Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 125 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 101–139 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 289 calories for 1 cup (166 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 cup · 166 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 cup · 166 g
289calories
Rice, fried, meatless
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 289 calories for 1 cup at 166 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 174 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 6.4 g protein, 1.8 g fiber, and 599 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is restaurant, chinese, fried rice, without meat, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708951: “Rice, fried, meatless.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708951, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 124.5 g | 217 kcal | 4.8 g | 1.4 g | 449 mg |
| 1 cupUSDA-listed household measure | 166 g | 289 kcal | 6.4 g | 1.8 g | 599 mg |
| 125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 207.5 g | 361 kcal | 8 g | 2.3 g | 749 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Fried rice and lo/chow mein USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2708951’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
upper quarter174 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half3.8 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
middle half1.1 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half361 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708951’s 166 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin C; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Vitamin C6 mg
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Dietary fiber1.8 g
≈ 7% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium599 mg
≈ 26% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat0.8 g
≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Rice, fried, meatless,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708953 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
A 25% weight move in either direction spans 124.5–207.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 217 kcal and 361 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 3.4 g less protein than “Rice, fried, with chicken.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when “fried; meatless” fits. Inspect FDC 2708953 when “fried; with chicken” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fried” and “meatless”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordRice, fried, meatless | 166 g289 kcal | 174 kcal | 3.8 g | 3.2 g | 1.1 g | 361 mg |
| Rice, fried, with chicken | 198 g343 kcal | 173 kcal | 7.3 g | 3.7 g | 0.9 g | 359 mg |
| Rice, fried, with beef | 198 g352 kcal | 178 kcal | 7.9 g | 4.1 g | 0.9 g | 313 mg |
| Rice, fried, with pork | 198 g354 kcal | 179 kcal | 7.6 g | 4.2 g | 0.9 g | 316 mg |
| Rice, fried, with shrimp | 198 g329 kcal | 166 kcal | 6.7 g | 3 g | 0.9 g | 324 mg |
| Rice, white, with soy-based sauce, fat added | 237 g277 kcal | 117 kcal | 2 g | 2.2 g | 0.3 g | 482 mg |
| Rice, brown, with soy-based sauce, fat added | 237 g270 kcal | 114 kcal | 2.1 g | 2.4 g | 1.1 g | 420 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708951: its source amount is 166 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708951, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
289 kcal
166 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708951, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Sodium
599.3 mg≈ 26% Daily ValueCarbohydrate
54 g≈ 20% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708951’s 166 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Why FDC 2708951 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 6.4 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.
Source-serving signals
These 1 calculated observation describe FDC 2708951 at 166 g—not a measured or recommended plate.
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 166 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 289 kcal 174 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 6.4 g 3.8 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 54 g 32.5 g | 20% 12% |
| Total fat | 5.3 g 3.2 g | 7% 4% |
| Dietary fiber | 1.8 g 1.1 g | 7% 4% |
| Sugars | 1 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 599.3 mg 361 mg | 26% 16% |
| Saturated fat | 0.8 g 0.5 g | 4% 2% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 1 g 0.6 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 1.9 g 1.1 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 29.9 mg 18 mg | 10% 6% |
| Potassium | 114.5 mg 69 mg | 2% 1% |
| Calcium | 18.3 mg 11 mg | 1% 1% |
| Iron | 0.8 mg 0.5 mg | 4% 3% |
| Magnesium | 16.6 mg 10 mg | 4% 2% |
| Vitamin C | 6.3 mg 3.8 mg | 7% 4% |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg 0 µg | 0% 0% |
| Vitamin A | 36.5 µg 22 µg | 4% 2% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 98.4 g 59.3 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708951, approximate percentages divide the displayed 166 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708951 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Rice, fried, meatless” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meatUSDA ingredient 36602 · encyclopedia page available | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708951, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Fried rice and lo/chow mein” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 174 kcal | 173 kcal | +1 kcal |
| Protein | 3.8 g | 7.3 g | −3.4 g |
| Carbohydrate | 32.5 g | 27.6 g | +4.9 g |
| Total fat | 3.2 g | 3.7 g | −0.5 g |
| Dietary fiber | 1.1 g | 0.9 g | +0.2 g |
| Sodium | 361 mg | 359 mg | +2 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 3.4 g less protein and 4.9 g more carbohydrate than “Rice, fried, with chicken.”
Only the comparison record lists Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Shared listed inputs: Restaurant, Chinese, fried rice, without meat.
Listed only in the comparison: Chicken, NS as to part, rotisserie, skin not eaten.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 166 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (166 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 198 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (198 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708951 with FDC 2708953 at equal mass; use their 166 g and 198 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708951 versus FDC 2708953 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full fried rice and lo/chow mein source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
From record to familiar meal
These 2 guides place “Rice, fried, meatless” beside explicitly linked source records; use them to compare preparations without turning FDC 2708951 into a universal recipe.
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount of absorbed frying fat, amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins.
For “Rice, fried, meatless,” resolve amount of absorbed frying fat first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708951 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 174 kcal per 100 g becomes 289 kcal at 166 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708951
FNDDS food code: 58150110
The scaling for FDC 2708951 can be exact while the match to “Rice, fried, meatless” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 166 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.