Energy
middle half216 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 192 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 146–247 kcal
Based on 392 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 123 calories for 1 regular (57 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 regular · 57 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 regular · 57 g
123calories
Hot dog, reduced fat
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 123 calories for 1 regular at 57 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 216 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 7.9 g protein, 0 g fiber, and 351 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat, representing 50% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 regular at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 22–324 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2706169: “Hot dog, reduced fat.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2706169, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 cocktail/miniature” through “1 cup, sliced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 cocktail/miniatureUSDA-listed household measure | 10 g | 22 kcal | 1.4 g | 0 g | 62 mg |
| 1 regularUSDA-listed household measure | 57 g | 123 kcal | 7.9 g | 0 g | 351 mg |
| 1 cup, slicedUSDA-listed household measure | 150 g | 324 kcal | 20.7 g | 0 g | 923 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 392 exact records in Feast’s broader Meat & poultry category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2706169’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half216 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 392 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half13.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 392 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 392 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter615 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 392 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2706169’s 57 g reference weight, none of the compatible strength-side nutrients evaluated here reaches 5% Daily Value; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
No compatible strength-side nutrient evaluated here reaches 5% DV at this reference weight, so this page does not manufacture a “strength” from a negligible percentage.
Saturated fat3.7 g
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium351 mg
≈ 15% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Hot dog, reduced fat,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706167 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 10 g and 150 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 22 kcal to 324 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 12.3 g less total fat than “Hot dog, beef.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat supplies 50% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “reduced fat” fits. Inspect FDC 2706167 when “beef” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “reduced fat”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordHot dog, reduced fat | 57 g123 kcal | 216 kcal | 13.8 g | 15.7 g | 0 g | 615 mg |
| Hot dog, turkey | 57 g127 kcal | 223 kcal | 12.2 g | 17.3 g | 0 g | 865 mg |
| Hot dog, beef | 57 g177 kcal | 310 kcal | 11.7 g | 28 g | 0 g | 828 mg |
| Hot dog, meat and poultry | 57 g158 kcal | 277 kcal | 9.7 g | 24.2 g | 0 g | 828 mg |
How to compare FDC 2706169: its source amount is 57 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2706169, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
123 kcal
57 g
22 kcal
10 g
123 kcal
57 g
190 kcal
88 g
324 kcal
150 g
At a glance
For FDC 2706169, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
3.7 g≈ 19% Daily ValueSodium
350.6 mg≈ 15% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2706169’s 57 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2706169 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 7.9 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2706169 at 57 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 57 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 123 kcal 216 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 7.9 g 13.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 2.9 g 5.1 g | 1% 2% |
| Total fat | 8.9 g 15.7 g | 11% 20% |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g 0 g | 0% 0% |
| Sugars | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 350.6 mg 615 mg | 15% 27% |
| Saturated fat | 3.7 g 6.5 g | 19% 33% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.2 g 7.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 0.9 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 29.6 mg 52 mg | 10% 17% |
| Potassium | 115.7 mg 203 mg | 2% 4% |
| Calcium | 9.1 mg 16 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.7 mg 1.2 mg | 4% 7% |
| Magnesium | 5.7 mg 10 mg | 1% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 0.1 mg 0.2 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0.3 µg 0.5 µg | 1% 3% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 36.1 g 63.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2706169, approximate percentages divide the displayed 57 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2706169 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hot dog, reduced fat” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat, Frankfurter, low sodium. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fatUSDA ingredient 42280 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
| 2 | Frankfurter, low sodiumUSDA ingredient 43507 · encyclopedia page available | 50 GM | 50 g | 50% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2706169, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Frankfurters” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 216 kcal | 310 kcal | −94 kcal |
| Protein | 13.8 g | 11.7 g | +2.1 g |
| Carbohydrate | 5.1 g | 2.9 g | +2.2 g |
| Total fat | 15.7 g | 28 g | −12.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0 g | 0 g | Same listed value |
| Sodium | 615 mg | 828 mg | −213 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 94 less calories, 2.1 g more protein, and 2.2 g more carbohydrate than “Hot dog, beef.”
Only this record lists Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat; Frankfurter, low sodium. Only the comparison record lists Frankfurter, beef, unheated. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
5 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Frankfurter, meat and poultry, low fat; Frankfurter, low sodium.
Listed only in the comparison: Frankfurter, beef, unheated.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 57 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (57 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 57 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 regular (57 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2706169 with FDC 2706167 at equal mass; use their 57 g and 57 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2706169 versus FDC 2706167 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Hot dog, reduced fat” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2706169 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, cut and fat trim, cooking method, breading, marinade, or sauce.
For “Hot dog, reduced fat,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2706169 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 216 kcal per 100 g becomes 123 kcal at 57 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 regular has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2706169
FNDDS food code: 25210290
The scaling for FDC 2706169 can be exact while the match to “Hot dog, reduced fat” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 57 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.