Fruitmoderate variability

Grapefruit, raw calories: 65 per 1 half (154 g)

This exact USDA record reports 65 calories for 1 half (154 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 half · 154 g

Calories
65 kcal
Protein
1.2 g
Carbohydrate
16.5 g
Total fat
0.2 g
Fiber
2.5 g
Sodium
0 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 half · 154 g

65calories

Grapefruit, raw

Protein
1.2 g
Carbs
16.5 g
Fat
0.2 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2709165

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 65 calories for 1 half at 154 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 42 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 1.2 g protein, 2.5 g fiber, and 0 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 half at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 11–129 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709165: “Grapefruit, raw.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2709165, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 section/slice” through “1 fruit” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 section/sliceUSDA-listed household measure 25 g 11 kcal 0.2 g 0.4 g 0 mg
1 halfUSDA-listed household measure 154 g 65 kcal 1.2 g 2.5 g 0 mg
1 fruitUSDA-listed household measure 308 g 129 kcal 2.4 g 4.9 g 0 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Citrus fruits

The comparison set contains 10 exact records in the Citrus fruits USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709165’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

42 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
46 kcal
Middle 50%
36–53 kcal

Based on 10 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

0.8 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.8 g
Middle 50%
0.6–0.9 g

Based on 10 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.8 g
Middle 50%
0.9–2.7 g

Based on 10 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

0 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
2 mg
Middle 50%
2–5 mg

Based on 10 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2709165’s 154 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin C48 mg

≈ 53% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin A89.3 µg

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat0 g

≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Grapefruit, raw,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709164 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 section/slice to 1 fruit

    USDA assigns those measures 25 g and 308 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 11 kcal to 129 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2709164

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 11 kcal less calories than “Clementine, raw.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “raw” fits. Inspect FDC 2709164 when “raw” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Grapefruit, raw

Exact source wording
“Grapefruit, raw”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709165 · FNDDS 61101010
Named qualifiers
raw
Source inputs unique in this pair
Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Clementine, raw

Exact source wording
“Clementine, raw”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2709164 · FNDDS 61100600
Named qualifiers
raw
Source inputs unique in this pair
Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “raw”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordGrapefruit, raw 154 g65 kcal 42 kcal 0.8 g 0.1 g 1.6 g 0 mg
Grapefruit, canned 125 g45 kcal 36 kcal 0.6 g 0.1 g 0.4 g 2 mg
Orange, raw 154 g77 kcal 50 kcal 0.9 g 0.1 g 2.2 g 4 mg
Clementine, raw 85 g45 kcal 53 kcal 0.8 g 0.3 g 1.8 g 2 mg
Tangerine, raw 109 g58 kcal 53 kcal 0.8 g 0.3 g 1.8 g 2 mg
Lime, raw 15 g5 kcal 30 kcal 0.7 g 0.2 g 2.8 g 2 mg
Lemon, raw 15 g4 kcal 29 kcal 1.1 g 0.3 g 2.8 g 2 mg

How to compare FDC 2709165: its source amount is 154 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2709165, the 4 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 fruit

129 kcal

308 g

1 half

65 kcal

154 g

1 section/slice

11 kcal

25 g

1 cup

76 kcal

180 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2709165, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Vitamin C

48 mg≈ 53% Daily Value

Vitamin A

89.3 µg≈ 10% Daily Value

Dietary fiber

2.5 g≈ 9% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2709165’s 154 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 154 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 65 kcal Not established
Protein 1.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 16.5 g 6%
Total fat 0.2 g 0%
Dietary fiber 2.5 g 9%
Sugars 10.6 g Not established
Sodium 0 mg 0%
Saturated fat 0 g 0%
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 207.9 mg 4%
Calcium 33.9 mg 3%
Iron 0.1 mg 1%
Magnesium 13.9 mg 3%
Vitamin C 48 mg 53%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 89.3 µg 10%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 135.7 g Not established

For FDC 2709165, approximate percentages divide the displayed 154 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2709165 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Grapefruit, raw” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areasUSDA ingredient 9112 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2709165, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Citrus fruits” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories42 kcal53 kcal−11 kcal
Protein0.8 g0.8 g−0 g
Carbohydrate10.7 g13.3 g−2.6 g
Total fat0.1 g0.3 g−0.2 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.8 g−0.2 g
Sodium0 mg2 mg−2 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 11 less calories and 2.6 g less carbohydrate than “Clementine, raw.”

Only this record lists Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas. Only the comparison record lists Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Grapefruit, raw, pink and red, all areas.

Listed only in the comparison: Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 154 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 half (154 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 fruit (85 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709165 with FDC 2709164 at equal mass; use their 154 g and 85 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2709165 versus FDC 2709164 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full citrus fruits source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2709165 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, variety and ripeness, fresh versus cooked form, added sweeteners.

For “Grapefruit, raw,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    variety and ripeness

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fresh versus cooked form

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    added sweeteners

    Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2709165 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 42 kcal per 100 g becomes 65 kcal at 154 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 half has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2709165

FNDDS food code: 61101010

The scaling for FDC 2709165 can be exact while the match to “Grapefruit, raw” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 154 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.