Pasta, rice & grainsmoderate variability

Pasta with tomato sauce, poultry & vegetables, homemade calories: 290 per 1 cup (250 g)

This exact USDA record reports 290 calories for 1 cup (250 g). That answer belongs to this description and weight; it is not a universal value for every meal that shares the name.

Exact USDA description: Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe

Quick facts

1 cup · 250 g

Calories
290 kcal
Protein
15.2 g
Carbohydrate
47.3 g
Total fat
4.1 g
Fiber
4 g
Sodium
400 mg

Portion calculator

Estimate your portion

Choose a source measure or enter the weight you ate.

Preparation and portion

Named measures come from this exact source record.

Estimated for 1 cup · 250 g

290calories

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe

Protein
15.2 g
Carbs
47.3 g
Fat
4.1 g

These values scale the selected reference food by weight. Ingredients, preparation, and portion size can change your meal’s estimate.

FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS) · FDC 2708847

Nutrition facts, household measures, preparation notes and USDA sources

The editorial read

The useful answer has a weight, a composition, and an identity

Portion: the cited record reports about 290 calories for 1 cup at 250 grams. On a fixed-weight basis, the same record contains 116 calories per 100 grams. The first number answers a portion question; the second answers a concentration question.

Composition: that source amount also reports 15.2 g protein, 4 g fiber, and 400 mg sodium. Read those values together: a calorie total by itself cannot describe the nutrient profile.

Identity: the largest listed formulation input is pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, representing 51.9% of the record’s listed input weight. The record contains 2 source-input rows in all. These are provenance for a standardized calculation, not a recipe for your plate.

The source calls its underlying survey portion “Quantity not specified,” but it separately lists 1 cup at the identical weight. We use the familiar household label here without changing the source calculation.

Record-specific decision brief

What the numbers say—and what choice still belongs to you

This analysis belongs to USDA FDC 2708847: “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe.” It separates gram-weight arithmetic, corpus context, label signals, and record selection so one number does not have to answer four different questions.

01 · Portion arithmetic

Three weights, one fixed composition

For FDC 2708847, each row multiplies the published per-100-gram values by its stated weight. “75% of the reference weight” through “125% of the reference weight” are weight scenarios: named measures come from USDA, while percentage labels are transparent arithmetic.

Three gram-weight scenarios calculated from this exact USDA nutrient record
ScenarioWeightEnergyProteinFiberSodium
75% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 187.5 g 218 kcal 11.4 g 3 g 300 mg
1 cupUSDA-listed household measure 250 g 290 kcal 15.2 g 4 g 400 mg
125% of the reference weightArithmetic scenario from the reference weight 312.5 g 363 kcal 19 g 5 g 500 mg

02 · Fixed-weight context

Where 100 grams sits inside Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese

The comparison set contains 169 exact records in the Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese USDA category. Here, “lower quarter” describes FDC 2708847’s energy position in that corpus—not nutritional quality, desirability, or a health rating.

Energy

lower quarter

116 kcalthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
154 kcal
Middle 50%
125–177 kcal

Based on 169 records reporting energy.

Protein

middle half

6.1 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
5.8 g
Middle 50%
4.4–6.3 g

Based on 169 records reporting protein.

Dietary fiber

middle half

1.6 gthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
1.5 g
Middle 50%
1–2 g

Based on 169 records reporting dietary fiber.

Sodium

lower quarter

160 mgthis record per 100 g

Corpus median
336 mg
Middle 50%
233–398 mg

Based on 169 records reporting sodium.

03 · FDA label lens

The strongest strength-side and tradeoff-side signals

At FDC 2708847’s 250 g reference weight, the largest strength-side percentage among the nutrients evaluated here is Dietary fiber; the larger tradeoff-side percentage is Sodium. Percentages use FDA label Daily Values, whose general “high” guide begins at 20% Daily Value. This is not an overall score or a personalized target.

Strength-side signals

Dietary fiber4 g

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Iron3 mg

≈ 14% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Tradeoff-side signals

Sodium400 mg

≈ 17% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

Saturated fat0.8 g

≈ 4% DV. This does not cross the FDA’s 20% ‘high’ guide.

04 · Highest-impact checks

The three levers most worth resolving first

For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe,” the first-pass checks follow the evidence actually published: its named weights, the FDC 2708834 alternative, and its source-formulation identity.

  1. 01

    Portion sensitivity around 250 g

    A 25% weight move in either direction spans 187.5–312.5 g. When composition is held constant, those endpoints calculate to 218 kcal and 363 kcal.

  2. 02

    Record choice: compare with FDC 2708834

    At an equal 100 g, this record has 2.3 g more protein than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe.” That is a record-level contrast; it does not identify which ingredient caused the difference.

  3. 03

    Formulation anchor: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt

    The source formulation has 2 input rows; Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt supplies 51.9% of listed input weight. Those are standardized formulation inputs, not final plated percentages.

