.9 g more dietary fiber than “Gelato, vanilla.”

Only this record lists Ice creams, chocolate, rich. Only the comparison record lists Ice creams, vanilla, rich. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Ice creams, chocolate, rich.

Listed only in the comparison: Ice creams, vanilla, rich.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 175 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (175 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705637 with FDC 2705636 at equal mass; use their 175 g and 175 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705637 versus FDC 2705636 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Gelato, chocolate,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705637 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 251 kcal per 100 g becomes 439 kcal at 175 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705637

FNDDS food code: 13110470

The scaling for FDC 2705637 can be exact while the match to “Gelato, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 175 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.