Snacks & dessertshigher variability

Ice cream sandwich, vanilla calories: 198 per 1 sandwich (75 g)

This exact USDA record reports 198 calories for 1 sandwich (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 sandwich · 75 g

Calories
198 kcal
Protein
3.2 g
Carbohydrate
26.9 g
Total fat
8.9 g
Fiber
1.1 g
Sodium
154 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 sandwich · 75 g

198calories

Ice cream sandwich, vanilla

Protein
3.2 g
Carbs
26.9 g
Fat
8.9 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705642

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 198 calories for 1 sandwich at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 264 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 3.2 g protein, 1.1 g fiber, and 154 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice creams, vanilla, representing 75% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705642: “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705642, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 56.3 g 149 kcal 2.4 g 0.8 g 115 mg
1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure 75 g 198 kcal 3.2 g 1.1 g 154 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 93.8 g 248 kcal 4 g 1.3 g 192 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts

The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705642’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

264 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
218 kcal
Middle 50%
178–246 kcal

Based on 51 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

4.3 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
4 g
Middle 50%
3.3–4.7 g

Based on 51 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

1.4 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.9 g
Middle 50%
0.5–1.3 g

Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

upper quarter

205 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
83 mg
Middle 50%
68–98 mg

Based on 51 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705642’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A66.8 µg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium78 mg

≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat4.6 g

≈ 23% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium154 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705630 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 75 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 56.3–93.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 149 kcal and 248 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705630

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 125 mg more sodium than “Ice cream, vanilla.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Ice creams, vanilla

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Ice creams, vanilla supplies 75% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “vanilla” fits. Inspect FDC 2705630 when “vanilla” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Ice cream sandwich, vanilla

Exact source wording
“Ice cream sandwich, vanilla”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705642 · FNDDS 13120500
Named qualifiers
vanilla
Source inputs unique in this pair
Cookies, chocolate wafers

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Ice cream, vanilla

Exact source wording
“Ice cream, vanilla”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705630 · FNDDS 13110100
Named qualifiers
vanilla

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “vanilla”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordIce cream sandwich, vanilla 75 g198 kcal 264 kcal 4.3 g 11.8 g 1.4 g 205 mg
Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla 75 g179 kcal 239 kcal 4.9 g 8.2 g 1 g 209 mg
Ice cream, vanilla 135 g279 kcal 207 kcal 3.5 g 11 g 0.7 g 80 mg
Ice cream sandwich, chocolate 75 g203 kcal 270 kcal 4.5 g 11.8 g 1.8 g 202 mg
Ice cream cookie sandwich 75 g238 kcal 317 kcal 4.6 g 14.1 g 1.7 g 232 mg
Light ice cream, vanilla 135 g235 kcal 174 kcal 4.4 g 6.1 g 0.2 g 85 mg
Ice cream bar, vanilla 85 g304 kcal 358 kcal 2.1 g 25.3 g 1.1 g 84 mg

How to compare FDC 2705642: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705642, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 sandwich

198 kcal

75 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705642, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

4.6 g≈ 23% Daily Value

Total fat

8.9 g≈ 11% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

26.9 g≈ 10% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705642’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 198 kcal Not established
Protein 3.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 26.9 g 10%
Total fat 8.9 g 11%
Dietary fiber 1.1 g 4%
Sugars 19 g Not established
Sodium 153.8 mg 7%
Saturated fat 4.6 g 23%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.6 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Cholesterol 25.5 mg 9%
Potassium 151.5 mg 3%
Calcium 78 mg 6%
Iron 0.8 mg 4%
Magnesium 18 mg 4%
Vitamin C 0.3 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 66.8 µg 7%
Caffeine 1.5 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 35.2 g Not established

For FDC 2705642, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705642 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ice creams, vanilla, Cookies, chocolate wafers. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Ice creams, vanillaUSDA ingredient 19095 · encyclopedia page available 75 GM 75 g 75%
2 Cookies, chocolate wafersUSDA ingredient 18157 · encyclopedia page available 25 GM 25 g 25%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705642, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories264 kcal207 kcal+57 kcal
Protein4.3 g3.5 g+0.8 g
Carbohydrate35.9 g23.6 g+12.3 g
Total fat11.8 g11 g+0.8 g
Dietary fiber1.4 g0.7 g+0.7 g
Sodium205 mg80 mg+125 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 57 more calories, 12.3 g more carbohydrate, and 0.7 g more dietary fiber than “Ice cream, vanilla.”

Only this record lists Cookies, chocolate wafers. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Ice creams, vanilla.

Listed only in this record: Cookies, chocolate wafers.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (75 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 135 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (135 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705642 with FDC 2705630 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 135 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705642 versus FDC 2705630 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705642 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.

For “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    piece or portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    recipe or brand

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

  3. 03

    fillings or frosting

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fats and sugars

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705642 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 264 kcal per 100 g becomes 198 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705642

FNDDS food code: 13120500

The scaling for FDC 2705642 can be exact while the match to “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.