05 · Exact-record choice

Select by literal evidence, not the shortest name

Keep this record when “poultry; and added vegetables; home recipe” fits. Inspect FDC 2708834 when “and added vegetables; home recipe” is the more literal description of the food and preparation.

Keep this profile when these fields fit

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe

Exact source wording
“Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708847 · FNDDS 58146352
Named qualifiers
poultry · and added vegetables · home recipe
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables

Inspect this alternative when its fields fit better

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe

Exact source wording
“Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe”
Source identity
USDA FDC 2708834 · FNDDS 58146302
Named qualifiers
and added vegetables · home recipe
Source inputs unique in this pair
Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables

06 · Continue with purpose

The next pages answer different follow-up questions

Choose the closest description

Which USDA record fits your meal?

Treat the long description as data. The phrases doing the most work here are “poultry”, “and added vegetables”, and “home recipe”. Match those details first; then compare the database weight with the amount you mean.

On smaller screens, focus a nutrition table and scroll horizontally to read every column.

Nearby USDA records compared with this exact food description
Exact recordSource servingCalories / 100 gProtein / 100 gFat / 100 gFiber / 100 gSodium / 100 g
This recordPasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g290 kcal 116 kcal 6.1 g 1.6 g 1.6 g 160 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g260 kcal 104 kcal 3.7 g 1.1 g 1.8 g 155 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g278 kcal 111 kcal 6.2 g 2 g 2.7 g 161 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, seafood, and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g278 kcal 111 kcal 5.6 g 1.1 g 1.6 g 171 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce, meat, and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g308 kcal 123 kcal 5.9 g 2.5 g 1.6 g 161 mg
Pasta with tomato-based sauce and poultry, home recipe 250 g295 kcal 118 kcal 6 g 1.7 g 1.6 g 198 mg
Pasta, whole grain, with tomato-based sauce and added vegetables, home recipe 250 g248 kcal 99 kcal 3.8 g 1.5 g 2.9 g 157 mg

How to compare FDC 2708847: its source amount is 250 g; every 100-gram column removes portion size from the record-to-record comparison. Neither denominator determines your plate’s weight or recipe.

Household measures

Compare listed portions

For FDC 2708847, the 1 displayed measure scale the same source composition by gram weight; rounding changes presentation, not the underlying ratio.

1 cup

290 kcal

250 g

At a glance

Nutrient signals in the source amount

For FDC 2708847, Sodium is the largest displayed non-protein Daily Value signal. Read the set as label context—not a personalized score.

Sodium

400 mg≈ 17% Daily Value

Carbohydrate

47.3 g≈ 17% Daily Value

The percentages above apply to FDC 2708847’s 250 g reference amount. FDA Daily Values are general label references, not individualized energy or medical targets. Read the FDA explanation ↗

Why FDC 2708847 has no protein percentage here: Feast reports 15.2 g, but does not present grams divided by 50 as FDA protein %DV; applicable label rules account for protein quality and regulatory context.

Source-serving signals

What stands out in this record

These 2 calculated observations describe FDC 2708847 at 250 g—not a measured or recommended plate.

  • The representative USDA portion supplies 4 g dietary fiber, about 14% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.
  • The representative USDA portion contains 400 mg sodium, about 17% of the Daily Value used on U.S. labels.

Nutrition facts

Compare the source serving with 100 grams

Values are rounded for readability. The source serving is 250 g.

Nutrient amounts for the selected source serving or 100 grams
NutrientAmountApprox. % Daily Value
Calories 290 kcal Not established
Protein 15.2 g Not shown
Carbohydrate 47.3 g 17%
Total fat 4.1 g 5%
Dietary fiber 4 g 14%
Sugars 5.6 g Not established
Sodium 400 mg 17%
Saturated fat 0.8 g 4%
Monounsaturated Fat 1 g Not established
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.3 g Not established
Cholesterol 22.5 mg 8%
Potassium 432.5 mg 9%
Calcium 37.5 mg 3%
Iron 2.6 mg 14%
Magnesium 47.5 mg 11%
Vitamin C 11.8 mg 13%
Vitamin D 0 µg 0%
Vitamin A 37.5 µg 4%
Caffeine 0 mg Not established
Alcohol 0 g Not established
Water 181.5 g Not established

For FDC 2708847, approximate percentages divide the displayed 250 g amount by FDA label Daily Values; they are not personalized targets. “Not established” means FDA sets no Daily Value for that row. Protein %DV remains unshown because adult-label use depends on regulatory context.

Inside the source record

Source formulation behind this USDA record

USDA links FDC 2708847 to 2 source inputs totaling 270 g in its standardized formulation. Publishing that exact provenance makes “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe” inspectable beside similarly named records.

How to read this

2 listed components

The largest listed inputs by source weight are Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt, Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables. The order and weights below come from the standardized USDA formulation, so they offer context for this exact database entry.

