Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Rice, fried, with beef calories: 352 per 1 cup (198 g)

This exact USDA record reports 352 calories for 1 cup (198 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 cup · 198 g

Calories
352 kcal
Protein
15.6 g
Carbohydrate
54.6 g
Total fat
8 g
Fiber
1.8 g
Sodium
620 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 198 g

352calories

Rice, fried, with beef

Protein
15.6 g
Carbs
54.6 g
Fat
8 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708955

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 352 calories for 1 cup at 198 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 178 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 15.6 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 620 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, chinese, fried rice, without meat, representing 85% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708955: “Rice, fried, with beef.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708955, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 148.5 g 264 kcal 11.7 g 1.3 g 465 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 198 g 352 kcal 15.6 g 1.8 g 620 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 247.5 g 441 kcal 19.5 g 2.2 g 775 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Fried rice and lo/chow mein

The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Fried rice and lo/chow mein USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708955’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

178 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
125 kcal
Middle 50%
101–139 kcal

Based on 28 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

7.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
8.3 g
Middle 50%
2.3–9.8 g

Based on 28 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

0.9 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.1 g
Middle 50%
0.9–1.5 g

Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

313 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
357 mg
Middle 50%
327–395 mg

Based on 28 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708955’s 198 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Iron2 mg

≈ 8% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Vitamin C6 mg

≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium620 mg

≈ 27% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat1.8 g

≈ 9% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Rice, fried, with beef,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708951 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 198 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 148.5–247.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 264 kcal and 441 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708951

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 4 g more protein than “Rice, fried, meatless.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat supplies 85% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fried; with beef” fits. Inspect FDC 2708951 when “fried; meatless” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Rice, fried, with beef

Exact source wording
“Rice, fried, with beef”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708955 · FNDDS 58150340
Named qualifiers
fried · with beef
Source inputs unique in this pair
Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Rice, fried, meatless

Exact source wording
“Rice, fried, meatless”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708951 · FNDDS 58150110
Named qualifiers
fried · meatless

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fried” and “with beef”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordRice, fried, with beef 198 g352 kcal 178 kcal 7.9 g 4.1 g 0.9 g 313 mg
Rice, fried, with pork 198 g354 kcal 179 kcal 7.6 g 4.2 g 0.9 g 316 mg
Rice, fried, meatless 166 g289 kcal 174 kcal 3.8 g 3.2 g 1.1 g 361 mg
Rice, fried, with chicken 198 g343 kcal 173 kcal 7.3 g 3.7 g 0.9 g 359 mg
Rice, fried, with shrimp 198 g329 kcal 166 kcal 6.7 g 3 g 0.9 g 324 mg
Lo mein, with beef 200 g258 kcal 129 kcal 9.7 g 2.8 g 1 g 358 mg
Beef chow mein or chop suey with noodles 220 g284 kcal 129 kcal 10.8 g 4.9 g 1.5 g 328 mg

How to compare FDC 2708955: its source amount is 198 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708955, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

352 kcal

198 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708955, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

619.7 mg≈ 27% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

54.6 g≈ 20% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708955’s 198 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708955 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.6 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708955 at 198 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion contains 620 mg sodium, about 27% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 198 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 352 kcal Not established
Protein 15.6 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 54.6 g 20%
Total fat 8 g 10%
Dietary fiber 1.8 g 6%
Sugars 1 g Not established
Sodium 619.7 mg 27%
Saturated fat 1.8 g 9%
Monounsaturated Fat 2.1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 2 g Not established
Cholesterol 57.4 mg 19%
Potassium 190.1 mg 4%
Calcium 19.8 mg 2%
Iron 1.5 mg 8%
Magnesium 23.8 mg 6%
Vitamin C 6.3 mg 7%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 37.6 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 117.4 g Not established

For FDC 2708955, approximate percentages divide the displayed 198 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708955 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Rice, fried, with beef” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat, Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meatUSDA ingredient 36602 · encyclopedia page available 85 GM 85 g 85%
2 Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiledUSDA ingredient 13893 · encyclopedia page available 15 GM 15 g 15%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708955, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried rice and lo/chow mein” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories178 kcal174 kcal+4 kcal
Protein7.9 g3.8 g+4 g
Carbohydrate27.6 g32.5 g−4.9 g
Total fat4.1 g3.2 g+0.9 g
Dietary fiber0.9 g1.1 g−0.2 g
Sodium313 mg361 mg−48 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 4 g more protein and 4.9 g less carbohydrate than “Rice, fried, meatless.”

Only this record lists Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat.

Listed only in this record: Beef, round, top round steak, separable lean and fat, trimmed to 1/8" fat, all grades, cooked, broiled.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 198 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (198 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 166 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (166 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708955 with FDC 2708951 at equal mass; use their 198 g and 166 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708955 versus FDC 2708951 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full fried rice and lo/chow mein source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins.

For “Rice, fried, with beef,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount of absorbed frying fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  2. 02

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  4. 04

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708955 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 178 kcal per 100 g becomes 352 kcal at 198 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708955

FNDDS food code: 58150340

The scaling for FDC 2708955 can be exact while the match to “Rice, fried, with beef” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 198 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.