Beans, nuts & protein foodsmoderate variability

Hot dog, vegetarian calories: 163 per 1 item, any size (70 g)

This exact USDA record reports 163 calories for 1 item, any size (70 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 item, any size · 70 g

Calories
163 kcal
Protein
13.7 g
Carbohydrate
5.4 g
Total fat
9.6 g
Fiber
2.7 g
Sodium
330 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 item, any size · 70 g

163calories

Hot dog, vegetarian

Protein
13.7 g
Carbs
5.4 g
Fat
9.6 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2707470

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 163 calories for 1 item, any size at 70 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 233 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 13.7 g protein, 2.7 g fiber, and 330 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is frankfurter, meatless, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 item, any size at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 163–326 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707470: “Hot dog, vegetarian.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2707470, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 cup, sliced” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 52.5 g 122 kcal 10.3 g 2 g 247 mg
1 item, any sizeUSDA-listed household measure 70 g 163 kcal 13.7 g 2.7 g 330 mg
1 cup, slicedUSDA-listed household measure 140 g 326 kcal 27.4 g 5.5 g 659 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Soy and meat-alternative products

The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Soy and meat-alternative products USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2707470’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

233 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
229 kcal
Middle 50%
164–285 kcal

Based on 18 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

19.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
18.3 g
Middle 50%
11.9–21.2 g

Based on 18 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

3.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.8 g
Middle 50%
1.2–4.8 g

Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

471 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
345 mg
Middle 50%
25–564 mg

Based on 18 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2707470’s 70 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber2.7 g

≈ 10% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron1 mg

≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium330 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.2 g

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Hot dog, vegetarian,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707478 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 item, any size to 1 cup, sliced

    USDA assigns those measures 70 g and 140 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 163 kcal to 326 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2707478

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g less dietary fiber than “Vegetarian, fillet.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Single listed source: Frankfurter, meatless

    USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “vegetarian” fits. Inspect FDC 2707478 when “fillet” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Hot dog, vegetarian

Exact source wording
“Hot dog, vegetarian”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707470 · FNDDS 41811400
Named qualifiers
vegetarian
Source inputs unique in this pair
Frankfurter, meatless

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Vegetarian, fillet

Exact source wording
“Vegetarian, fillet”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2707478 · FNDDS 41812600
Named qualifiers
fillet
Source inputs unique in this pair
Vegetarian fillets

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “vegetarian”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordHot dog, vegetarian 70 g163 kcal 233 kcal 19.6 g 13.7 g 3.9 g 471 mg
Vegetarian, fillet 85 g247 kcal 290 kcal 23 g 18 g 6.1 g 490 mg

How to compare FDC 2707470: its source amount is 70 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2707470, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 item, any size

163 kcal

70 g

1 cup, sliced

326 kcal

140 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2707470, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

329.7 mg≈ 14% Daily Value

Total fat

9.6 g≈ 12% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2707470’s 70 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2707470 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 13.7 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2707470 at 70 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 330 mg sodium, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 70 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 163 kcal Not established
Protein 13.7 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 5.4 g 2%
Total fat 9.6 g 12%
Dietary fiber 2.7 g 10%
Sugars 0 g Not established
Sodium 329.7 mg 14%
Saturated fat 1.2 g 6%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.8 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 3.8 g Not established
Cholesterol 0 mg 0%
Potassium 68.6 mg 1%
Calcium 23.1 mg 2%
Iron 1 mg 5%
Magnesium 12.6 mg 3%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 0 µg 0%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 40.6 g Not established

For FDC 2707470, approximate percentages divide the displayed 70 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2707470 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Hot dog, vegetarian” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

A single-source formulation

Frankfurter, meatless is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Frankfurter, meatlessUSDA ingredient 43130 · encyclopedia page available 100 GM 100 g 100%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2707470, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soy and meat-alternative products” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories233 kcal290 kcal−57 kcal
Protein19.6 g23 g−3.4 g
Carbohydrate7.7 g9 g−1.3 g
Total fat13.7 g18 g−4.3 g
Dietary fiber3.9 g6.1 g−2.2 g
Sodium471 mg490 mg−19 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 57 less calories, 3.4 g less protein, and 4.3 g less total fat than “Vegetarian, fillet.”

Only this record lists Frankfurter, meatless. Only the comparison record lists Vegetarian fillets. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Listed only in this record: Frankfurter, meatless.

Listed only in the comparison: Vegetarian fillets.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 70 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 item, any size (70 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 fillet (85 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707470 with FDC 2707478 at equal mass; use their 70 g and 85 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2707470 versus FDC 2707478 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full soy and meat-alternative products source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.

For “Hot dog, vegetarian,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    preparation

    Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.

  3. 03

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    sauce or seasoning

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2707470 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 233 kcal per 100 g becomes 163 kcal at 70 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 item, any size has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2707470

FNDDS food code: 41811400

The scaling for FDC 2707470 can be exact while the match to “Hot dog, vegetarian” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 70 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.