270 g total listed input weight across the formulation.

USDA source inputs listed for this exact survey-food record
#USDA inputListed amountInput weightShare of listed input weight
1 Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added saltUSDA ingredient 20121 · encyclopedia page available 140 GM 140 g 51.9%
2 Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetablesUSDA ingredient 27141035 · encyclopedia page available 130 GM 130 g 48.1%

Use this formulation to choose a closer record—not to reverse-engineer a recipe. If your meal adds, removes, or substantially changes one of these components, another source entry or a photo-based estimate may fit better.

Exact-record context

What makes this USDA record distinct?

For FDC 2708847, the close-record rule searches the USDA “Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese” category for shared description terms or source inputs. Any surviving pair is compared per 100 grams, so unlike source-serving sizes cannot manufacture the nutrient difference.

This record

Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe

USDA category
Pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese
FDC ID
2708847
FNDDS code
58146352
Exact nutrient values per 100 grams
NutrientThis recordComparison recordDifference
Calories116 kcal104 kcal+12 kcal
Protein6.1 g3.7 g+2.3 g
Carbohydrate18.9 g19.6 g−0.7 g
Total fat1.6 g1.1 g+0.6 g
Dietary fiber1.6 g1.8 g−0.2 g
Sodium160 mg155 mg+5 mg

Plain-English read

At the fixed 100-gram basis, this record lists 12 more calories and 2.3 g more protein than “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, and added vegetables, home recipe.”

Only this record lists Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables. Only the comparison record lists Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables. Those formulation rows identify different source records; they do not prove which input caused a nutrient difference.

2 of the six displayed differences clear the documented materiality screen. It is a reading aid, not a health rating.

Formulation evidence

The listed formulations differ

The formulation rows differ, but the source data do not isolate which component caused any nutrient difference. Input weights describe the standardized formulation—not final plated proportions.

Shared listed inputs: Pasta, cooked, enriched, without added salt.

Listed only in this record: Spaghetti sauce with poultry and added vegetables.

Listed only in the comparison: Spaghetti sauce with added vegetables.

Portion evidence

The listed portion sets match

This record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

The comparison record’s reference amount is 250 g; a familiar listed measure is 1 cup (250 g).

Use the 100-gram row to compare FDC 2708847 with FDC 2708834 at equal mass; use their 250 g and 250 g source amounts only for portion matching.

Evidence boundary: FDC 2708847 versus FDC 2708834 is a comparison of standardized source records—not a measurement of your meal, an overall food-quality rank, or proof that one input caused a difference.

Review the full pasta mixed dishes, excludes macaroni and cheese source category → Read the calculation and selection methodology →

Deep comparisons

Controlled comparisons that include this exact record

FDC 2708847 appears in 1 pair page that passed semantic, material-difference, source-evidence, and diversity gates. Each preserves a 100-gram denominator and both primary records.

Uncertainty, made actionable

What can change this estimate?

This is a standardized USDA survey-food profile, not a measurement of every preparation. Actual nutrition can change with amount served, cooked-to-dry ratio, sauce or mix-ins, added fat.

For “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe,” resolve amount served first, then move through the remaining 3 published levers. Unknowns should remain visible rather than expanding every assumption at once.

  1. 01

    amount served

    When composition is held constant, nutrient totals scale directly with grams. A 20% weight correction produces the same 20% correction to the scaled totals.

  2. 02

    cooked-to-dry ratio

    Match the food state before matching the number. Cooking, draining, or added liquid can change grams and concentration even when the food name barely changes.

  3. 03

    sauce or mix-ins

    Check whether the exact source description already includes it. If not, keep the addition separate rather than silently folding it into the base record.

  4. 04

    added fat

    Match the named cooking-fat state when possible. Fat used, retained, or left behind is preparation information that a dish name alone cannot recover.

How we estimated this

The arithmetic is simple; the provenance is the point

FDC 2708847 comes from FoodData Central Survey Foods (FNDDS). Its 116 kcal per 100 g becomes 290 kcal at 250 g through nutrient per portion = nutrient per 100 g × portion grams ÷ 100; this page adds no second nutrition estimate.

About the serving label: USDA describes the underlying survey portion as “Quantity not specified.” The separately listed 1 cup has the same gram weight, so the familiar label can be shown without changing the calculation.

Data cycle: 2021–2023, published October 31, 2024

FoodData Central ID: 2708847

FNDDS food code: 58146352

The scaling for FDC 2708847 can be exact while the match to “Pasta with tomato-based sauce, poultry, and added vegetables, home recipe” is wrong. That is why this profile keeps its 250 g weight, 2-row source formulation, and selection uncertainty beside the arithmetic.

Open the source record ↗

Source release October 31, 2024. Review USDA’s data-type documentation ↗ · Read Feast’s full nutrition methodology.