Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Lo mein, with beef calories: 258 per 1 cup (200 g)

This exact USDA record reports 258 calories for 1 cup (200 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 200 g

Calories
258 kcal
Protein
19.5 g
Carbohydrate
32.4 g
Total fat
5.5 g
Fiber
2 g
Sodium
716 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 200 g

258calories

Lo mein, with beef

Protein
19.5 g
Carbs
32.4 g
Fat
5.5 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708802

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 258 calories for 1 cup at 200 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 129 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 19.5 g protein, 2 g fiber, and 716 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat, representing 80.2% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708802: “Lo mein, with beef.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708802, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 150 g 194 kcal 14.6 g 1.5 g 537 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 200 g 258 kcal 19.5 g 2 g 716 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 250 g 323 kcal 24.3 g 2.5 g 895 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Fried rice and lo/chow mein

The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Fried rice and lo/chow mein USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708802’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

middle half

129 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
125 kcal
Middle 50%
101–139 kcal

Based on 28 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

9.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8.3 g
Middle 50%
2.3–9.8 g

Based on 28 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.9–1.5 g

Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

358 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
357 mg
Middle 50%
327–395 mg

Based on 28 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708802’s 200 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron3 mg

≈ 16% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Dietary fiber2 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium716 mg

≈ 31% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.4 g

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Lo mein, with beef,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2706742 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 200 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 150–250 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 194 kcal and 323 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2706742

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 12.4 g more carbohydrate than “Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat supplies 80.2% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “with beef” fits. Inspect FDC 2706742 when “no noodles” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Lo mein, with beef

Exact source wording
“Lo mein, with beef”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708802 · FNDDS 58136150
Named qualifiers
with beef
Source inputs unique in this pair
Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles

Exact source wording
“Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2706742 · FNDDS 27415150
Named qualifiers
no noodles
Source inputs unique in this pair
Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “with beef”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordLo mein, with beef 200 g258 kcal 129 kcal 9.7 g 2.8 g 1 g 358 mg
Beef chow mein or chop suey with noodles 220 g284 kcal 129 kcal 10.8 g 4.9 g 1.5 g 328 mg
Lo mein, with chicken 200 g260 kcal 130 kcal 9.2 g 3.2 g 1 g 413 mg
Lo mein, with shrimp 200 g242 kcal 121 kcal 8.6 g 2.2 g 1 g 363 mg
Lo mein, with pork 200 g276 kcal 138 kcal 9.5 g 3.8 g 1 g 357 mg
Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles 165 g135 kcal 82 kcal 10.8 g 2.6 g 0.8 g 253 mg
Rice, fried, with beef 198 g352 kcal 178 kcal 7.9 g 4.1 g 0.9 g 313 mg

How to compare FDC 2708802: its source amount is 200 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708802, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

258 kcal

200 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708802, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

716 mg≈ 31% Daily Value

Iron

2.9 mg≈ 16% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708802’s 200 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708802 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 19.5 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708802 at 200 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 716 mg sodium, about 31% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 200 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 258 kcal Not established
Protein 19.5 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 32.4 g 12%
Total fat 5.5 g 7%
Dietary fiber 2 g 7%
Sugars 4.2 g Not established
Sodium 716 mg 31%
Saturated fat 1.4 g 7%
Monounsaturated Fat 1.7 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2.2 g Not established
Cholesterol 30 mg 10%
Potassium 320 mg 7%
Calcium 40 mg 3%
Iron 2.9 mg 16%
Magnesium 28 mg 7%
Vitamin C 2.8 mg 3%
Vitamin D 0.2 µg 1%
Vitamin A 16 µg 2%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 140 g Not established

For FDC 2708802, approximate percentages divide the displayed 200 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708802 to 2 source inputs totaling 1,695.8 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Lo mein, with beef” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat, Beef, round, top round roast, boneless, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, roasted. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

1,695.8 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meatUSDA ingredient 36625 · encyclopedia page available 3 LB 1,360.8 g 80.2%
2 Beef, round, top round roast, boneless, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, roastedUSDA ingredient 23348 · encyclopedia page available 335 GM 335 g 19.8%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708802, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried rice and lo/chow mein” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories129 kcal82 kcal+47 kcal
Protein9.7 g10.8 g−1.1 g
Carbohydrate16.2 g3.9 g+12.4 g
Total fat2.8 g2.6 g+0.2 g
Dietary fiber1 g0.8 g+0.2 g
Sodium358 mg253 mg+105 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 47 more calories, 12.4 g more carbohydrate, and 105 mg more sodium than “Beef chow mein or chop suey, no noodles.”

Only this record lists Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat. Only the comparison record lists Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

3 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Beef, round, top round roast, boneless, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 0" fat, all grades, cooked, roasted.

Listed only in this record: Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable lo mein, without meat.

Listed only in the comparison: Restaurant, Chinese, vegetable chow mein, without meat or noodles.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 200 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (200 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 165 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (220 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708802 with FDC 2706742 at equal mass; use their 200 g and 165 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708802 versus FDC 2706742 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full fried rice and lo/chow mein source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Lo mein, with beef,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708802 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 129 kcal per 100 g becomes 258 kcal at 200 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708802

FNDDS food code: 58136150

The scaling for FDC 2708802 can be exact while the match to “Lo mein, with beef” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 200 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.