Energy
middle half413 kcalthis record per 100 g
- Corpus median
- 416 kcal
- Middle 50%
- 389–473 kcal
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
This exact USDA record reports 165 calories for 1 bar (40 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.
Quick facts
1 bar · 40 g
Portion calculator
Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.
Estimated for 1 bar · 40 g
165calories
Milk 'n Cereal bar
— means the source has no value available.
These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.
The editorial read
Portion: the cited record reports about 165 calories for 1 bar at 40 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 413 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.
Composition: that source amount also reports 2.6 g protein, 0.2 g fiber, and 128 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.
Identity: the largest listed formulation input is milk and cereal bar, representing 100% of the record’s listed input weight. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.
The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 bar at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.
The household measures attached to this record span roughly 99–165 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.
Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.
Record-specific decision brief
This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708086: “Milk 'n Cereal bar.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.
01 · Portion arithmetic
For FDC 2708086, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 Kellogg's bar” through “1 bar” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.
| Scenario | Weight | Energy | Protein | Fiber | Sodium |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Kellogg's barUSDA-listed household measure | 24 g | 99 kcal | 1.6 g | 0.1 g | 77 mg |
| 75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight | 30 g | 124 kcal | 1.9 g | 0.1 g | 96 mg |
| 1 barUSDA-listed household measure | 40 g | 165 kcal | 2.6 g | 0.2 g | 128 mg |
02 · Fixed-weight context
The comparison set contains 28 exact records in the Cereal bars USDA category. Here, “middle half” describes FDC 2708086’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.
Energy
middle half413 kcalthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting energy.
Protein
middle half6.5 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting protein.
Dietary fiber
lower quarter0.4 gthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting dietary fiber.
Sodium
middle half319 mgthis record per 100 g
Based on 28 records reporting sodium.
03 · FDA label lens
At FDC 2708086’s 40 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Iron; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.
Iron2 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Calcium164 mg
≈ 13% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Saturated fat3.6 g
≈ 18% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
Sodium128 mg
≈ 6% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.
04 · Highest-impact checks
For “Milk 'n Cereal bar,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708103 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.
USDA assigns those measures 24 g and 40 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 99 kcal to 165 kcal.
At an equal 100 g, this record has 303 mg more sodium than “Cereal or granola bar, nonfat.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.
USDA derives this record from one listed source-input row at 100 g. Real preparations can still differ in water, cooking state, brand, and served weight.
05 · Exact-record choice
Keep this record when the exact wording “Milk 'n Cereal bar” fits. Inspect FDC 2708103 when “nonfat” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.
Keep this profile when these fields fit
Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better
Choose the closest description
Begin with the exact USDA description, then compare preparation, additions, and gram weight. A nearby record is useful only when its identity is closer—not simply because its name sounds familiar.
On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.
| Exact record | Source serving | Calories / 100 g | Protein / 100 g | Fat / 100 g | Fiber / 100 g | Sodium / 100 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| This recordMilk 'n Cereal bar | 40 g165 kcal | 413 kcal | 6.5 g | 11 g | 0.4 g | 319 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, with rice cereal | 28 g117 kcal | 417 kcal | 3.4 g | 9 g | 0 g | 351 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Kellogg's Special K bar) | 23 g94 kcal | 409 kcal | 9.1 g | 9.1 g | 1.8 g | 428 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy Granola Bar) | 24 g100 kcal | 418 kcal | 5.7 g | 16.6 g | 3.8 g | 291 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar, nonfat | 43 g147 kcal | 342 kcal | 5.9 g | 0.9 g | 7.4 g | 16 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Granola Bites) | 20 g90 kcal | 451 kcal | 7.2 g | 17.5 g | 5.7 g | 167 mg |
| Cereal or granola bar (Quaker Chewy 90 Calorie Granola Bar) | 24 g98 kcal | 408 kcal | 4.2 g | 8.3 g | 4.2 g | 313 mg |
How to compare FDC 2708086: its source amount is 40 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.
Household measures
For FDC 2708086, the 3 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.
165 kcal
40 g
99 kcal
24 g
165 kcal
40 g
At a glance
For FDC 2708086, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.
