Energy
middle half53 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 46 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 36–53 kcal
Based on 10 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 58 calories for 1 fruit (109 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 fruit · 109 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 fruit · 109 g
58calories
Tangerine, raw
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 58 calories for 1 fruit at 109 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 53 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 0.9 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 2 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 fruit at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 6–103 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2709175: “Tangerine, raw.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2709175, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 section/slice” through “1 cup” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 section/sliceUSDA-listed household measure | 11 g | 6 kcal | 0.1 g | 0.2 g | 0 mg |
| 1 fruitUSDA-listed household measure | 109 g | 58 kcal | 0.9 g | 2 g | 2 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 195 g | 103 kcal | 1.6 g | 3.5 g | 4 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 10 exact records in the Citrus fruits USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2709175’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half53 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half0.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half2 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 10 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2709175’s 109 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C29 mg
≈ 32% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber2 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0 g
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium2 mg
≈ 0% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Tangerine, raw,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2709164 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 11 g and 195 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 6 kcal to 103 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Clementine, raw.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “raw” fits. Inspect FDC 2709164 when “raw” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “raw”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordTangerine, raw | 109 g58 kcal | 53 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.3 g | 1.8 g | 2 mg |
| Clementine, raw | 85 g45 kcal | 53 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.3 g | 1.8 g | 2 mg |
| Orange, raw | 154 g77 kcal | 50 kcal | 0.9 g | 0.1 g | 2.2 g | 4 mg |
| Grapefruit, raw | 154 g65 kcal | 42 kcal | 0.8 g | 0.1 g | 1.6 g | 0 mg |
| Kumquat, raw | 19 g13 kcal | 71 kcal | 1.9 g | 0.9 g | 6.5 g | 10 mg |
| Lime, raw | 15 g5 kcal | 30 kcal | 0.7 g | 0.2 g | 2.8 g | 2 mg |
| Lemon, raw | 15 g4 kcal | 29 kcal | 1.1 g | 0.3 g | 2.8 g | 2 mg |
How to compare FDC 2709175: its source amount is 109 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2709175, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
58 kcal
109 g
6 kcal
11 g
103 kcal
195 g
At a glance
For FDC 2709175, Vitamin C is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Vitamin C
29.1 mg≈ 32% Daily ValueDietary fiber
2 g≈ 7% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
14.5 g≈ 5% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2709175’s 109 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 109 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 58 kcal 53 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 0.9 g 0.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 14.5 g 13.3 g | 5% 5% |
| Total fat | 0.3 g 0.3 g | 0% 0% |
| Dietary fiber | 2 g 1.8 g | 7% 6% |
| Sugars | 11.6 g 10.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 2.2 mg 2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Saturated fat | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 180.9 mg 166 mg | 4% 4% |
| Calcium | 40.3 mg 37 mg | 3% 3% |
| Iron | 0.2 mg 0.2 mg | 1% 1% |
| Magnesium | 13.1 mg 12 mg | 3% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 29.1 mg 26.7 mg | 32% 30% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 37.1 µg 34 µg | 4% 4% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 92.9 g 85.2 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2709175, approximate percentages divide the displayed 109 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2709175 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Tangerine, raw” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), rawUSDA ingredient 9218 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2709175, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Citrus fruits” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 53 kcal | 53 kcal | Same listed value |
| Protein | 0.8 g | 0.8 g | Same listed value |
| Carbohydrate | 13.3 g | 13.3 g | Same listed value |
| Total fat | 0.3 g | 0.3 g | Same listed value |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g | 1.8 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 2 mg | 2 mg | Same listed value |
Plain-English read
The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.
Formulation evidence
The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.
Shared listed inputs: Tangerines, (mandarin oranges), raw.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 109 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 fruit (109 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 fruit (85 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2709175 with FDC 2709164 at equal mass; use their 109 g and 85 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2709175 versus FDC 2709164 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full citrus fruits source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, variety and ripeness, fresh versus cooked form, added sweeteners.
For “Tangerine, raw,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Use a label or known recipe when available, because sweetness does not reveal dose. Keep syrups, sugars, and concentrated add-ins separate when the base record does not name them.
How we estimated this
FDC 2709175 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 53 kcal per 100 g becomes 58 kcal at 109 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 fruit has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2709175
FNDDS food code: 61125010
The scaling for FDC 2709175 can be exact while the match to “Tangerine, raw” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 109 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.