Energy
upper quarter290 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 229 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 164–285 kcal
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 247 calories for 1 fillet (85 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 fillet · 85 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 fillet · 85 g
247calories
Vegetarian, fillet
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 247 calories for 1 fillet at 85 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 290 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 19.6 g protein, 5.2 g fiber, and 417 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is vegetarian fillets, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 fillet at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2707478: “Vegetarian, fillet.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2707478, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 63.8 g | 185 kcal | 14.7 g | 3.9 g | 312 mg |
| 1 filletUSDA-listed household measure | 85 g | 247 kcal | 19.6 g | 5.2 g | 417 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 106.3 g | 308 kcal | 24.4 g | 6.5 g | 521 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 18 exact records in the Soy and meat-alternative products USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2707478’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter290 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter23 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
upper quarter6.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half490 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 18 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2707478’s 85 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Dietary fiber5.2 g
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Potassium510 mg
≈ 11% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium417 mg
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.4 g
≈ 12% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Vegetarian, fillet,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2707470 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 63.8–106.3 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 185 kcal and 308 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.2 g more dietary fiber than “Hot dog, vegetarian.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fillet” fits. Inspect FDC 2707470 when “vegetarian” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fillet”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordVegetarian, fillet | 85 g247 kcal | 290 kcal | 23 g | 18 g | 6.1 g | 490 mg |
| Hot dog, vegetarian | 70 g163 kcal | 233 kcal | 19.6 g | 13.7 g | 3.9 g | 471 mg |
How to compare FDC 2707478: its source amount is 85 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2707478, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
247 kcal
85 g
At a glance
For FDC 2707478, Total fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Total fat
15.3 g≈ 20% Daily ValueDietary fiber
5.2 g≈ 19% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2707478’s 85 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2707478 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 19.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2707478 at 85 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 85 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 247 kcal 290 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 19.6 g 23 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 7.7 g 9 g | 3% 3% |
| Total fat | 15.3 g 18 g | 20% 23% |
| Dietary fiber | 5.2 g 6.1 g | 19% 22% |
| Sugars | 0.7 g 0.8 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 416.5 mg 490 mg | 18% 21% |
| Saturated fat | 2.4 g 2.9 g | 12% 14% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 3.7 g 4.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 7.9 g 9.3 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Potassium | 510 mg 600 mg | 11% 13% |
| Calcium | 80.8 mg 95 mg | 6% 7% |
| Iron | 1.7 mg 2 mg | 9% 11% |
| Magnesium | 19.6 mg 23 mg | 5% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0 mg 0 mg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 38.3 g 45 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2707478, approximate percentages divide the displayed 85 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2707478 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Vegetarian, fillet” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Vegetarian fillets is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vegetarian filletsUSDA ingredient 43134 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2707478, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Soy and meat-alternative products” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 290 kcal | 233 kcal | +57 kcal |
| Protein | 23 g | 19.6 g | +3.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 9 g | 7.7 g | +1.3 g |
| Total fat | 18 g | 13.7 g | +4.3 g |
| Dietary fiber | 6.1 g | 3.9 g | +2.2 g |
| Sodium | 490 mg | 471 mg | +19 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 57 more calories, 3.4 g more protein, and 4.3 g more total fat than “Hot dog, vegetarian.”
Only this record lists Vegetarian fillets. Only the comparison record lists Frankfurter, meatless. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Vegetarian fillets.
Listed only in the comparison: Frankfurter, meatless.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 85 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 fillet (85 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 70 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 item, any size (70 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2707478 with FDC 2707470 at equal mass; use their 85 g and 70 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2707478 versus FDC 2707470 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full soy and meat-alternative products source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with portion size, preparation, added fat, sauce or seasoning.
For “Vegetarian, fillet,” resolve portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the method named by the source—such as baked, fried, boiled, or grilled—before scaling. Preparation can change both water content and the ingredients retained in the finished food.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2707478 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 290 kcal per 100 g becomes 247 kcal at 85 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 fillet has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2707478
FNDDS food code: 41812600
The scaling for FDC 2707478 can be exact while the match to “Vegetarian, fillet” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 85 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.