Energy
middle half221 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 218 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 178–246 kcal
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 398 calories for 1 sundae (180 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 sundae · 180 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 sundae · 180 g
398calories
Ice cream sundae, fruit topping
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 398 calories for 1 sundae at 180 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 221 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 4.9 g protein, 1.3 g fiber, and 117 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is ice creams, vanilla, representing 75% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 3 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 sundae at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 309–398 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705659: “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2705659, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “1 sundae” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 135 g | 298 kcal | 3.7 g | 0.9 g | 88 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 140 g | 309 kcal | 3.8 g | 1 g | 91 mg |
| 1 sundaeUSDA-listed household measure | 180 g | 398 kcal | 4.9 g | 1.3 g | 117 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 51 exact records in the Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2705659’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half221 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting energy.
Protein
lower quarter2.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half0.7 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
lower quarter65 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 51 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2705659’s 180 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin A174.6 µg
≈ 19% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium178 mg
≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat10.1 g
≈ 51% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium117 mg
≈ 5% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705662 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 140 g and 180 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 309 kcal to 398 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 71 mg less sodium than “Ice cream sundae, caramel topping.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
The source formulation has 3 input rows; Ice creams, vanilla supplies 75% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fruit topping” fits. Inspect FDC 2705662 when “caramel topping” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fruit topping”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordIce cream sundae, fruit topping | 180 g398 kcal | 221 kcal | 2.7 g | 9.2 g | 0.7 g | 65 mg |
| Ice cream sundae, caramel topping | 180 g383 kcal | 213 kcal | 3 g | 9.2 g | 0.5 g | 136 mg |
| Ice cream sundae, hot fudge topping | 180 g437 kcal | 243 kcal | 3.7 g | 11.2 g | 1.1 g | 137 mg |
| Ice cream, chocolate | 135 g292 kcal | 216 kcal | 3.8 g | 11 g | 1.2 g | 76 mg |
| Ice cream, vanilla | 135 g279 kcal | 207 kcal | 3.5 g | 11 g | 0.7 g | 80 mg |
| Ice cream, fried | 135 g381 kcal | 282 kcal | 3.9 g | 15.2 g | 1.2 g | 159 mg |
| Ice cream cone, scooped, chocolate | 125 g280 kcal | 224 kcal | 4 g | 10.8 g | 1.3 g | 83 mg |
How to compare FDC 2705659: its source amount is 180 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2705659, the 2 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
398 kcal
180 g
309 kcal
140 g
At a glance
For FDC 2705659, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
10.1 g≈ 51% Daily ValueCholesterol
64.8 mg≈ 22% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
58.9 g≈ 21% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2705659’s 180 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 180 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 398 kcal 221 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 4.9 g 2.7 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 58.9 g 32.7 g | 21% 12% |
| Total fat | 16.6 g 9.2 g | 21% 12% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.3 g 0.7 g | 5% 3% |
| Sugars | 40 g 22.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 117 mg 65 mg | 5% 3% |
| Saturated fat | 10.1 g 5.6 g | 51% 28% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 4.4 g 2.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.7 g 0.4 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 64.8 mg 36 mg | 22% 12% |
| Potassium | 293.4 mg 163 mg | 6% 3% |
| Calcium | 178.2 mg 99 mg | 14% 8% |
| Iron | 0.2 mg 0.1 mg | 1% 1% |
| Magnesium | 21.6 mg 12 mg | 5% 3% |
| Vitamin C | 6.3 mg 3.5 mg | 7% 4% |
| Vitamin D | 0.4 µg 0.2 µg | 2% 1% |
| Vitamin A | 174.6 µg 97 µg | 19% 11% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 98.3 g 54.6 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2705659, approximate percentages divide the displayed 180 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2705659 to 3 source inputs totaling 180 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
The largest listed inputs by source weight are Ice creams, vanilla, Toppings, strawberry, Cream, whipped. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.
180 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ice creams, vanillaUSDA ingredient 19095 · encyclopedia page available | 135 GM | 135 g | 75% |
| 2 | Cream, whippedUSDA ingredient 12140000 · encyclopedia page available | 5 GM | 5 g | 2.8% |
| 3 | Toppings, strawberryUSDA ingredient 19137 · encyclopedia page available | 40 GM | 40 g | 22.2% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2705659, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Ice cream and frozen dairy desserts” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 221 kcal | 213 kcal | +8 kcal |
| Protein | 2.7 g | 3 g | −0.2 g |
| Carbohydrate | 32.7 g | 30.6 g | +2.1 g |
| Total fat | 9.2 g | 9.2 g | +0 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.7 g | 0.5 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 65 mg | 136 mg | −71 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 71 mg less sodium than “Ice cream sundae, caramel topping.”
Only this record lists Toppings, strawberry. Only the comparison record lists Toppings, butterscotch or caramel. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
1 of the six displayed differences clears the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Ice creams, vanilla; Cream, whipped.
Listed only in this record: Toppings, strawberry.
Listed only in the comparison: Toppings, butterscotch or caramel.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sundae (180 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 180 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 sundae (180 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705659 with FDC 2705662 at equal mass; use their 180 g and 180 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2705659 versus FDC 2705662 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full ice cream and frozen dairy desserts source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 1 guide place “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2705659 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2705659 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 221 kcal per 100 g becomes 398 kcal at 180 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 sundae has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2705659
FNDDS food code: 13121100
The scaling for FDC 2705659 can be exact while the match to “Ice cream sundae, fruit topping” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 180 g weight, 3-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.