Saturated fat
3.6 g≈ 18% Daily ValueIron
2.4 mg≈ 13% Daily ValueCalcium
164 mg≈ 13% Daily ValueThe percentages above apply to FDC 2708086’s 40 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗
Nutrition facts
Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 40 g.
| Nutrient | Amount | Approx. % Daily Value |
|---|---|---|
| Calories | 165 kcal 413 kcal | Not established Not established |
| Protein | 2.6 g 6.5 g | Not shown Not shown |
| Carbohydrate | 28.8 g 72 g | 10% 26% |
| Total fat | 4.4 g 11 g | 6% 14% |
| Dietary fiber | 0.2 g 0.4 g | 1% 1% |
| Sugars | 18.4 g 46 g | Not established Not established |
| Sodium | 127.6 mg 319 mg | 6% 14% |
| Saturated fat | 3.6 g 9.1 g | 18% 46% |
| Monounsaturated Fat | 0.5 g 1.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Polyunsaturated Fat | 0.1 g 0.2 g | Not established Not established |
| Cholesterol | 2.4 mg 6 mg | 1% 2% |
| Potassium | 101.6 mg 254 mg | 2% 5% |
| Calcium | 164 mg 410 mg | 13% 32% |
| Iron | 2.4 mg 6 mg | 13% 33% |
| Magnesium | 8.4 mg 21 mg | 2% 5% |
| Vitamin C | 6.2 mg 15.4 mg | 7% 17% |
| Vitamin D | 0.7 µg 1.7 µg | 3% 9% |
| Vitamin A | 75.2 µg 188 µg | 8% 21% |
| Caffeine | 0 mg 0 mg | Not established Not established |
| Alcohol | 0 g 0 g | Not established Not established |
| Water | 3.5 g 8.7 g | Not established Not established |
For FDC 2708086, approximate percentages divide the displayed 40 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.
Inside the source record
USDA links FDC 2708086 to one source input totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Milk 'n Cereal bar” inspectable beside similarly named records.
How to read this
Milk and cereal bar is the only listed source input for this record. That does not mean every real-world version is identical; brands, preparation, water content, and portion weight can still differ.
100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.
| # | USDA input | Listed amount | Input weight | Share of listed input weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Milk and cereal barUSDA ingredient 8510 | 100 GM | 100 g | 100% |
Exact-record context
For FDC 2708086, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Cereal bars” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.
This record
Closest inspectable record
| Nutrient | This record | Comparison record | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calories | 413 kcal | 342 kcal | +71 kcal |
| Protein | 6.5 g | 5.9 g | +0.6 g |
| Carbohydrate | 72 g | 77.6 g | −5.6 g |
| Total fat | 11 g | 0.9 g | +10.1 g |
| Dietary fiber | 0.4 g | 7.4 g | −7 g |
| Sodium | 319 mg | 16 mg | +303 mg |
Plain-English read
At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 71 more calories, 10.1 g more total fat, and 7 g less dietary fiber than “Cereal or granola bar, nonfat.”
Only this record lists Milk and cereal bar. Only the comparison record lists Snacks, granola bar, fruit-filled, nonfat. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.
4 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.
Formulation evidence
The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.
Listed only in this record: Milk and cereal bar.
Listed only in the comparison: Snacks, granola bar, fruit-filled, nonfat.
Portion evidence
This record’s reference amount is 40 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (40 g).
The comparison record’s reference amount is 43 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bar (43 g).
Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708086 with FDC 2708103 at equal mass; use their 40 g and 43 g source amounts only for portion matching.
Evidence boundary: FDC 2708086 versus FDC 2708103 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.
Review the full cereal bars source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →
Uncertainty, made actionable
This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with piece or portion size, recipe or brand, fillings or frosting, added fats and sugars.
For “Milk 'n Cereal bar,” resolve piece or portion size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.
When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.
Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.
Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.
Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.
How we estimated this
FDC 2708086 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 413 kcal per 100 g becomes 165 kcal at 40 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.
About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 bar has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.
Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024
FoodData Central ID: 2708086
FNDDS food code: 53710600
The scaling for FDC 2708086 can be exact while the match to “Milk 'n Cereal bar” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 40 g weight, 1-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.
Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.