Energy
middle half239 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 218 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 178–246 kcal
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 179 calories for 1 sandwich (75 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sandwich · 75 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sandwich · 75 g
179calories
Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 179 calories for 1 sandwich at 75 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 239 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 3.7 g protein, 0.8 g fiber, and 157 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is light ice cream, vanilla, representing 75% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sandwich at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705668: “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705668, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 56.3 g | 134 kcal | 2.8 g | 0.6 g | 118 mg |
| 1 sandwichUSDA-listed household measure | 75 g | 179 kcal | 3.7 g | 0.8 g | 157 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 93.8 g | 224 kcal | 4.6 g | 0.9 g | 196 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705668’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half239 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
Protein
upper quarter4.9 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
upper quarter209 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705668’s 75 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Calcium; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Calcium89 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Vitamin A60.8 µg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat2.8 g
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium157 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705642 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 56.3–93.8 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 134 kcal and 224 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.7 g less total fat than “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 2 input rows; Light ice cream, vanilla supplies 75% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “vanilla” fits. Inspect FDC 2705642 when “vanilla” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “vanilla”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordLight ice cream sandwich, vanilla | 75 g179 kcal | 239 kcal | 4.9 g | 8.2 g | 1 g | 209 mg |
| Ice cream sandwich, vanilla | 75 g198 kcal | 264 kcal | 4.3 g | 11.8 g | 1.4 g | 205 mg |
| Light ice cream, vanilla | 135 g235 kcal | 174 kcal | 4.4 g | 6.1 g | 0.2 g | 85 mg |
| Light ice cream bar, vanilla | 85 g201 kcal | 236 kcal | 3.2 g | 16.6 g | 0.1 g | 64 mg |
| Light ice cream sandwich, chocolate | 75 g182 kcal | 243 kcal | 4.9 g | 8.4 g | 1.5 g | 200 mg |
| Ice cream, vanilla | 135 g279 kcal | 207 kcal | 3.5 g | 11 g | 0.7 g | 80 mg |
| Light ice cream cone, vanilla, prepackaged | 95 g212 kcal | 223 kcal | 5.4 g | 7.3 g | 0.7 g | 133 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705668: its source amount is 75 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705668, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
179 kcal
75 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705668, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
2.8 g≈ 14% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
28 g≈ 10% Daily ValueTotal fat
6.1 g≈ 8% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705668’s 75 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 75 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 179 kcal 239 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 3.7 g 4.9 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 28 g 37.3 g | 10% 14% |
| Total fat | 6.1 g 8.2 g | 8% 10% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.8 g 1 g | 3% 4% |
| Sugars | 15.1 g 20.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 156.8 mg 209 mg | 7% 9% |
| Saturated fat | 2.8 g 3.7 g | 14% 18% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1.8 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.1 g 1.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 15.8 mg 21 mg | 5% 7% |
| Potassium | 153 mg 204 mg | 3% 4% |
| Calcium | 89.3 mg 119 mg | 7% 9% |
| Iron | 0.9 mg 1.1 mg | 5% 6% |
| Magnesium | 16.5 mg 22 mg | 4% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 0.6 mg 0.8 mg | 1% 1% |
| Vitamin D | 0.1 µg 0.1 µg | 0% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 60.8 µg 81 µg | 7% 9% |
| Caffeine | 1.5 mg 2 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 36.1 g 48.1 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705668, approximate percentages divide the displayed 75 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705668 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Light ice cream, vanilla, Cookies, chocolate wafers. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Light ice cream, vanillaUSDA ingredient 13130300 · encyclopedia page available | 75 GM | 75 g | 75% |
| 2 | Cookies, chocolate wafersUSDA ingredient 18157 · encyclopedia page available | 25 GM | 25 g | 25% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705668, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 239 kcal | 264 kcal | −25 kcal |
| Protein | 4.9 g | 4.3 g | +0.7 g |
| Carbohydrate | 37.3 g | 35.9 g | +1.4 g |
| Total fat | 8.2 g | 11.8 g | −3.7 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1 g | 1.4 g | −0.4 g |
| Sodium | 209 mg | 205 mg | +4 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 25 less calories and 3.7 g less total fat than “Ice cream sandwich, vanilla.”
Only this record lists Light ice cream, vanilla. Only the comparison record lists Ice creams, vanilla. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Cookies, chocolate wafers.
Listed only in this record: Light ice cream, vanilla.
Listed only in the comparison: Ice creams, vanilla.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (75 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 75 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sandwich (75 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705668 with FDC 2705642 at equal mass; use their 75 g and 75 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705668 versus FDC 2705642 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Deep comparisons
FDC 2705668 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705668 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705668 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 239 kcal per 100 g becomes 179 kcal at 75 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sandwich has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705668
FNDDS food code: 13135000
The scaling for FDC 2705668 can be exact while the match to “Light ice cream sandwich, vanilla” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 75 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.