Dairymoderate variability

Milk shake, fast food, chocolate calories: 608 per 1 small (405 g)

This exact USDA record reports 608 calories for 1 small (405 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Quick facts

1 small · 405 g

Calories
608 kcal
Protein
15 g
Carbohydrate
82.6 g
Total fat
27 g
Fiber
6.5 g
Sodium
324 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 small · 405 g

608calories

Milk shake, fast food, chocolate

Protein
15 g
Carbs
82.6 g
Fat
27 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2705508

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 608 calories for 1 small at 405 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 150 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 15 g protein, 6.5 g fiber, and 324 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is shake, fast food, vanilla, representing 98% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 small at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

The household measures attached to this record span roughly 42–1,035 calories across the listed portions. That is a set of scaled examples—not a confidence interval, a recommendation, or a claim about the full universe of recipes.

Calculated from the smallest and largest usable household measures listed by USDA for this exact FNDDS record; not a confidence interval.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2705508: “Milk shake, fast food, chocolate.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2705508, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “1 fl oz” through “1 large” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
1 fl ozUSDA-listed household measure 28 g 42 kcal 1 g 0.4 g 22 mg
1 smallUSDA-listed household measure 405 g 608 kcal 15 g 6.5 g 324 mg
1 largeUSDA-listed household measure 690 g 1,035 kcal 25.5 g 11 g 552 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Milk shakes and other dairy drinks

The comparison set contains 11 exact records in the Milk shakes and other dairy drinks USDA category. Here, “upper quarter” describes FDC 2705508’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

upper quarter

150 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
113 kcal
Middle 50%
90–148 kcal

Based on 11 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

3.7 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
3.4 g
Middle 50%
2.2–3.7 g

Based on 11 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

upper quarter

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
0.5 g
Middle 50%
0.3–0.9 g

Based on 11 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

middle half

80 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
53 mg
Middle 50%
51–81 mg

Based on 11 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2705508’s 405 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Vitamin A; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Saturated fat. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Vitamin A360.5 µg

≈ 40% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Calcium466 mg

≈ 36% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Saturated fat16.4 g

≈ 82% DV. This crosses the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Sodium324 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Milk shake, fast food, chocolate,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2705510 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Listed portion span: 1 fl oz to 1 large

    USDA assigns those measures 28 g and 690 g. At this record’s fixed composition, scaled energy moves from 42 kcal to 1,035 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2705510

    At an equal 100 g, this record has calories than “Milk shake, bottled, chocolate.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Shake, fast food, vanilla

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Shake, fast food, vanilla supplies 98% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “fast food; chocolate” fits. Inspect FDC 2705510 when “bottled; chocolate” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Milk shake, fast food, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Milk shake, fast food, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705508 · FNDDS 11542100
Named qualifiers
fast food · chocolate

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Milk shake, bottled, chocolate

Exact source wording
“Milk shake, bottled, chocolate”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2705510 · FNDDS 11543000
Named qualifiers
bottled · chocolate

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “fast food” and “chocolate”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordMilk shake, fast food, chocolate 405 g608 kcal 150 kcal 3.7 g 6.7 g 1.6 g 80 mg
Milk shake, fast food, flavors other than chocolate 405 g599 kcal 148 kcal 3.4 g 6.5 g 0.9 g 81 mg
Milk shake, bottled, chocolate 372 g558 kcal 150 kcal 3.7 g 6.7 g 1.6 g 80 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, chocolate 280 g336 kcal 120 kcal 3.5 g 6.1 g 0.5 g 52 mg
Milk shake, bottled, flavors other than chocolate 372 g551 kcal 148 kcal 3.4 g 6.5 g 0.9 g 81 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, chocolate, light 280 g272 kcal 97 kcal 4 g 3.3 g 0.3 g 51 mg
Milk shake, home recipe, flavors other than chocolate 280 g316 kcal 113 kcal 3.4 g 6 g 0.2 g 53 mg

How to compare FDC 2705508: its source amount is 405 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2705508, the 5 displayed measures scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 small

608 kcal

405 g

1 medium

789 kcal

526 g

1 large

1,035 kcal

690 g

1 fl oz

42 kcal

28 g

1 cup

336 kcal

224 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2705508, Saturated fat is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Saturated fat

16.4 g≈ 82% Daily Value

Vitamin A

360.5 µg≈ 40% Daily Value

Calcium

465.8 mg≈ 36% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2705508’s 405 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2705508 at 405 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 6.5 g dietary fiber, about 23% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 324 mg sodium, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 405 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 608 kcal Not established
Protein 15 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 82.6 g 30%
Total fat 27 g 35%
Dietary fiber 6.5 g 23%
Sugars 54.3 g Not established
Sodium 324 mg 14%
Saturated fat 16.4 g 82%
Monounsaturated Fat 7.5 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 93.2 mg 31%
Potassium 781.7 mg 17%
Calcium 465.8 mg 36%
Iron 3 mg 16%
Magnesium 93.2 mg 22%
Vitamin C 0 mg 0%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 360.5 µg 40%
Caffeine 20.3 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 276.6 g Not established

For FDC 2705508, approximate percentages divide the displayed 405 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2705508 to 2 source inputs totaling 100 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Milk shake, fast food, chocolate” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Shake, fast food, vanilla, Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

100 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Shake, fast food, vanillaUSDA ingredient 14347 · encyclopedia page available 98 GM 98 g 98%
2 Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetenedUSDA ingredient 19165 · encyclopedia page available 2 GM 2 g 2%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2705508, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Milk shakes and other dairy drinks” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories150 kcal150 kcalSame listed value
Protein3.7 g3.7 gSame listed value
Carbohydrate20.4 g20.4 gSame listed value
Total fat6.7 g6.7 gSame listed value
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.6 gSame listed value
Sodium80 mg80 mgSame listed value

Plain-English read

The six displayed nutrient values are close under a conservative materiality screen. Small differences remain exact source values, not evidence that one food is preferable.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations match

The USDA input rows shown on these profiles are identical. The nutrient or portion distinction therefore should not be attributed to a different named input.

Shared listed inputs: Shake, fast food, vanilla; Cocoa, dry powder, unsweetened.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets differ

This record’s reference amount is 405 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 small (405 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 372 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 bottle (372 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2705508 with FDC 2705510 at equal mass; use their 405 g and 372 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2705508 versus FDC 2705510 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full milk shakes and other dairy drinks source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2705508 appears in 2 pair pages that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with restaurant formulation and serving size, portion size, fat level, brand or formulation.

For “Milk shake, fast food, chocolate,” resolve restaurant formulation and serving size first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    restaurant formulation and serving size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    portion size

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  3. 03

    fat level

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

  4. 04

    brand or formulation

    Prefer a package, menu, or known recipe when it identifies the food more precisely. Otherwise preserve the generic record as an explicit approximation.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2705508 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 150 kcal per 100 g becomes 608 kcal at 405 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 small has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2705508

FNDDS food code: 11542100

The scaling for FDC 2705508 can be exact while the match to “Milk shake, fast food, chocolate” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 405 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.